1992 TOYOTA CELICA ST 185 Group A Ex Carlos Sainz

2nd in the 1992 Rally of Argentina with Carlos Sainz and Luis Moya

In 1992, Carlo Sainz and Toyota won their second world title

Original registration: K-AM 1694

Iconic REPSOL livery

Restored

VEHICULE ENQUIRY
TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

TOYOTA

Mark

CELICA ST185 USINE Group A

Model

1992

Year

TC 536 - JT164STJ500014915

Chassis number

STEEL

Frame

STEEL

Body

TOYOTA 3SGTE (4 cylinders in line) Turbo

Engine

330 CH.

Power

6 SPEEDS

Gearbox

1100 KG

Weight

PRICE

ON REQUEST

A true symbol of the years of Japanese domination in rally racing and a truly iconic car for several generations of enthusiasts, the Toyota Celica is one of the legends of rallying history. Ascott Collection now offers you this authentic model that raced in the 1992 World Rally Championship: a Celica ST185 driven by Carlos Sainz and his navigator Luis Moya. At the time, the pair were chasing their second world crown.

 
The Toyota Celica

The Toyota Celica made its first appearance in Japan, in 1970, before successive generations of the car spread beyond the Land of the Rising Sun. The Celica cars landed in the United States and Europe and quickly become excellent bases for rallying. Toyota immediately realized the potential benefits this represented and founded Toyota Team Europe (TTE) in 1975, to look after its competition programs in general, and its rallying division in particular.

The fourth version of the Celica (produced from 1986 to 1989) quickly became a reference for lovers of steeply winding paved roads, dirt tracks and gravelled surfaces. Toyota developed a four-wheel-drive turbo model for rallying, which was named the Celica ST-165. It was this car that earned the Japanese make its first successes: in 1990, Carlos Sainz made nine podiums (in 12 races) and chalked up four wins: in Greece, New Zealand, Finland and finally England. He became World Champion.

In 1991, Carlos Sainz could do no better than finish in second place, beaten by Juha Kankkunen, despite winning five rallies that season with the Celica: Monte Carlo, Portugal, Corsica, New Zealand and Argentina.

 
1992: The Toyota Celica ST185 is born

After this harvest of successes and the excellent results obtained by the Celica GT-Four ST165, Toyota Team Europe developed the ST185 for the 1992 season, a "revised and corrected" Celica designed to achieve glory once again and win the constructors’ title. It acquired a few extra horse-power, with the new car being fitted out with a reinforced version of the 3S-GTE engine that developed around 200 hp - a small gain of 15 hp compared to the ST165.

But the greatest part of the work lay elsewhere: TTE carried out major modifications to improve the efficiency of the cooling system. Several times, the Celica ST165 had had timing belt issues due to excessive heat. As a result, on the ST185, they reinforced the cooling system so as to prevent the timing belt from melting. Increasingly large air ducts were incorporated at the front. The bumper was lighter and the bonnet was quite distinct from the old version.

The work done during the 1991/1992 winter paid off: Carlos Sainz finished second at Monte Carlo, behind Didier Auriol and his Lancia Delta HF Integrale. "El Matador" confirmed that the Japanese make was still in the fight! After a podium in Portugal and then two victories in Kenya and New Zealand, the Spaniard arrived in Argentina leading the Championship, with his Celica painted in the henceforth legendary Repsol colours. It is this car, that he drove during the 1992 Rally of Argentina, that we are offering for sale here - a car that was entered for just one race, as was customary with Toyota at the time!

Toyota Celica ST185 Group A JT164STJ500014915

The 1992 edition of the Rally of Argentina boiled down to a battle between Didier Auriol and Carlos Sainz. A battle that could have gone Sainz’s way, but which did not play out that way in the end due to a simple puncture.

In the first special stage, Sainz outclassed his competitors and led a pack of five Lancias by three seconds. In the second special stage, Auriol got the better of him, but only by one tiny second. Didier Auriol took the lead with the best times in special stages 3 and 4, but Carlos Sainz remained confident. With the car’s increased reliability and the work that had been done to improve both its differential and its manoeuvrability, he could dream of victory, as in 1991.

But at the start of the rally’s second day, he had a puncture when he drove over a rock as he was leaving Tucuman. He lost over a minute, which he never managed to make up. Several special stages were cancelled because there were too many spectators along the roadside. With the stage not being timed, some spectators were so angry that they attacked the drivers as they drove past at reduced speed. Carlos Sainz, following Didier Auriol, was heckled and had stones, chunks of wood and smoke bombs thrown at him. However, there was more fear than harm, even though Carlos Saint later confessed that he was happy not to have been held up on the way...

With some of the special stages being cancelled, Sainz had no chance to catch up with Auriol, despite recording the best times in the last three timed sectors. He ultimately lost by a little over two minutes.

After thus finishing second in the 1992 Rally of Argentina, the Celica ST185 (chassis JT164STJ500014915) that we are putting up for sale here was never again entered by Toyota in the World Rally Championship. It was bought from TTE in 1994 and imported to Italy to race in national rallies, taking part in several competitions there. The car was then bought once more and imported to France in 2006. It was restored and repainted in its original Repsol livery. Having rarely been used since then - and never in a race - the Celica ST185 of 1992 Rally of Argentina fame is now in search of a new owner. A batch of various spare parts comes with the car, including some special "dirt-track" suspensions and a set of rims.

Price upon request

1/1
ascott collection

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2020

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron

1992 TOYOTA CELICA ST 185 Group A Ex Carlos Sainz

​2ème au Rally d'Argentine 1992 pilotée par Carlos Sainz et son co-pilote Luis Moya

Carlo Sainz  & Toyota remporte le titre de Champion du Monde en 1992

Immatriculation originale K-AM 1694

Livrée REPSOL 

Restaurée

DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS
CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

Marque

TOYOTA

Modèle

CELICA ST185 USINE Group A

Année

1992

No de châssis

TC 536 - JT164STJ500014915

Châssis

ACIER

Carrosserie

ACIER

Moteur

TOYOTA 3SGTE (4 cylindres en ligne) Turbo

Puissance

330 CH.

Boite de vitesse

6 VITESSES

Poids

1100 KG

VENDUE

Symbolique des années de domination japonaises en rallye et véritable voiture iconique pour plusieurs générations de passionnés, la Toyota Celica compte parmi les légendes du sport. Ascott Collection vous propose un authentique modèle engagé en Championnat du Monde des Rallyes en 1992. Une Celica ST185 pilotée à l’époque par Carlos Sainz et son co-pilote Luis Moya. Le duo était alors en quête de sa deuxième couronne mondiale.

La Toyota Celica

La Toyota Celica apparait en 1970 au Japon, puis ses générations successives se répandent au-delà du Pays du Soleil Levant. Aux Etats-Unis et en Europe, les Celica débarquent et deviennent très vite d’excellentes bases pour le rallye. Toyota comprend cet enjeu et fonde Toyota Team Europe (TTE) en 1975, pour gérer les programmes compétition, et le rallye notamment.

La quatrième version de la Celica (produite de 1986 à 1989) devient vite une référence pour les amoureux de routes bitumées en lacets, pour la terre ou les graviers. Un modèle à quatre roues motrices-turbo est en effet développé par Toyota pour le rallye. La Celica prend alors le nom de Celica ST-165. C’est elle qui rapporte à la marque ses premiers succès. Ainsi, en 1990, Carlos Sainz se retrouve sur le podium à neuf reprises (sur 12 courses) et décroche quatre succès : en Grèce, en Nouvelle-Zélande, en Finlande et enfin en Angleterre. Il est champion du monde.

En 1991, Carlos Sainz ne peut faire mieux que deuxième, battu par Juha Kankkunen. Il décroche pourtant cette saison là cinq succès avec la Celica : au Monte Carlo, au Portugal, en Corse puis en Nouvelle-Zélande et en Argentine.

1992 : La Toyota Celica ST185 voit le jour

La Toyota Celica ST185

Après cette moisson de succès et les excellents résultats de la Celica GT-Four ST165, Toyota Team Europe développe la ST185 pour la saison 1992. Une Celica « revue et corrigée », pour retrouver la gloire et le titre des constructeurs. La Celica évolue et gagne quelques chevaux. En effet, cette version était équipée d'une version renforcée du moteur 3S-GTE qui produisait environ 200 ch. Un petit gain de 15 ch donc par rapport à la ST165.

Mais le plus gros travail se situe ailleurs : TTE réalise de lourdes modifications pour améliorer l'efficacité du système de refroidissement. La Celica ST165 a plusieurs fois eu des problèmes de courroie de distribution en raison de la chaleur excessive. Alors, sur la ST185, on renforce le refroidissement pour que la courroie de distribution ne fonde pas. Sur la face avant, on note l’ajout de conduits d'air de plus en plus grands. Le pare-choc est plus léger et le capot se différencie de l’ancienne version.

La Toyota JT164STJ500014915 proposée à la vente

Le travail pendant l’hiver 1991/1992 paie : Carlos Sainz termine deuxième au Monte-Carlo derrière Didier Auriol et sa Lancia Delta HF Integrale. « El Matador » confirme que la marque japonaise est encore là pour se battre ! Un podium au Portugal, puis deux victoires au Kenya et en Nouvelle-Zélande, et voici l’Espagnol qui se présente en Argentine en leader avec sa Celica aux couleurs Repsol, devenue légendaire. C’est la voiture qu’il utilisa lors de ce Rallye d’Argentine 1992 que nous vous proposons ici à la vente. Une auto engagée seulement pour une seule course, comme de coutume chez Toyota à l’époque !

Le rallye d’Argentine édition 1992 se résume à une bataille entre Didier Auriol et Carlos Sainz. Une bataille qui pouvait tourner à l’avantage de Sainz, mais il n’en fut rien à cause d’une simple crevaison.

Dès la première spéciale, Sainz surclasse la concurrence et mène de trois secondes un peloton de cinq Lancia. Deuxième spéciale, Auriol prend le dessus, mais pour une seule petite seconde. Didier Auriol prend la tête du classement avec les meilleurs temps des spéciales 3 et 4, mais Carlos Sainz est serein. Le travail de fiabilisation de sa voiture, ainsi que les efforts pour améliorer le différentiel et la maniabilité de l’auto lui permettent de songer à la victoire, comme en 1991.

Mais au début du deuxième jour du rallye, il crève en roulant sur une pierre à la sortie de Tucuman. Il perd alors plus d’une minute, et ne pourra jamais rattraper ce retard. Plusieurs spéciales furent annulées, à cause de la présence de spectateurs trop nombreux aux bords des routes. Furieux, certains s’en sont pris aux pilotes lorsqu’ils sont passés à allure réduite, la spéciale n’étant pas chronométrée. Carlos Sainz, comme Didier Auriol avant lui, fut chahuté : jets de pierres, envois de morceaux de bois et autres fumigènes. Plus de peur que de mal, Carlos Saint confiant plus tard être heureux de ne pas avoir été bloqué sur place…

Coupé d’une partie des spéciales, le rallye ne permet pas à Sainz de remonter sur Auriol, malgré les meilleurs temps dans les trois derniers secteurs chronométrés. Il échoue à un peu plus de deux minutes.

 

Après une arrivée à la deuxième place de Rallye d’Argentine 1992, la Celica ST185 (châssis JT164STJ500014915) aujourd’hui en vente ne fut plus engagée par Toyota en Championnat du Monde des Rallyes. Elle fut achetée en 1994 auprès de TTE et importée en Italie pour être utilisée dans des rallyes nationaux, et participer à plusieurs compétitions dans le pays. La voiture fut ensuite achetée et importée en France en 2006. Elle a été restaurée et remise dans sa livrée d'origine Repsol. Très peu utilisée depuis - et jamais en course – la Celica ST185 du Rallye d’Argentine 1992 est aujourd’hui à la recherche d’un nouveau propriétaire. En plus de la voiture, un lot de diverses pièces est fourni, avec notamment des suspensions spéciales « terre » ou un lot de jantes.

VENDUE

1/1
ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2020

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron