LOLA T600 HU3 LMC 2018 4 2,5K.jpg

1981 LOLA T600 COSWORTH HU3

The first ground effect prototype that foreshadowed the advent of Group C

An extremely strong competitor - It won two rounds of the Endurance World Championship in 1981
The only ground effect prototype eligible for Classic Endurance Racing and Le Mans Classic Grid 6

Increased safety thanks to a solid chassis made of aluminium honeycomb and the roll cage
Unmolested as it has not been raced for 37 years - Restored in 2017

ELIGIBILITY
VEHICULE ENQUIRY

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

PRICE
TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

ON REQUEST

Mark

LOLA

Model

T600

Year

1981

Chassis number

HU3

Frame

ALUMINIUM HONEYCOMB

Body

FIBERGLASS

Engine

COSWORTH DFL V8 3.3 LITERS

Power

480 CH. @ 10,000 RPM

Gearbox

HEWLAND DG 300 - 5 SPEED

Weight

850 KG

Ascott Collection is proud to offer for sale the 1981 LOLA HU3, a very important car from a historical viewpoint, that marked a technological breakthrough in the world of motor racing. In the year of its launch, the car won two rounds of the Endurance World Championship in Europe, while Brian Redman won the IMSA title in the USA with a T600 powered by a Chevrolet engine.

Among the innovative elements of this unique prototype are the ground effect diffuser, which was to become very widely used, and the aluminum honeycomb used to make its chassis, which is also fitted with a roll bar. With the LOLA T600, performance and safety made a leap forward. These technological advances would then serve as a basis for developing many other prototypes. In fact it was a Group C car ahead of its time!

Powered by a 3.3-litre Ford Cosworth engine, HU3 is the only LOLA T600 to have the privilege of being fitted with this F1-derived powertrain. Having been entered for the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1981, it is therefore eligible to compete in the Le Mans Classic, in Class 6. HU3 remained unused for 37 years before being acquired and restored by Ascott Collection in 2017. The sale of this LOLA T600 HU3 offers you the opportunity to acquire a unique one-off car.

The T600 revolutionized the sports car racing

While Lola had built the open cockpit T-510 ground effect Can Am car for 1980, the T-600 closed car was entirely new, though both were to be powered by a Chevrolet V8 (6 liter in the T600, 5 liter in the T510). Still, there was no interchangeability between Lola's two customer road racers. The T510 was a conventional chassis design constructed of riveted aluminium sheet. The Lola T600 was to have a honeycomb aluminium chassis, a first for Lola, giving it greater strength than its Can Am cousin.

First Ground-effect prototype inspired by Max Sardou

The GTP series offered opportunities for exploring new technologies. Broadley approached the leading independent expert on ground effects, Dr. Max Sardou. In 1973, while exploring the vaporization of the Venturi in a carburetor, Sardou saw the significance of the internal winglike shape that caused the air to lose pressure when the throat enlarged.

Design for the T600 began in the fall of 1980, with the first car ready by spring. Using Sardou's theories, the car featured rear wheel covers and suspension components tucked out of the venture air stream to maximize down force. Since the car had no side skirts, as used on Formula 1 cars at the time, air was able to enter from the sides, and down force was actually increased as the car slid.

In Europe, Guy Edwards and Emilio de Villota won two races of the World Championship of 1981 with HU3

In Europe, Eric Broadley knows his revolutionary car can be very competitive. The Britannic Guy Edwards teams up with Emilio de Villota to enter a T600 in the World Endurance Championship. HU3 will be the LOLA factory car for the 1981 season, supported by Cosworth Engineering. HU3 will be powered by a Cosworth V8, coming from the Formula 1. Cosworth Engineering will bring its technical and human support to HU3. The capacity of the engine will be increased from 3 l to 3.3 l, during the season. The light and powerful engine finds easily its place above the tunnels which bring to the LOLA its revolutionary architecture.

 

HU3 has set new standards for endurance cars

In 1981, the LOLA HU3 is a car very ahead of the competition. Among the unique elements, we can obviously mention the ground effect which is a technique that will never be questioned. Nowadays, no racing car is designed without a diffuser.

The use of aluminum honeycomb is also an innovation. This lightweight material offers much better rigidity than aluminum sheet. Moreover, in case of an accident, it is much safer for the pilot. Like the diffusers, the use of aluminum honeycomb will be generalized in Group C, before carbon fiber comes to replace it.

A very successful endurance prototype

After the development of the LOLA T600, Edwards and de Villota play the troublemakers. At the 6 hours of Monza, they qualify in 5th position and have to give up in race on a failure of transmission.
At the next race, they qualify in second position, just behind the Porsche 936 of Team Joest driven by German drivers including Jochen Mass. The LOLA T600 is in the lead of the race before having to give up due to a fuel failure. A very good start. In the next race, the 1000 km of Nurburgring, HU3 finished in 8th position and won the GTP category.
At the 24 Hours of Le Mans, HU3 suffered a gearbox problem on the first lap! She finished the race in 15th position.
In the wake of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the LOLA T600 HU3 is entered in the 6 Hours of Enna Pergusa in Italy. It is the first victory. A second victory will be secured at the 1000 km of Brands hatch. At the end of a successful season, HU3 is sold to a Japanese collector

A unique piece, eligible in the most prestigious events

The LOLA T600 HU3 did not race for 37 years. Acquired in 2017 by Ascott Collection in original condition, it was fully restored and made its return to the track as part of the Classic Endurance Racing 2 by Peter Auto and Le Mans Classic 2018.

This LOLA T600 is a unique piece. Rare, powerful and historically important, it marked a turning point in endurance car design and won two rounds of the World Endurance Championship in 1981.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron

LOLA T600 HU3 LMC 2018 4 2,5K.jpg

1981 LOLA T600 COSWORTH HU3

Le premier prototype à effet de sol qui préfigure l'avènement du Groupe C

Une voiture très compétitive - A remporté 2 courses du Championnat du Monde en 1981
Le seul prototype à effet de sol éligible en Classic Endurance Racing 2 et au Mans Classic plateau 6
Sécurité accrue grâce à un châssis en nid d'abeille d'aluminium et un arceau
Conservée intacte durant 37 ans et restaurée en 2017

ELIGIBILITÉ
DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

PRIX
CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

SUR DEMANDE

Marque

LOLA

Modèle

T600

Année

1981

No de châssis

HU3

Châssis

MONOCOQUE NID D'ABEILLE D'ALUMINIUM

Carrosserie

FIBRE DE VERRE

Moteur

COSWORTH DFL V8 3,3 LITRES

Puissance

480 CH. @ 10 000 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

HEWLAND DG 300 - 5 VITESSES

Poids

850 KG

Ascott Collection est fier de proposer à la vente la LOLA HU3 de 1981, une voiture très importante historiquement qui a marqué une rupture technologique dans l’univers de la course automobile. Dès l’année de son lancement, cette voiture a remporté deux manches du Championnat du Monde d’Endurance en Europe alors que Brian Redman remportait le titre IMSA aux USA avec une T600 propulsée par un moteur Chevrolet.

 

Parmi les éléments novateurs de ce prototype unique, il y a le diffuseur à effet de sol dont l’utilisation sera généralisée ainsi que le recours au nid d'abeille d’aluminium dans la fabrication de son châssis qui est aussi pourvu d’un arceau. Avec la LOLA T600, la performance et la sécurité ont fait un bond. Ces progrès technologiques serviront ensuite de base au développement de nombreux prototypes. Une Group C avant l’heure !

 

Propulsée par un moteur Ford Cosworth 3,3 litres, HU3 est la seule LOLA T600 à avoir bénéficié de cette motorisation dérivée de la F1. Ayant été engagée au 24 Heures du Mans en 1981, elle est donc éligible au Mans Classic en plateau 6. HU3 est restée inutilisée durant 37 ans avant d’être acquise et restaurée par Ascott Collection en 2017. La mise en vente de cette LOLA T600 HU3 offre l’opportunité d’acquérir une pièce unique.

La T600 a révolutionné la course automobile

Alors que Lola avait construit une Can Am à effet de sol T-510 à cockpit ouvert pour 1980, la T600 avec son cockpit fermé était entièrement nouvelle, bien que toutes deux devaient être motorisées par un V8 Chevrolet (6 litres dans la T600, 5 litres dans la T510). Pourtant, il n'y avait aucune pas grand chose de commun entre les deux voitures de course de Lola. La T510 était un châssis conventionnel construit en tôle d'aluminium rivetée. La Lola T600 avait un châssis en nid d'abeille d'aluminium , une première pour Lola, ce qui lui offrait une plus grande solidité que sa cousine Can Am.


Premier prototype à effet de sol inspiré par Max Sardou

La série GTP offrait la possibilité d'explorer de nouvelles technologies. Broadley a contacté le principal expert indépendant en matière d'effets de sol, le Dr Max Sardou. En 1973, Sardou avait découvert l'intérêt de positionner des diffuseur sous la voiture afin de créer de l'effet de sol.
La conception de la T600 a commencé à l'automne 1980, et la première voiture (HU1) fut prête au printemps. S'appuyant sur les théories de Sardou, la voiture est dotée de tôles recouvrant les roues arrière et d'éléments de suspension permettant de position des diffuseurs afin de maximiser l’effet de sol.

La LOLA T600 HU3 est la LOLA T600 Européenne. Un modèle unique motorisé par un Cosworth V8

En Europe, Eric Broadley sait que sa voiture révolutionnaire peut être très compétitive. Le Britannique Guy Edwards fait équipe avec Emilio de Villota pour engager une T600 dans le Championnat du monde d'endurance. HU3 sera la voiture d'usine LOLA pour la saison 1981, soutenue par Cosworth Engineering. HU3 sera motorisée par un V8 Cosworth, un moteur dérivé de la Formule 1 et ayant fait ses preuves en Endurance dans de nombreux prototypes dont les LOLA. Cosworth Engineering apportera son soutien technique et humain à HU3. La cylindrée du moteur qui était initialement de 3 l sera portée à 3,3 l eu cours de saison. Le moteur léger et puissant trouve facilement sa place au-dessus des tunnels qui apportent à la LOLA son architecture révolutionnaire.

La HU3 a établi des nouveaux standards pour les voitures d'endurance

En 1981, la LOLA HU3 est une voiture très en avance sur la concurrence. Parmi les éléments uniques, on peut évidemment citer l'effet de sol qui est une technique qui ne sera jamais remise en cause. De nos jours, aucune voiture de course n'est conçue sans un diffuseur.

L'utilisation du nid d'abeille en aluminium pour fabriquer le châssis est également une innovation. Ce matériau léger offre une bien meilleure rigidité que la tôle d'aluminium. De plus, en cas d'accident, il est beaucoup plus sûr pour le pilote. Comme pour les diffuseurs, l'utilisation du nid d'abeille en aluminium sera généralisée dans le groupe C, avant que la fibre de carbone ne vienne le remplacer.

 

Avec HU3, Guy Edwards et Emilio de Villota ont remporté deux manches du championnat du monde de 1981

Après la mise en point de la LOLA T600, Edwards et de Villota jouent les troubles faites. Aux 6 hours de Monza, ils se qualifient en 5ème position et doivent abandonner en course sur une panne de transmission.
A la course suivant, ils se qualifient en deuxième position, juste derrière la Porsche 936 du Team Joest pilotée par des pilotes Germaniques dont Jochen Mass. 
La LOLA T600 est en tête de la course avant de devoir abandonner sur une panne d'essence. Un très bon début. 
A la course suivante, les 1000 km du Nurburgring, HU3 se classe en 8ème position et remporte la catégorie GTP.
Au 24 Heures du Mans, HU3 sera victime d'un problème de boite de vitesse dès le premier tour ! Elle terminera la course en 15 ème position. Dans la foulée des 24 heures du Mans, la LOLA T600 HU3 est engagée aux 6 heures de Enna Pergusa en Italie. C'est la première victoire. Une seconde victoire sera sécurisée aux 1000 km de Brands hatch.

Elle fut ensuite acquise par un collectionneur Japonais
 

Une pièce unique et très compétitive dans les courses les plus prestigieuses

HU3 n'a pas couru durant 37 ans. Acquise en 2017 par Ascott Collection dans un état original, elle fut entièrement restaurée et fit son retour en piste dans le cadre du Classic Endurance Racing 2 by Peter Auto et du Mans Classic 2018.

Cette LOLA T600 est une pièce unique. Rare, performante et importante historiquement, elle a marqué un tournant dans la conception des voitures d'endurance et elle a remporté deux manches du Championnat du Monde d'Endurance en 1981.
Visible sur rendez-vous. 

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon