top of page
wr salini lmp2 ascott collection 2_edited.jpg

2010 WR LMP2008 LMP2

 

  • Gérard Welter's latest creation

  • An atypical LMP2 with the lines of a streamlined single-seater 

  • A participation in the 24 Hours of Le Mans (2010)

  • Eligible for Gulf Historic, Masters Endurance Legends in Europe and in the USA

ELIGIBILITY

TECHNICAL CHARACTERISTICS

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS EUROPE

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

GULF HISTORIC

Mark

WR

Model

LMP 2008

Year

2010

Chassis No.

LMP 2008-01

Frame

CARBON

Body

CARBON

Brakes

CARBON

Engine

ZYTEK ZG348 V8 3397cc

Powerful

540 HP. @ 9,500 RPM L

Gearbox

RICARDO SEQUENTIAL 6 SPEED

Weight

825 KG

Gérard Welter has contributed to the legend of the 24 Hours of Le Mans by entering his creations. A passionate craftsman who has written some superb pages of the great endurance race. Since 1976 (first under the name WM until 1989 and then WR from 1990), Gérard Welter has entered 19 cars in 13 editions of the Le Mans 24 Hours. The 2008 WR LMP is the last of this lineage initiated with the WM P76. This last prototype is the image of all Gérard Welter's creations: a car thought for Le Mans above all, with innovative solutions on the aerodynamic level.

 

Gérard Welter and the Le Mans 24 Hours adventure

Designer and then Director of the Peugeot Style Centre, Gérard Welter has dedicated his professional career to the Peugeot brand. In 1960, he joined the French manufacturer and took his first steps by designing the rear lights of the 404 and contributing to the 204 cabriolet and coupé. In 1975, he became head of styling and worked on numerous models, including the Peugeot 205, which he described as his finest creation. A model that contributed to the relaunch of the brand and remains emblematic to this day.

In parallel with his missions at Peugeot, Gérard Welter was keen on competition and launched his own team, WM (for Welter and Meunier, named after Michel Meunier, his partner). As early as 1969, the group of enthusiasts they gathered around them began working on prototypes, but it was not until 1976 that entries began for the 24 Hours of Le Mans. WM became a legend at Le Mans with the Peugeot-powered WM P88 prototype, which reached 405 km/h during the 1988 Le Mans 24 Hours. The record for the highest speed recorded at the event still stands. In 1995, the WRs (the name of the structure that replaced WM from the end of 1989) missed the mark. William David took pole position in the WR LM94 in 3'46''05. In his sister car, Patrick Gonin set the best lap in the race (3'51''41) in a rainy edition won by McLaren. 

After another attempt and the setback of 1996 (with the death of Sébastien Enjolras, a French motorsport hopeful, at the wheel of a WR), it is only from 2000 onwards that WRs return to the Sarthe. In LMP675 and then LMP2, the good performances are notable with several second places in class (in 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2004). 

In 2007, a new impulse is given. WR got closer to Stéphane and Philippe Salini. The two gentlemen drivers brothers, who dream of racing in Le Mans, finance the development of a new car: the WR LMP 2008.

 

The genesis of the most successful WR: Revolutionary aerodynamics inspired by the AUDI R15

In December 2007, Welter Racing announced the arrival of its new sport prototype for the LMP2 category, intended for the championships governed by the Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO). In partnership with the Salini Group, Gérard Welter's team developed an LMP2, equipped with a 3.4-litre Zytek V8 engine and a Ricardo gearbox. Only one chassis was built - #2008-001 - which regularly competed in the Le Mans Series and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. 

A Formula 1 with a fairing, that's how the prototype born in the Thorigny workshops could already be described at the time. The prototype was officially launched on 25 June 2007 and its extremely well thought-out shape seems to be the result of aerodynamic calculations and not of marketing constraints. In early 2009, when AUDI unveiled the revolutionary R15, it was clear that the WR Salini designers were on the right track, as the front end of the Audi R15 was remarkably similar to that of the WR.

However, the aesthetics were not neglected, as evidenced by the diamond-shaped headlights. Gérard Welter summed up the philosophy behind the LMP2 design: "It is a simple, modern car with an ecological future, capable of accepting different power units. From the outset, Welter and his men thought of fitting a diesel engine (authorised since 2006 at Le Mans) to the car. But in the end, it was not to be. The 540 horsepower Zytek V8 was the only one of its kind, with only a handful of teams using a comparable block in the Le Mans Series. This was the case for Barazi Epsilon and Trading Performance on Zytek 07S/2s or Embassy Racing on Zytek WF01s. WR broke with the tradition that had been the norm until then: that of running Peugeot engines.

In contrast to the previous WR models, the line is not derived from a monobloc body but is much thinner, following the various mechanical elements. A single-seater with wings to cover the wheels, that's the feeling you get when you look at this WR from the front. 

Technically speaking, the 2008 WR LMP2 had a relatively comparable size to the competitors of the time (Porsche RS Spyder, Lola B08/80, Zytek 07 or MG Lola EX265). 4.63 m long, 2.89 m wheelbase for 825 kg. 

 

A career in the Le Mans Series and a climax at the 24 Hours of Le Mans

The WR Salini made its racing debut at the 2008 Barcelona 1000 km. And, for this first competition, the LMP2 saw the finish! A real satisfaction for the small structure which prepared the car until the last minute and which left with the 34th place. Unfortunately, it will remain the best result of the first Le Mans Series season. At Monza, the gearbox breaks down during free practice. The #37 WR was unable to qualify and started from the back of the grid. In the race, it was the injection that stopped its progress. After missing the Spa-Francorchamps round, the little WR returned to the Nürburgring and this time had to deal with exhaust problems. At Silverstone, the season ended with electrical problems. 

After a wind tunnel test in October 2008 and initial development work during the summer of 2008, WR and the Salini brothers validated the modifications required by the new ACO regulations. Two days of driving at Lurcy-Lévis and two days of testing organised by Dunlop at Estoril in December enabled the WR to fine-tune its behaviour for the 2009 season.

Five races will punctuate this 2009 vintage with a notable progression curve. 30th in the 1000 km of Catalonia in April, the WR was 32nd in the 1000 km of Spa-Francorchamps at the beginning of May. It is still far from the references of the then ultra-dominant Porsches, but during the 1000 km of the Algarve in August, the French prototype moved up to 24th place. For the occasion, Bruce Jouanny is associated with the Salini brothers, instead of Tristan Gommendy. Finally, despite a retirement at the Nürburgring, the LMP2 finished 20th at Silverstone (9th in the LMP2 category)! The potential is there, with a best race lap of 1'40''402, the 4th fastest time in LMP2. 

 

Le Mans 2010, the last race for the Salini WR LMP2

In 2010, the programme was reduced to the 8 Hours of Le Castellet and then the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The WR was finally selected after two refusals! Before these two events, the work carried out by the small team was important. "We reviewed the airflow in depth and worked in parallel on the suspensions," explained Pascal Coquin, head of communications for the WR team[1]. He also confided that at the beginning of 2010, WR was already considering a move to LMP1! "We have passed the FIA tests so that the crash box can be homologated in LMP1. Crash test, lateral thrust, thrust on roll bar... Everything had to be redone. It's a big investment, but essential for us to continue our progression. Last season we demonstrated all the qualities of our chassis against a renowned competitor. We are now able to market our car at a very attractive price. Being homologated in LMP1 offers a wider range of potential customers". Unfortunately, this move to the premier class will never happen. The non-selection for the 2011 Le Mans 24 Hours meant the end of the WR programme and the end of the 2008 WR LMP2 entry.

But let's go back to 2010, the final race for the 2008 WR LMP2. Prior to Le Mans 2010, Tristan Gommendy, a professional driver who drove alongside the Salini brothers, praised the progress made: "We worked a lot on the stiffness. The car is now 20% stiffer at the front and 15% stiffer at the rear. Before, I found the car slippery and I didn't like it very much, but now it's fine. It was far too soft and the handling was not what it should be. We worked on the springs, the anti-roll bar, the dampers... We now even have a third shock absorber at the rear"[2].

The race was not a smooth one, but Tristan Gommendy and the Salini brothers finished in 23rd place, 8th in LMP2. 

After three seasons with British engine manufacturer Zytek, Gérard Welter and the Salini brothers switched to the Nissan VK45DE V8 for the 2011 season. This engine, prepared by NISMO and assembled in the Zytek workshops in Repton, was never seen in competition. Despite this important mechanical evolution and the installation of a new rear wing, the programme was stopped. Wind tunnel testing did take place before the season, but Le Mans 2010 remains the last race for this unique WR!

The car has been kept untouched since 2010.

 

Photo Credit: Luc Joly

[1] https://www.autonewsinfo.com/2010/03/31/lms-wr-entame-sa-troisieme-saison-avec-de-solides-ambitions-2365.html

[2] https://web.archive.org/web/20100616190930/http://www.endurance-info.com/version2/actualite-endurance-4359.html

CALL US: +33 9 67 33 48 43

WRITE U.S

Thank you for your message

bottom of page

top of page
wr salini lmp2 ascott collection 2_edited.jpg

2010 WR LMP2008 LMP2

  • La dernière création de Gérard Welter

  • Une LMP2 atypique aux lignes de monoplace carénée

  • Une participation aux 24 Heures du Mans en 2010

  • Une LMP2 Eligible à nombreuses courses historiques dont Gulf Historic, Masters Endurance Legends en Europe et aux Etats-Unis

ELIGIBILITE

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS EUROPE

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

GULF HISTORIC

Marque

WR

Modèle

LMP 2008

Année

2010

No de châssis

LMP 2008-01

Châssis

CARBONE

Carrosserie

CARBONE

Freins

CARBONE

Moteur

ZYTEK ZG348 V8 3397 cc

Puissance

540 CH. @ 9 500 T/MIN L

Boite de vitesse

RICARDO SEQUENTIELLE 6 VITESSES

Poids

825 KG

Gérard Welter a contribué à la légende des 24 Heures du Mans en y engageant ses créations. Un artisan passionné qui a écrit de superbes pages de la grande course d’endurance. Depuis 1976 (d’abord sous le nom de WM jusqu'en 1989 puis WR à partir de 1990), Gérard Welter a engagé 19 voitures sur 13 éditons des 24 Heures du Mans. La WR LMP 2008 est la dernière de cette lignée initiée avec la WM P76. Cet ultime prototype est à l’image de toutes les créations de Gérard Welter : une auto pensée pour Le Mans avant tout, avec des solutions innovantes sur le plan aérodynamique.

 
Gérard Welter et l’aventure des 24 Heures du Mans

Designer puis directeur du Centre de style de Peugeot, Gérard Welter a dédié sa carrière professionnelle à la marque Peugeot. En 1960, il rejoint le constructeur français et fait ses premiers pas en dessinant notamment les feux arrière de la 404 et contribue au cabriolet et au coupé 204. Devenu responsable du style en 1975, il travaille sur de nombreux modèles et devient notamment le père de la Peugeot 205, sa plus belle création selon ses dires. Un modèle qui contribua à relancer la marque et reste aujourd’hui encore emblématique.

En parallèle de ses missions chez Peugeot, Gérard Welter est épris de compétition et lance sa propre équipe, WM (pour Welter et Meunier, du nom de Michel Meunier, son associé). Dès 1969, le groupe de passionnés qu’ils regroupent autour d’eux commence à travailler sur des prototypes mais ce n’est qu’à partir de 1976 que les engagements commencent aux 24 Heures du Mans. WM entre dans la légende du Mans avec le prototype WM P88 à moteur Peugeot qui atteint 405 km/h à l’occasion des 24 Heures du Mans 1988. Le record de la vitesse la plus élevée enregistrée lors de l’épreuve, toujours en vigueur. En 1995, les WR (du nom de la structure qui remplace WM à compter de la fin d’année 1989) manquent l’exploit. William David signe la pole position sur la WR LM94 en 3’46’’05. Sur la voiture sœur, Patrick Gonin décroche le meilleur tour en course (3’51’’41) à l’occasion d’une édition marquée par la pluie et remportée par McLaren. 

Après une nouvelle tentative et le revers de 1996 (avec le décès de Sébastien Enjolras, espoir du sport automobile français, au volant d’une WR), ce n’est qu’à partir de 2000 que l’on voit des WR revenir en Sarthe. En LMP675 puis LMP2, les bonnes performances sont notables avec plusieurs deuxièmes places de catégorie (en 2000, 2001, 2002 et 2004). 

En 2007, une nouvelle impulsion est donnée. WR se rapproche de Stéphane et Philippe Salini. Les deux frères gentlemen drivers qui rêvent de disputer Le Mans financent le développement d’une nouvelle voiture : la WR LMP 2008.

 
La genèse de la WR la plus aboutie : Une aérodynamique révolutionnaire ayant inspiré la AUDI R15

En décembre 2007, le Welter Racing annonçait l'arrivée de son nouveau sport-prototype pour la catégorie LMP2, destiné aux championnats régis par l'Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO). En partenariat avec le Groupe Salini, l'équipe de Gérard Welter développait une LMP2, équipée d’un moteur V8 Zytek 3,4 litres et d'une boîte à vitesses Ricardo. Un seul châssis fut construit - #2008-001 – engagé régulièrement en Le Mans Series et aux 24 Heures du Mans. 

 

Une Formule 1 carénée, voilà comment le prototype né des ateliers de Thorigny pouvait déjà à l’époque être qualifié. Extrêmement travaillées, les formes du prototype né officiellement le 25/06/2007 semblent être l’unique résultat de calculs aérodynamiques et non de contraintes marketings. Au début de l'année 2009, lorsque AUDI a dévoilé la révolutionnaire R15, il est apparu clairement que les concepteurs de la WR Salini étaient sur la bonne voie car l'avant de la Audi R15 était remarquablement similaire à celui de la WR.

L’esthétisme n’a cependant pas été négligé, en témoigne les phares en losange. Gérard Welter résumait la philosophie qui avait guidé la conception de la LMP2 : "C’est une voiture simple et moderne, tournée vers un avenir écologique, capable d'accepter différents groupes moteurs". Dès le début, Welter et ses hommes songent à greffer dans la voiture un bloc diesel (alors autorisé depuis 2006 au Mans). Mais il n’en sera finalement rien. Le V8 Zytek de 540 chevaux dénotait, seule une poignée d’équipes utilisaient un bloc comparable en Le Mans Series. C’était le cas de Barazi Epsilon et de Trading Performance sur des Zytek 07S/2 ou d’Embassy Racing sur des WF01 Zytek. WR rompait avec la tradition qui avait pourtant jusque-là été la norme : celle de rouler avec des moteur Peugeot.

 

Par opposition aux anciens modèles WR, la ligne n’est pas ici tirée d’une carrosserie monobloc mais est bien plus fine, venant épouser les différents éléments mécaniques. Une monoplace avec des ailes pour recouvrir les roues, c’est la sensation que l’on a en regardant cette WR de face. 

Sur le plan technique, la WR LMP2 2008 possédait un gabarit relativement comparable à celui des concurrentes de l’époque (Porsche RS Spyder, Lola B08/80, Zytek 07 ou encore MG Lola EX265). 4,63 m de long, 2,89 m d’empattement pour 825 kg. 

Une carrière en Le Mans Series et une apogée aux 24 Heures du Mans

C’est à l’occasion des 1000 km de Barcelone 2008 que la WR Salini effectue ses débuts en course. Et, pour cette première en compétition, la LMP2 voit l’arrivée ! Une vraie satisfaction pour la petite structure qui a préparé la voiture jusqu’à la dernière minute et qui repart avec la 34e place. Elle restera malheureusement le meilleur résultat de la première saison Le Mans Series. A Monza, la boîte de vitesses cède pendant les essais libres. La WR flanquée du n°37 ne peut pas effectuer les qualifications et s’élance du fond de grille. En course, c’est l’injection qui stoppe sa progression. Manquant la manche de Spa-Francorchamps, la petite WR revient au Nürburgring et doit cette fois composer avec des soucis d’échappement. A Silverstone, la saison se termine avec des problèmes électriques. 

Après un passage en soufflerie courant octobre 2008 et un premier travail de développement pendant l’été 2008, WR et les frères Salini validaient les modifications entrainées par l’application du nouveau règlement ACO. Deux journées de roulage à Lurcy-Lévis et deux journées d’essais organisées par Dunlop à Estoril en décembre permettaient d’affiner le comportement de la WR en vue de la saison 2009.

Cinq courses ponctueront ce millésime 2009 avec une courbe de progression notable. 30e aux 1000 km de Catalogne en avril, la WR est 32e aux 1000 km de Spa-Francorchamps début mai. On est encore loin des références que sont les Porsche, alors ultra-dominatrices, mais lors des 1000 km de l’Algarve en août, le prototype français passe à la 24e place. Pour l’occasion, c’est Bruce Jouanny qui est associé aux frères Salini, à la place de Tristan Gommendy. Enfin, malgré un abandon au Nürburgring, la LMP2 se classe 20e à Silverstone (9e en catégorie LMP2) ! Le potentiel est là avec un meilleur tour en course en 1’40’’402, le 4emeilleur temps des LMP2. 

Le Mans 2010, ultime course de la WR LMP2 Salini

En 2010, le programme est réduit aux 8 Heures du Castellet puis aux 24 Heures du Mans. La WR est retenue, enfin, après deux refus ! Avant ces deux rendez-vous, le travail mené par la petite équipe est important. « Nous avons revu les écoulements d’air en profondeur et travaillé en parallèle sur les suspensions » explique alors Pascal Coquin, responsable de la communication de l’équipe WR[1]. Il confie d’ailleurs qu’en ce début 2010, WR envisageait déjà un passage en LMP1 ! « Nous avons passé les tests FIA pour que la crash box soit homologuée en LMP1. Crash test, poussée latérale, poussée sur arceau… Tout devait être refait. C’est un gros investissement, mais essentiel pour que nous puissions poursuivre notre progression. La saison dernière nous avons démontré toutes les qualités de notre châssis face à une concurrence réputée. Nous sommes désormais en mesure de commercialiser notre auto à un prix très attractif. L’homologuer en LMP1 offre un panel plus large de clients potentiels ». Malheureusement, ce passage en catégorie reine ne se fera jamais. La non-sélection pour les 24 Heures du Mans 2011 a sonné la fin du programme WR et l’arrêt de l’engagement de la WR LMP2 2008.

Mais revenons à l’édition 2010, ultime course de la WR LMP2 2008. Avant Le Mans 2010, Tristan Gommendy, pilote professionnel enrôlé aux côtés des frères Salini, vantait les progrès effectués : « Nous avons beaucoup travaillé sur la raideur. La voiture est maintenant 20% plus raide sur l'avant et 15% à l'arrière. Avant, je trouvais la voiture pataude et je n'aimais pas trop ça, alors que maintenant, ça va très bien. Elle était beaucoup trop souple et le comportement n'était pas ce qu'il devait être. Nous avons travaillé sur les ressorts, la barre anti-roulis, les amortisseurs... Nous avons même maintenant un troisième amortisseur à l'arrière »[2].

La course n’est pas un long fleuve tranquille mais Tristan Gommendy et les frères Salini rejoignent l’arrivée au 23e rang, 8e en LMP2. 

Après trois saisons de collaboration avec le motoriste britannique Zytek, Gérard Welter et les frères Salini se sont orientés vers le V8 Nissan type VK45DE pour la saison 2011. Ce moteur, préparé par NISMO et assemblé dans les ateliers Zytek à Repton, ne fut finalement jamais vu en compétition. Malgré cette importante évolution mécanique et la mise en place d’un nouvel aileron arrière, le programme est stoppé. Des essais en soufflerie ont bien eu lieu avant la saison, mais Le Mans 2010 reste la dernière course de cette WR unique !

La voiture est conservée intacte depuis 2010.

Crédit photo : Luc Joly

[1] https://www.autonewsinfo.com/2010/03/31/lms-wr-entame-sa-troisieme-saison-avec-de-solides-ambitions-2365.html

[2] https://web.archive.org/web/20100616190930/http://www.endurance-info.com/version2/actualite-endurance-4359.html

APPELEZ-NOUS : +33 9 67 33 48 43

ECRIVEZ-NOUS

Thank you for your message

bottom of page