top of page

2003 RILEY & SCOTT MKIIIC LMP900/LMP1

 

  • Endurance Racing Legends Champion in 2022 - 3rd place in 2023 (after missing 2 races)

  • A very fast LMP900 / LMP1: in 2002, chassis #4 finished 2nd at the 24 Hours of Daytona and 3rd at Sebring 12 Hours and chassis 5 qualified in 7th position at the 24 Hours of Le Mans of 2003 

  • History in the American Le Mans Series, the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the 1000 km of Le Mans in 2003

  • LMP900 in 2003 and LMP1 in 2004 at the 12 Hours of Sebring

  • Prepared and maintained to the highest standard by Scott Sport - Ready to race

  • Eligible for many historic races including Dubaï GP Revival, Masters Endurance Legends, Endurance Racing Legends by Peter Auto and Le Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITY

TECHNICAL CHARACTERISTICS

ENDURANCE RACING LEGENDS by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

LE MANS 24 HOURS SUPPORT RACE

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS

DUBAI GP REVIVAL

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

Mark

RILEY & SCOTT

Model

MKIII C LMP900/ LMP1

Year

2003

Chassis No.

005

Steering

ADJUSTABLE POWER STEERING

Brakes

CARBON or STEEL (both are available)

Engine

ELAN 8 CYLINDERS 6 LITER Traction control

Power

620 HP. @ 6,700 RPM with the correct restrictors

Gearbox

XTRAC Sequential 6-speed with paddle shift

Weight

920 KG

A brand new Riley & Scott with the best technology

In 2001, the Riley & Scott MKIII C succeeded the MKIII which had been launched in 1995 and was the main competitor to the Ferrari 333 SP. The idea behind this new model was not to evolve the MKIII but rather to create a completely new car using, of course, the experience gained from designing the Cadillac Northstar LMP for General Motors in 2000.

The chassis is made of steel with carbon inserts and is much stiffer than that of the MKIII: At the launch of the MKIIIC, Bob Riley indicated that it was 40% stiffer than the MKIII. Externally, there are major changes. In accordance with LMP900 regulations, the roll bar no longer runs the full width of the cockpit, but is only present behind the driver. It is taken directly from the Northstar LMP. The front of the cockpit has also been redesigned, with an aerodynamic windscreen added immediately in front of the driver.

The front end is also more rounded and plunging. The radiator inlets are designed to cover the full width of the nose, but are slimmer. The airflow is much better managed, the aerodynamics are optimised and the MKIIIC benefits from much more downforce at high speed.

Mechanically, the MKIII C's transmission is a marked improvement over the MKIII. A market benchmark, the X-Trac 6-speed sequential gearbox is present. It is controlled by a pneumatic system developed by Megaline and activated by paddle shifts on the steering wheel. The motorization is entrusted to Elan which equips the very efficient Panoz. The brakes are now in carbon. 

 
The MKIIIC has been studied and validated by Audi engineers 

Proof of the seriousness of the MKIII C project, Audi had spied on the American manufacturer. Indeed, a chassis had been obtained by the brand with rings, which studied it in its own wind tunnel. By studying it in great detail, the Ingolstadt engineers saw that the Americans had done a good job. A competitor with potential, so much so that Audi was more than a little curious. 

 
Riley & Scott MKIIIC on the podium at the 24 Hours of Daytona and the 12 Hours of Sebring 

The results were not long in coming, in 2002 the #04 chassis entered by Riley & Scott finished 2nd in the 24 Hours of Daytona and 3rd in the 12 Hours of Sebring. During the 24 Hours of Le Mans, it qualified in 16th position while running on Good Year tyres, which was not at all a guarantee of speed as we will see the following year...

In total, five MKIII Cs were assembled. Only four were entered in competition, chassis #03 being the one used for the FIA crash test.

Riley & Scott MKIII C #005: the ultimate Riley & Scott MK3C

Chassis #005 offered for sale and part of the Ascott Collection is the last chassis assembled by Riley & Scott and entered as an official car by Riley & Scott in 2003. In 2003, Jim Matthews, who was already racing the official car of 2002 (chassis #04), is still the pillar of the official Riley & Scott team. The car will enter the American Le Mans Series (ALMS), and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. It was also entered in the one-off 1000km Le Mans event in September 2003, the start of the Le Mans Series. Its last competitive outing was at the 2004 12 Hours of Sebring. A short career of one year.

This Riley & Scott MKIIIC was particularly noticeable at the 2003 24 Hours of Le Mans. The team had changed tyre supplier and the official Riley & Scott was now equipped with Michelin tyres.

In the big week of the 24 Hours of Le Mans Marc Goossens set an exceptional time of 3'37''476. The car was 7th on the grid, behind the Bentley Speed 8, the Audi R8 and a Dome S101. By comparison, the fastest Audi R8 (the #10 of Biela, Salo and McCarthy) is in 3'35''745. The Riley & Scott is less than two seconds behind the best Audi R8, a performance that does not go unnoticed as the Riley & Scott MKIII C is on the pace of the best LMP900s of the moment. Unfortunately, the engine broke during the race, forcing the team to retire. In 2004, it was entered in the LMP1 class at the Sebring 12 Hour race, where it qualified in 8th place.

The winning car in the Endurance Racing Legends LMP1B Championship in 2022 - 3rd place in 2023 (after missing 2 races)

This Riley & Scott MKIIIC has proven that it's a car built to win since it started competing in historic races. Xavier Micheron has driven it to numerous podium finishes. Whether in the support race for the 2021 Le Mans 24 Hours, in the Masters Endurance Legends or in the Endurance Racing Legends, this car has always been among the front runners. At the end of the 2022 season, it won the Endurance Racing Legends Championship in its class and overall. In 2023, it finished third in the championship despite not competing in the first and last races of the season.

 

Excellent value for money

This Riley & Scott MKIIIC from the 2003 Le Mans 24 Hours is undoubtedly the LMP900 that offers the best value for money, thanks in particular to its engine, which is packed with torque and power and can run 5000 km between overhauls.

The engine was overhauled prior to the Dubai GP Revival race in December 2023, where Riley & Scott achieved another podium finish.

Both easy to maintain and extremely well engineered, it benefits from excellent preparation by the Scott Sport team and Lap Engineering (Lee Penn).

 

The highest level of specification for a car of this era

A stiff chassis coupled with effective aerodynamic loading, a 620bhp engine controlled by traction control, a sequential XTRAC gearbox with paddles, electric power steering, tyre pressure sensors, a latest-generation Motec and dashboard, and carbon brakes.

 

The 2024 season got off to a great start with a podium finish in the first race of the Peter Auto Championship at Mugello.

This Riley & Scott is truly race ready and ready to conquer new podiums in 2024.

CALL US: +33 9 67 33 48 43

WRITE U.S

Thank you for your message

bottom of page

top of page
riley & scott mk3c ascott collection 57.jpg

2003 RILEY & SCOTT MKIIIC LMP900/LMP1

  • Championne Endurance Racing Legends en 2022

  • Une LMP900 / LMP1 très rapide : en 2002, le châssis #4 termine 2ème au 24 H de Daytona et 3ème à Sebring et le châssis 5 se qualifie en 7ème position au 24 H du Mans 2003 

  • Historique en American Le Mans Series, les 24 heures du Mans et les 1000 km du Mans en 2003

  • LMP900 en 2003 et LMP1 en 2004 aux 12 Heures de Sebring

  • Préparée et entretenue au plus haut niveau par Scott Sport - Prête à courir

  • Eligible à Dubaï GP Revival, Masters Endurance Legends, Endurance Racing Legends et Le Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITE

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

ENDURANCE RACING LEGENDS by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

LE MANS 24 HOURS SUPPORT RACE

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS

DUBAI GP REVIVAL

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

Marque

RILEY & SCOTT

Modèle

MKIII C LMP900/ LMP1

Année

2003

No de châssis

005

Châssis

TUBULAIRE ACIER ET CARBONE

Carrosserie

CARBONE

Direction

ASSISTÉE ET RÉGLABLE

Freins

CARBONE ou ACIER (les 2 sont disponibles)

Moteur

ELAN 8 CYLINDRES 6 LITRES Traction control

Puissance

630 CH. @ 6 700 T/MIN avec les restricteurs

Boite de vitesse

XTRAC Séquentielle 6 vitesses & PADDLE-SHIFT 

Poids

920 KG

Une toute nouvelle Riley & Scott pour 2021 bénéficiant de la meilleure technologie

En 2001, la Riley & Scott MKIII C succède à la MKIII qui avait vu le jour en 1995 et qui était la principale concurrente de la Ferrari 333 SP. A l'origine de ce nouveau modèle, l’idée n’était pas de faire évoluer la MKIII mais clairement de créer une toute nouvelle voiture en utilisant, bien entendu l’expérience accumulée lors de la conception la Cadillac Northstar LMP pour General Motors en 2000.

Le châssis est conçu en acier avec des inserts en carbone et il est beaucoup plus rigide que celui de la MKIII : Lors du lancement de la MKIIIC, Bob Riley indiquait qu’il était 40% plus rigide. Extérieurement, des évolutions majeures se font jour. Conformément à la réglementation LMP900, l’arceau de protection ne court plus sur toute la largeur du cockpit, mais il est présent seulement derrière le pilote. Il est repris directement de la Northstar LMP. L'avant du poste de pilotage a également été repensé, avec un pare-brise aérodynamique ajouté immédiatement devant le pilote.

La face avant, plus plongeante, est aussi plus arrondie. Les entrées d’air du radiateur sont conçues pour couvrir toute la largeur du nez, tout en étant plus minces. La conduite de l’air est bien mieux gérée, l’aérodynamisme est optimisé et la MKIIIC bénéficie de beaucoup plus d’appuis à haute vitesse.

Mécaniquement, la transmission de la MKIII C marque une nette amélioration en comparaison avec la MKIII. Une référence du marché, à savoir la boîte à vitesse séquentielle à 6 rapports X-Trac est présente. Elle est commandée par une système pneumatique développé par Megaline activé par des palettes au volant. La motorisation est confiée à Elan qui équipe les très efficaces Panoz. Les freins sont désormais en carbone. 

 

La MKIIIC a été étudié et validée par les ingénieurs Audi 

Preuve du sérieux du projet MKIII C, Audi avait espionné le constructeur américain. En effet, un châssis avait été récupéré par la marque aux anneaux, qui l’a étudié dans sa propre soufflerie. En l’étudiant dans les moindres détails, les ingénieurs d’Ingolstadt ont vu que les américains avaient fait du bon travail. Une concurrente qui avait du potentiel, au point de susciter la curiosité plus que poussée d’Audi. 

 

La Riley & Scott MKIIIC sur le podium aux 24 Heures de Daytona et aux 12 Heures de Sebring 

Les résultats ne se font pas attendre, en 2002 le châssis #04 engagé par Riley & Scott termine 2ème aux 24 Heures de Daytona et 3ème aux 12 Heures de Sebring. Lors des 24 Heures du Mans, elle se qualifie en 16ème position alors qu’elle roulait avec des pneus Good Year, ce qui n’était pas du tout un gage de vitesse comme nous le verrons l’année suivante…Au total, cinq MKIII C sont assemblées. Quatre seulement furent engagées en compétition, le châssis #03 étant celui du crash-test FIA.

Riley & Scott MKIII C #005 : l’ultime Riley & Scott MK3C

Le châssis #005 proposé à la vente et faisant partie de la Collection Ascott est le dernier châssis assemblé par Riley & Scott et engagée comme voiture officielle par Riley & Scott en 2003. En 2003, Jim Matthews qui courrait déjà sur la voiture officielle de 2002 (le châssis #04) est toujours le pilier du team Riley & Scott officiel. La voiture sera engagée en American Le Mans Series (ALMS), et aux 24 Heures du Mans. Elle a également été engagée lors de la seule épreuve des 1000 kilomètres du Mans en septembre 2003, initiatrice des Le Mans Series. Sa dernière sortie en compétition fut lors des 12 Heures de Sebring 2004. Une courte carrière d’une année.

Cette Riley & Scott MKIIIC s’est fait particulièrement remarquer aux 24 Heures du Mans 2003. Le team avait changé de fournisseur de pneu et c’était désormais chaussée de Michelin que la Riley & Scott officielle s'est présentée dans la Sarthe.

Ainsi, lors de la grande semaine des 24 Heures du Mans, Marc Goossens signa un temps exceptionnel de 3’37’’476. L’auto figure en 7e sur la grille, derrière les Bentley Speed 8, les Audi R8 et une Dome S101. A titre de comparaison, la plus rapide des Audi R8 (la n°10 de Biela, Salo et McCarthy) est en 3’35’’745. La Riley & Scott est à moins de deux secondes de la meilleure Audi R8, une performance qui ne passe pas inaperçue puisque la Riley & Scott MKIII C est ainsi dans le rythme des meilleures LMP900 du moment. Malheusement, le moteur cassera pendant la course contraignant l’équipe à l’abandon.

En 2004, elle a été engagée en catégorie LMP1 aux 12 Heures de Sebring, où elle s’est qualifiée en 8ème position. 

La voiture victorieuse du Championnat Endurance Racing Legends LMP1B en 2022

Cette Riley & Scott MKIIIC a prouvé depuis qu’elle roule en courses historiques que c’est une voiture pour gagner. A son volant Xavier Micheron, a terminé de nombreuses fois sur le podium. Que cela soit lors de la course de support des 24 Heures du Mans en 2021, en Masters Endurance Legends ou en Endurance Racing Legends cette voiture a toujours figuré dans les voitures de tête. A l’issue de la saison 2022, elle a remporté le Championnat Endurance Racing Legends dans sa catégorie et au scratch. A la fois facile d’entretien et extrêmement bien conçue elle bénéficie d’une excellente préparation par l’équipe Scott Sport et Lap Engineering (Lee Penn).

Cette voiture bénéficie de tous les meilleurs équipements pour aller vite et prendre beaucoup de plaisir à son volant : Un châssis rigide couplé à une charge aérodynamique efficace, un moteur de 620 chevaux contrôlé par un traction control, une boite à vitesse séquentielle avec palettes au volant ainsi que des freins en carbone si on le souhaite. 

Cette Riley & Scott MKIIIC des 24 Heures du Mans 2003 est certainement la LMP900 qui offre le meilleur ratio performance / coût de fonctionnement en particulier grâce à son moteur qui regorge de couple et de puissance et qui peut parcourir de nombreux km entre deux révisions. Le moteur a été révisé avant la course du Dubaï GP Revival en décembre 2023 où la Riley & Scott a fait un nouveau podium. Cette LMP1 est donc vendue avec un excellent moteur, qui est très puissant et qui a parcouru seulement 550 km. Le moteur dispose d'un potentiel de plus de 45 heures. C’est une voiture réellement prête à courir qui est proposée à la vente pour aller conquérir de nouveaux podiums en 2024.

APPELEZ-NOUS : +33 9 67 33 48 43

ECRIVEZ-NOUS

Thank you for your message

bottom of page