Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2019

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

#historic race car for sale #historic racing car for sale #lmp for sale #group c for sale #lmp1 for sale #racecarsdirect #classicdriver #endurance legends for sale  #gt1 for sale #gt2 for sale

SPICE SE90C C1

A front runner in period

24 hours of Le Mans in 1991

A semi-official SPICE C1 fitted out with the latest developments.

ELIGIBILITY

GROUP C RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

VEHICULE ENQUIRY
TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
PRICE

SPICE

Make

SE90C

Model

1990

Year

22

Chassis number

MONOCOQUE NID D'ABEILLE D'ALU.

Chassis

KEVLAR CARBON FIBRE

Body

COSWORTH DFR V8 3,5 LITRE

Engine

620 HP @ 11 000 RPM

Power

HEWLAND 6 SPEEDS

Gearbox

900 KG

Weight

UPON REQUEST

 

During the haydays of the GROUP C and IMSA period, the British manufacturer Spice Engineering authored a true success story by marketingt dozens of cars that managed to attain the highest level (several World Championship titles), both in Europe and in the USA.

 

 

Ascott Collection is proud to offer for sale a worthy representative of the Spice Engineering brand, the SE90C-022, that was entered for the Sports Car World Championship in 1991 (in the Group C category).

The Spice SE90 was designed by Graham Humphrey for the Sports Cars World Championship, and more particularly for the 1990 season. Like previous versions produced by Spice Engineering, the SE90 was offered to customer teams in two distinct versions: the SE90C, designed to meet the Sports Cars World Championship C1 and C2 rules, or the SE90P, designed for the IMSA Championship and the GTP and GTP Light categories. The SE90 was one of the most successful and most striking cars of the Spice saga, with its different versions winning several championships.

 

The 022 chassis is a version of the SE90C, which began its career... in 1991! A large number of private teams opted to maintain the solid foundations of the SE90, at a time when the world of endurance racing was going through a major transitional period. This was the case with the Euro Racing team, which entered it for the Sports Cars World Championship, and in particular for the 1991 Le Mans 24 Hours race. While racing under Dutch colours (hence the flag by way of decoration), the team received financial support from Japan, with the Osu Wada brand of jeans. In 1991, Euro Racing had a "semi-official" Spice team status: Jeff Hazell, Spice's Director, was involved and present alongside both Mike Franklin, Euro Racing’s team-manager, and regular drivers Charles Zwolsman and Cor Euser. As proof that this Euro Racing team SE90C enjoyed a special status, it was equipped with the latest developments from Spice’s engineer Graham Humfrys, who had designed all the manufacturer’s models since the SE86C.

 

In the first race at Suzuka, the Spice SE90C-022 immediately made its mark. A Peugeot 905 won the first race to be organized under the new regulations (which aimed to progressively replace turbocharged engines with atmospheric engines). But behind the winning "Lion" came the "turbos": a Mercedes C11 turbo and a Porsche 962C-K (for Kremer). In fourth place, beaten by just one-tenth of a second for the third place on the podium, the Spice SE90C-022 was the best-ranked of the atmospheric cars behind the legendary 905. A first feat.

Another was to follow in the next round at Monza. Two XJR-14s, the famous Formula 1s with bodywork designed by Ross Brawn finished in the top spots, followed by a Mercedes C11... and the Spice SE90C-022! At Silverstone, at the third championship event, the the Spice’s  engine worked wonders on a fast, selective track. The Ford Cosworth DFR V8 3500 cc once again went the distance, and Euro Racing’s fifth place had a taste of victory. The Spice’s best lap - 1'36''958 - was very close to the  Alliot / Baldi Peugeot 905’s 1'36''594. The Spice crossed the line ahead of the French car. Simply impressive.

 

Spice was to have its first setback at the Le Mans 24 Hours. In spite of a promising 15th-best time in practice, the 022 chassis went no further than hour six in the race itself. Starting from the third position (because the first 10 lines on the grid were reserved for cars with 3.5 litre atmospheric engines), the car was forced to retire with a broken engine that put an end to this great adventure after 72 laps. Charles Zwolsman and Cor Euser, teamed up for the occasion with the Englishman Tim Harvey, were among the first to give up the fight, in an edition that will remain in the record-books for the very low number of competitors that actually finished: 12. And the twelfth place went to a SE90C entered by Euro Racing together with the Japanese team Team Fedco, on their come-back. The latter car won the C1 category, in which it was the sole survivor after 24 hours racing... - a "sister" of the 022 chassis, proof that this car was cut out for endurance racing, crowned as it was with success.

 

After the Le Mans 24 Hours race, the Euro Racing team would no longer compete with the 022 chassis, changing instead to the 020. A short career, with performances that were far from ridiculous against the "big" Jaguars, Mercedes and Peugeots.

 

The SE90C-022 is in very good condition. It needs some reconditioning (a crack-test, a fuel tank change and an engine + gearbox overhaul), as for all Group C cars that aim to find their way back onto the track.

It is particularly well preserved, and retains its full potential as a front-runner at the Le Mans Classic and the Group C series, to offer its future owner huge driving pleasure thanks to a level of accessibility whose reputation no longer needs demonstrating.

It is visible for inspection by appointment in our premises.

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2019

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

#historic race car for sale #historic racing car for sale #lmp for sale #group c for sale #lmp1 for sale #racecarsdirect #classicdriver #endurance legends for sale  #gt1 for sale #gt2 for sale

SPICE SE90C C1

24 Heures du Mans 1990

ELIGIBILITE

GROUP C RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS
CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES
PRIX

SPICE

Marque

SE90C

Modèle

1990

Année

22

No de châssis

MONOCOQUE NID D'ABEILLE D'ALU.

Châssis

KEVLAR CARBONE

Carrosserie

COSWORTH DFR V8 3,5 LITRES

Moteur

620 CH. @ 11 000 T/MIN

Puissance

HEWLAND 6 VITESSES

Boite de vitesse

900 KG

Poids

SUR DEMANDE

Le constructeur Britannique Spice Engineering a écrit une véritable success story durant les années du GROUP C et de l’IMSA, parvenant à commercialiser plusieurs dizaines de voitures qui se sont hissées au plus haut niveau (plusieurs titres de Champion du Monde) tant en Europe qu’aux Etats-Unis.

 

Ascott Collection est fier de proposer à la vente une digne représentante de la marque, la SE90C-022, engagée en Championnat du Monde des Voitures de Sport en 1991 (catégorie Group C).

 

Dessinée par Graham Humphrey, la Spice SE90 était destinée au Championnat du Monde des Voitures de Sport, et plus particulièrement à la saison 1990. Comme les versions précédentes produites par Spice Engineering, la SE90 était proposée aux équipes clientes en deux versions. La SE90C pour répondre aux règles des catégories C1 et C2 du Championnat du Monde des Voitures de Sport, ou la version SE90P, pensée pour le championnat IMSA et les catégories GTP et GTP Light. La SE90 est une des voitures les plus performantes et marquante de l’épopée Spice, ses différentes versions ont remporté plusieurs championnats.

 

Le châssis 022 est une version SE90C, qui commença sa carrière… en 1991 ! De nombreuses équipes privées faisaient le choix de conserver la base solide de la SE90, alors que le monde de l’endurance était en pleine transition. C’est le cas de l’équipe Euro Racing, qui l’engagera en Championnat du Monde des Voitures de Sport, et notamment aux 24 Heures du Mans en 1991. Battant pavillon hollandais (d’où les couleurs du drapeau en guise de décoration), l’équipe reçoit un soutien financier du Japon, avec la marque de jean Osu Wada. Euro Racing possède en 1991 un statut d’équipe « semi-officielle » de la marque Spice. En effet, Jeff Hazell, le directeur de Spice, était impliqué et présent aux côtés de Mike Franklin, le team-manager de l’équipe Euro Racing, et des pilotes réguliers Charles Zwolsman et Cor Euser. Preuve que cette SE90C de l’équipe Euro Racing avait un statut particulier, elle bénéficiait des dernières évolutions trouvées par Graham Humfrys, le dessinateur de Spice, à qui l’on doit tous les modèles du constructeur depuis la SE86C.

 

Lors de la première course à Suzuka, la Spice SE90C-022 se distingue déjà. Une Peugeot 905 s’impose pour la première course organisée avec le nouveau règlement (qui vise à faire disparaitre les moteurs turbocompressés au profit des moteurs atmosphériques). Mais derrière la Lionne victorieuse, ce sont des « turbo » que l’on retrouve : une Mercedes C11 turbo et une Porsche 962C-K (pour Kremer). Quatrième, battue d’un dixième pour la troisième marche du podium, la Spice SE90C-022 est la meilleure des atmosphériques, derrière la légendaire 905. Premier exploit.

La revanche sera prise dès la manche suivante, à Monza. Deux XJR-14, les fameuses Formule 1 carrossées par Ross Brawn, trustent les premières places, suivies par une Mercedes C11... et la Spice SE90C-022 ! A Silverstone, lors du troisième rendez-vous du championnat, la mécanique de la Spice fait merveille sur un tracé sélectif et rapide. Le Ford Cosworth DFR V8 3500 cc tient encore une fois la distance, et la cinquième place d’Euro Racing a un goût de victoire. Le meilleur tour en course de la Spice - 1’36’’958 – est très proche de celui signé par la Peugeot 905 de Alliot/Baldi, en 1’36’’594. La Spice devance la voiture française sur la ligne. Impressionnant.

 

Aux 24 Heures du Mans, la Spice va connaître son premier revers. Le châssis 022, malgré un bon quinzième temps aux essais, ne passera pas la sixième heure de course. Partie de la troisième place (car les 10 premiers rangs étaient réservés aux voitures à moteur atmosphériques 3,5 litres), la voiture doit se retirer sur une casse moteur qui met un terme à l’aventure après 72 tours. Charles Zwolsman et Cor Euser, rejoints pour l’occasion par l’Anglais Tim Harvey, sont parmi les premiers à poser pied à terre, dans une édition restée dans les records pour son faible nombre de concurrents classés : 12. D’ailleurs, à la douzième place, c’est une SE90C engagée par Euro Racing, conjointement avec l’équipe japonaise Team Fedco, que l’on retrouve. Cette voiture gagne la catégorie C1, dont elle est la seule représente après 24 heures de course… Une « sœur » du châssis 022, preuve que cette auto était taillée pour l’endurance et fût couronnée de succès.

 

Après les 24 Heures du Mans, l’équipe Euro Racing n’engagera plus le châssis 022, basculant sur le châssis 020. Une courte carrière, avec des performances qui n’avaient rien de ridicule face aux « grosses » Jaguar, Mercedes et autres Peugeot.

SE90C-022 se trouve en très bon état. Elle nécessite une remise en route (crack-test, réservoir d’essence et révision moteur + boite de vitesse), la passage obligé pour toutes les  Group C qui retrouvent le chemin de la piste.

Etant particulièrement bien préservée, elle conserve tout son potentiel pour courir en tête au Mans Classic et dans la série Group C et offrir un énorme plaisir de pilotage à son futur propriétaire grâce à une facilité d’accès dont la réputation n’est plus à faire.

Elle est visible pour inspection sur rendez-vous dans nos locaux.