porsche 997 gt3 rsr for sale 1.JPG

2007 PORSCHE 997 GT3 RSR

 

Winner of the Endurance Racing Legends GT2B Championship in 2020

Class victory in the 2021 24 Hours of Le Mans support race 

Prepared and maintained by Porsche Tours

The car's engine has just been overhauled by Porsche

Sold with a second engine which has also been overhauled by Porsche

Interesting set of parts to race

A well-documented and accident-free racing history

ELIGIBILITY
VEHICULE ENQUIRY

ENDURANCE RACING LEGENDS by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

LE MANS 24 HOURS SUPPORT RACE

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
PRICE UPON REQUEST

Marque

PORSCHE

Modèle

993 GT3 RSR

Année

2007

No de châssis

Châssis

ACIER

Moteur

PORSCHE 3,996 l

Puissance

470 CH. @ 7200 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

PORSCHE 6 vitesses

Poids

1220 kg

With a win in its first outing at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the 997 RSR made its mark on GT2 racing right from the start, and became a real benchmark car. 75 of the cars were produced in all, including the different upgrades (the original 2007 version, then the “Evos” of 2008, 2011 and 2013). The 997 RSR was the successor to the 996 RSR, and clearly paved the way for today’s even more radical Porsche GTs, such as the 911 RSR_19 and GT3-Rs. Ascott Collection is now offering chassis N° WP0ZZZ99Z7S799917 for sale, one of the first to be entered in 2007 by a French team. The car has a well-documented racing history and is highly competitive in historic races: in 2020 it won the GT2B Endurance Racing Legends Championship by Peter Auto and currently leads this year’s championship.

 
The 997 GT3 RSR – Porsche's riposte to Ferrari's power grab

Faced with this stiff competition from Ferrari and its F430 GTC in 2006, Porsche needed to react. The 996 RSRs were finding it difficult to compete as they were at the end of their development cycle. Consequently, 2007 saw the appearance of a new generation of Porsche GTs. The time had come to offer a competition version of the 997, which had been for sale in the Porsche dealerships’ showrooms since 2004!

The 997 RSR made its debut in GT2 racing in 2007, before becoming one of the leaders in the GTE category from 2011. The 2007 season saw the brand-new 997 RSR make its debut at the 12 Hours of Sebring. No less than seven of the cars were present (with the Flying Lizard Motorsports, Rahal Letterman Racing, Tafel Racing, Team Trans Sport Racing and FarnbacherLoles Motorsports teams). In parallel with their enthusiastic participation in the American Le Mans Series (ALMS), the 997 RSRs were also entered in the FIA GT and the Le Mans Series. Teams loyal to Porsche and private firms that had not yet raced with the RSRs were turning to the German machine. And success was not long in coming.

One 997 won the 2007 24 Hours of Le Mans in the GT2 category (with the IMSA Matmut team), giving the car its first major success on the international scene. Barely three months after its racing debut, it put up a remarkable performance to beat Ferrari and its F430 GTC, which was still the benchmark car of the time. Team Felbermayr-Proton won again at Le Mans in 2010, before the IMSA Performance Matmut team won for the last time in 2013 in the LMGTE Am class (with Raymond Narac/Jean-Karl Vernay/Christophe Bourret). The very last 997 seen at Le Mans competed in 2015. This marked nine years of presence there, an exceptionally long stretch.

The 997 RSR was built on a lightweight, widened chassis (based on the second generation of the 911 GT3 RS) using carbon parts with a welded roll bar. Carbon fibre and kevlar were used everywhere, from the front bumper panels and spoiler, wings and wheel arch liners to the widened side skirts. Weighing in at 1220 kg, the Porsche was fitted with a 3.8-litre engine developing 470 horsepower. The 997 GT3 RSR was upgraded in 2009, giving it a distinctive appearance compared with the earlier models. The car was easily identifiable by its new front end with large openings for cooling and ventilation ducts on the front bonnet. Its aerodynamics were improved and the engine size was increased to 4.0 litres.

A well-documented and accident-free racing history

One of the leaders since the launch of the Le Mans Series in the LM GT category, Thierry Perrier and his Perspective Racing firm, decided to stay with Porsche in 2007. But the 996-RSR they had previously raced was put back in the garage. Like all the other competitors, the Frenchman had to switch to a new 997 GT3-RSR. So he ordered a car from the Porsche works before the 2006-2007 winter. Of the 35 cars produced by the factory, Thierry Perrier received chassis N° WP0ZZZ99Z7S799917. Far from being a coincidence, this chassis was selected by the director/driver because it ended with 917, a truly inspirational number in the world of Porsches.

The car’s first race was at Monza. While the 1,000-kilometre race was won by the debutant Peugeot 908, the RSR in blue, yellow and white finished 24th. Anthony Beltoise, Philippe Hesnault and Nigel Smith took turns at the wheel. In the next race, at Valence, a transmission problem prevented the Porsche # 92 (a number chosen with reference to the Hauts de Seine department) from finishing the race. At the 1,000 kilometres of the Nürburgring, the car finished in 34th place overall. After a good qualifying session, Anthony Beltoise damaged his tyres on first braking due to a poorly adjusted brake balance. After the pit-stop, he started off again last but climbed halfway back up the rankings. Philippe Hesnault and Nigel Smith did a series of solid stints to finally finish in 8th place in the GT2 category. Then came a 28th place at Silverstone with Rob Barff and Pedro Névoa supporting Philippe Hesnault. Finally, the last race of the season, at Interlagos, saw Philippe Hesnault, John Hartshorne, Rob Barff and Thierry Perrier himself taking turns at the wheel.

The car was no longer entered for racing after that, except for an official test session on the Bugatti circuit in April 2009. For the occasion, 917 received the engine upgrade of the new model, being fitted with the new 4.0-litre engine. With the economic crisis raging and the 24 Hours of Le Mans Test Day being cancelled, a day was organized on the “small” Le Mans circuit for the Le Mans Series teams who wished to participate. The car was there to help Philippe Hesnault and Darryl O’Young prepare for their entry in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Thierry Perrier was in charge of technical support for the Endurance Asia Team’s Porsche 997 RSR # 75, the first car to take part under Chinese colours. While the idea was originally to enter chassis N° WP0ZZZ99Z7S799917 at the start of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, this was ruled out by the regulations, which required an air conditioning system to be installed. So, Thierry Perrier turned to Christian Ried's Proton Competition team and instead it was chassis N° WP0ZZZ99Z7S799918 that was entered for Le Mans. WP0ZZZ99Z7S799917 was also present at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, but in a tent, close to the team’s hospitality area. The two chassis are thus closely related. 

This is the reason why the current owner of WP0ZZZ99Z7S799917 decided to pay a tribute to this period by evoking the characteristic livery of the RSR seen at Le Mans in 2009 on the WP0ZZZ99Z7S799918. It had been painted red for the occasion with a stylized dragon evoking Chinese culture. It is this dragon in the form of a sticker on the white paint of the 917 which now calls to mind its sister car that was entered at Le Mans.

A planned participation in the Asian Le Mans Series with chassis 917 was announced at Le Mans, but was ultimately called off.

04/15/2007 – Monza – Le Mans Series – 24th Anthony Beltoise/Philippe Hesnault/Nigel Smith (N° 92)

05/06/2007 – Valence – Le Mans Series – 31st Anthony Beltoise/Philippe Hesnault/Nigel Smith (N° 92)

07/01/2007 – Nürburgring – Le Mans Series – 34th Anthony Beltoise/Philippe Hesnault/Nigel Smith (N° 92)

07/01/2007 – Silverstone – Le Mans Series – 28th Philippe Hesnault/Rob Barff/Pedro Névoa (N° 92)

07/01/2007 – Interlagos – Le Mans Series – unranked Philippe Hesnault/John Hartshorne/Rob Barff/Thierry Perrier (N° 92)

04/26/2009 – Le Mans – Le Mans Series – 15th Philippe Hesnault/Darryl O’Young (N° 75)

 

A winning return to the track with numerous victories since 2020

After being acquired by its current owner in early 2020, the 917 was prepared to the highest level with a clear goal: to win the GT2B Endurance Racing Legends Championship by Peter Auto. This ambitious goal was achieved in the first year. In 2021, it is again leading the Championship and chalked up a class win in the first 24 Hours of Le Mans support race.

Our offer is particularly advantageous because not only is the car capable of winning its category, but the package that comes with it is unique. The car is being sold with its own engine that has been overhauled by Porsche together with a second engine, also overhauled by Porsche. Both engines will therefore be at 100% of their potential. The car, which has enjoyed meticulous maintenance by the Porsche Centre in Tours, is therefore being sold in a fully overhauled state. A batch of interesting parts also comes with this 997 GT3 RSR. 

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

porsche 997 gt3 rsr for sale 1.JPG

2007 PORSCHE 997 GT3 RSR

 

Vainqueur du Championnat Endurance Racing Legends GT2B en 2020

Victoire de catégorie dans la course de support des 24 Heures du Mans 2021 

Préparée et entretenue par Porsche Tours

Le moteur de la voiture sort de révision de chez Porsche

Une second moteur sortant lui aussi de révision de chez Porsche

Lot de pièces intéressant pour courir

Un historique de course connu et sans accident

ELIGIBILITE
DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

ENDURANCE RACING LEGENDS by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

LE MANS 24 HOURS SUPPORT RACE

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES
PRIX SUR DEMANDE

Marque

PORSCHE

Modèle

993 GT3 RSR

Année

2007

No de châssis

Châssis

ACIER

Moteur

PORSCHE 3,996 l

Puissance

470 CH. @ 7200 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

PORSCHE 6 vitesses

Poids

1220 kg

Avec une victoire dès sa première édition des 24 Heures du Mans, la 997 RSR a d’emblée marqué de son empreinte le GT2, devenant une voiture de référence. 75 exemplaires furent produits au total, en prenant en compte toutes les évolutions apportées (la version originale de 2007, puis les « Evo » de 2008, 2011 et 2013). La 997 RSR a succédé à la 996 RSR, et a clairement ouvert la voie aux GT encore plus radicales de Porsche que l’on connaît aujourd’hui que sont les 911 RSR_19 et autres GT3-R. Ascott Collection propose aujourd’hui à la vente le châssis WP0ZZZ99Z7S799917, l’un des premiers à avoir été engagé dès 2007 par une équipe française. Une auto à l’historique de compétition connu et très compétitive en courses historiques : en 2020, elle a remporté le Championnat Endurance Racing Legends GT2B by Peter Auto et elle est en tête du Championnat cette année.

 

La 997 GT3 RSR, la réponse de Porsche à la montée en puissance de Ferrari

Pour faire face à la concurrence rude de Ferrari avec sa F430 GTC en 2006, Porsche se devait de réagir. Les 996 RSR avaient des difficultés à rivaliser, arrivées en fin de développement. C’est ainsi qu’en 2007, une nouvelle génération de Porsche GT faisait son apparition. Le moment était venu de décliner en version compétition la 997, proposée dans les concessions du constructeur depuis 2004 !

La 997 RSR débute en GT2 en 2007, avant de devenir ensuite une animatrice de la catégorie GTE à partir de 2011. La saison 2007 voyait la toute nouvelle 997 RSR débuter aux 12 Heures de Sebring. Pas moins de sept exemplaires étaient présents (avec les équipes Flying Lizard Motorsports, Rahal Letterman Racing, Tafel Racing, Team Trans Sport Racing et FarnbacherLoles Motorsports). En parallèle de cet engouement en American Le Mans Series (ALMS), c’est aussi en FIA GT et en Le Mans Series que des 997 RSR furent engagées. Les équipes fidèles à Porsche comme des structures privées qui n’avaient pas encore couru avec des RSR se tournent vers la machine allemande. Et les succès ne tardaient pas à venir. 

Un exemplaire remportait les 24 Heures du Mans 2007 en catégorie GT2 (équipe IMSA Matmut), offrant au modèle son premier grand succès sur la scène internationale. A peine trois mois après les débuts en compétition, la performance est remarquable face à Ferrari et sa F430 GTC pourtant la référence alors. Le Team Felbermayr-Proton l’emporta encore en Sarthe en 2010, avant que l’équipe IMSA Performance Matmut ne s’impose une dernière fois en 2013 en LMGTE Am (Raymond Narac / Jean-Karl Vernay / Christophe Bourret). La toute dernière 997 vue au Mans le sera en 2015. Neuf années de présence, belle longévité.

La 997 RSR repose sur châssis léger et élargi (basé sur la deuxième génération de la 911 GT3 RS) utilisant des pièces en carbone avec un arceau de sécurité soudé. Les fibres de carbone et le kevlar sont partout, des panneaux de pare-chocs avec spoiler à l’avant, des ailes et revêtements intérieurs de passage de roue en passant par les jupes latérales élargies. Avec 1 220 kg sur la balance, la Porsche embarque un moteur de 3,8 litres de cylindrée et 470 chevaux. La 997 GT3 RSR a reçu une évolution en 2009, qui permet de distinguer extérieurement les premiers modèles des suivants. Le véhicule est reconnaissable à sa nouvelle face avant avec de grandes ouvertures pour le refroidissement et des conduits de ventilation sur le capot avant. L'aérodynamisme a été amélioré et la cylindrée a été portée à 4,0 litres.

Un historique de course connu et sans accident

Animateur depuis le lancement des Le Mans Series de la catégorie LM GT, Thierry Perrier et sa structure Perspective Racing décident de continuer en 2007 à s’engager. Mais la 996-RSR utilisée précédemment est remise au garage. Comme tous les autres concurrents, le français doit basculer sur une nouvelle 997 GT3-RSR. C’est ainsi qu’il passe commande d’un exemplaire avant l’hiver 2006-2007 auprès de Porsche. Parmi les 35 unités produites par l’usine, Thierry Perrier reçoit le châssis WP0ZZZ99Z7S799917. Loin d’être un hasard, ce châssis a été sélectionné par le patron/pilote car il se termine par 917, nombre évocateur dans la galaxie Porsche.

La première course pour la voiture se déroule à Monza. Alors que l’épreuve de 1000 kilomètres est remportée par la Peugeot 908 débutante, la RSR aux couleurs bleues, jaunes et blanches, termine 24e. Anthony Beltoise, Philippe Hesnault et Nigel Smith se relaient à son volant. Lors de la course suivante, disputée à Valence, un problème de transmission ne permet pas à la Porsche #92 (nombre choisi en référence au département des Hauts de Seine) de voir l’arrivée. La voiture termine à la 34eplace au général lors des 1000 kilomètres du Nürburgring. Après une bonne qualification, Anthony Beltoise abime ses gommes au premier freinage à cause d’une balance des freins mal réglée. Repassé par les stands, il repart dernier mais remonte la moitié du peloton. Philippe Hesnault et Nigel Smith vont enchainer des relais solides pour finalement terminer à la 8e place du GT2. Vient ensuite une 28e place à Silverstone avec Rob Barff et Pedro Névoa pour épauler Philippe Hesnault. Enfin, l’ultime course de la saison, à Interlagos, voit Philippe Hesnault, John Hartshorne, Rob Barff et Thierry Perrier lui-même se relayer. 

La voiture ne sera ensuite plus engagée en compétition, à l’exception d’une séance d’essais officielle sur le circuit Bugatti en avril 2009. A cette occasion, 917 a reçu l’upgrade moteur du nouveau modèle. Elle bénéficie ainsi de la nouvelle motorisation de 4,0 litres. En pleine crise économique, et alors que la Journée Test des 24 Heures du Mans sera annulée, une journée dédié aux équipes Le Mans Series qui le souhaitent est organisée sur le « petit » circuit du Mans. La voiture est là, pour aider Philippe Hesnault et Darryl O’Young à préparer leur engagement aux 24 Heures du Mans. En effet, Thierry Perrier s’occupe du support technique de la Porsche 997 RSR #75 Endurance Asia Team, première voiture sous pavillon chinois à participer. Si l’idée était à l’origine d’engager le châssis WP0ZZZ99Z7S799917 au départ des 24 Heures du Mans, cela est rendu impossible par le règlement qui impose la présence d’un système de climatisation. Alors, Thierry Perrier se tourne vers l’équipe Proton Compétition de Christian Ried et c’est le châssis WP0ZZZ99Z7S799918 qui est engagé au Mans. WP0ZZZ99Z7S799917 est bien présent à l’occasion des 24 Heures du Mans, mais sous une tente, à proximité de l’hospitalité de l’équipe. Les deux châssis sont ainsi liés.

Voilà pourquoi l’actuel propriétaire de WP0ZZZ99Z7S799917 a voulu réaliser un clin d’œil à cette période en évoquant la livrée caractéristique de la RSR vue au Mans en 2009 (WP0ZZZ99Z7S799918). Le châssis qui était engagé aux 24 Heures du Mans avait été peint en rouge pour l’occasion avec un dragon stylisé évoquant la culture chinoise. C’est ce dragon réalisé en autocollant sur la peinture blanche de 917, qui évoque donc la voiture sœur engagée au Mans. 

Annoncée au Mans, une participation en Asian Le Mans Series était prévue avec le châssis 917 mais ne vit finalement pas le jour.

15/04/2007 - Monza – Le Mans Series – 24e Anthony Beltoise / Philippe Hesnault / Nigel Smith (n°92)
06/05/2007 - Valence – Le Mans Series – 31e Anthony Beltoise / Philippe Hesnault / Nigel Smith (n°92)
01/07/2007 - Nürburgring – Le Mans Series – 34e Anthony Beltoise / Philippe Hesnault / Nigel Smith (n°92)
01/07/2007 - Silverstone – Le Mans Series – 28e  Philippe Hesnault / Rob Barff / Pedro Névoa (n°92)
01/07/2007 - Interlagos – Le Mans Series – non-classée Philippe Hesnault / John Hartshorne / Rob Barff / Thierry Perrier (n°92)
26/04/2009 – Le Mans– Le Mans Series – 15e Philippe Hesnault / Darryl O’Young (n°75)

Un retour en piste gagnant avec de nombreuses victoires depuis 2020

Acquise début 2020 par son propriétaire actuel, 917 fut préparée au plus haut niveau avec un objectif clair : gagner le Championnat GT2B Endurance Racing Legends de Peter Auto. Cet objectif ambitieux fut atteint dès la première année. En 2021, elle est à nouveau en tête du Championnat et elle s’est emparée de la victoire de catégorie dans la première course de support des 24 Heures du Mans.

L’offre que nous vous proposons est particulièrement intéressante car la voiture est non seulement une voiture pour briguer la victoire de sa catégorie, mais le « package » qui est proposé est unique. La voiture est vendue avec son moteur révisé chez Porsche ainsi qu’un second moteur lui aussi sortant de révision de chez Porsche. Les deux moteurs seront donc à 100% de leur potentiel. La voiture qui bénéficie d’un entretien soigné par le Centre Porsche de Tours est donc vendue révisée. Un lot de pièces intéressantes accompagne cette 997 GT3 RSR.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon