porsche%20964%20carrera%20cup%20for%20sa

1991 PORSCHE 964 CARRERA CUP


A French 964 CARRERA CUP
Major work recently completed by a PORSCHE specialist

Eligible for Masters Endurance legends, Endurance Racing Legends, Daytona Classic & Le Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITY
VEHICULE ENQUIRY

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS

ENDURANCE RACING LEGENDS by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
PRICE

UPON REQUEST

Mark

PORSCHE

Model

964 CARRERA CUP

Year

1991

Chassis number

Frame

STEEL

Engine

PORSCHE 3.6 l

Power

255 CH. @ 7,000 RPM

Gearbox

PORSCHE 5 SPEED

The Porsche Carrera Cup, a success story!

The Porsche Carrera Cup, the best-known single-brand formula in the world of Grand Tourism racing, has existed since 1986! It was born in Germany, before the French version, the Porsche Carrera Cup France (PCCF for intimates), was introduced in 1987. Originally raced with Porsche 944 Turbo Cups, it brought the Porsche 911 into the spotlight in 1991. Since then, the rules have not changed, and the Porsche Carrera Cup France helps to bring out talented drivers, who often find themselves in the German manufacturer’s team during their career (Kevin Estre, Frédéric Makowiecki, Patrick Pilet, Julien Andlauer). Ascott Collection is today offering for sale a car that participated in the 1991 season, the very first of the Porsche 911s! This car, chassis WPOZZZ96ZMS409026, was entered for all of that season’s events.

The Cup, the first racing version of the 964

Based on the Porsche 911 type 964, the Cup version was developed for the inaugural season of the Porsche Carrera Cup in 1990. In addition to an 11-kW boost in engine power to 195 kW (and 265 hp for the M64/03), the 964 Cup was naturally fitted with a welded safety bar for improved safety, bucket seats and 6-point belts. The chassis was modified and the car had a 55 mm lower ground clearance than the standard version.

To reduce weight, Porsche stripped down the interior, thanks to race engineer Roland Kussmaul. Door panels, soundproofing elements and all the frills were taken out. A special plastic intake chamber - replacing the original aluminum one - was designed to gain 1.2 kg! The weight dropped to 120kg, making it the lightest 964 compared to the other racing versions that followed. With a full tank, the 964 Cup weighed only 1,180 kg, compared to 1,210 for a 964 Carrera RS 3.8, 1,220 kg for the 964 Carrera RS 3.6 and 1,295 kg for the eccentric and rare 964 turbo Leichtbau.

To make it even livelier, the Cup version of the 964 had its gear ratios modified (G50/10 gearbox) while the steering wasn’t assisted. The car was fitted with a catalytic converter and an ABS system. This was the configuration in which chassis WPOZZZ96ZMS409026 was assembled.

In 1990 and 1991, Porsche produced a total of 172 Carrera Cups, showing that this Formula attracted many drivers from the time it was launched.

The 1991 season of the Porsche Cup 964 chassis WPOZZZ96ZMS409026

At the beginning of April 1991, the Porsche Carrera Cup was the major novelty on the Nogaro circuit for the Easter Cups! The participants in this first edition included several well-known names, including Jean-Pierre Malcher, Jean-Pierre Beltoise, Jean-Pierre Jarier. Jean-Pierre Malcher won the title, in fact, ahead of Dominique Dupuy and André Bourdon. A number of well-known drivers tried out the 964 Cup in one or more of the season’s races. This was the case with René Arnoux, Paul Belmondo, Alain Cudini, Pierre de Thoisy, Alain and Michel Ferté and Jean-Pierre Jaussaud.  

The Porsche 964 Carrera Cup now being offered for sale was driven throughout the Porsche Carrera Cup France season by François Fiat (of the Equipe L. Jeanjean). At the end of the championship, he was placed 20th, with 13 points.

Owned for 16 years by the previous owner

François Fiat continued to race in this Porsche 964 Carrera Cup until at least 1994. It was then acquired by a certain Mr. Colin who kept it until 2003, when it was acquired by IMSA Performance in Rouen, the firm managed by Raymond Narac and Franck Rava. It was then sold to its current owner in 2019 after undergoing a major overhaul for a total of nearly 25,000 Euros (invoices available), carried out by IMSA Performance.

This Porsche 964 Carrera Cup is in a very good state of presentation and operation. It’s eligible for a very large number of historic races, in particular the Masters Endurance Legends in both Europe and the United States, the Endurance Racing Legends by Peter Auto, and the Le Mans Classic.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron

porsche%20964%20carrera%20cup%20for%20sa

1991 PORSCHE 964 CARRERA CUP

 

964 CARRERA CUP Française

Importants travaux réalisés récemment par un spécialiste PORSCHE

Eligible Masters Endurance legends, Endurance Racing Legends & Le Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITE
DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS

ENDURANCE RACING LEGENDS by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES
PRIX

SUR DEMANDE

Marque

PORSCHE

Modèle

964 CARRERA CUP

Année

1991

No de châssis

Châssis

ACIER

Moteur

PORSCHE 3,6 l 

Puissance

255 CH. @ 7 000 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

PORSCHE 5 VITESSES

La Carrera Cup, une success story!

Formule monomarque la plus connue aujourd’hui dans le monde du Grand Tourisme, la Porsche Carrera Cup existe depuis 1986 ! Elle est née en Allemagne, avant que la déclinaison française, la Porsche Carrera Cup France (PCCF pour les intimes) ne soit mise en place en 1987. Organisée à l’origine avec des Porsche 944 Turbo Cup, elle met en lumière à partir de 1991 la Porsche 911. Depuis, les règles n’ont pas changé, et la Porsche Carrera Cup France contribue à faire émerger des pilotes talentueux, qui se retrouvent souvent dans la filière du constructeur allemand au cours de leur carrière (Kevin Estre, Frédéric Makowiecki, Patrick Pilet, Julien Andlauer). Ascott Collection propose aujourd’hui à la vente un exemplaire qui a participé à la saison 1991, la toute première des Porsche 911 ! Cette voiture, châssis WPOZZZ96ZMS409026, fut engagée sur toutes les épreuves de la saison.

La Cup, première version course de la 964

Basée sur la Porsche 911 type 964, la version Cup est développée pour la saison inaugurale de Porsche Carrera Cup en 1990. En plus d'une augmentation de la puissance moteur de 11 kW pour atteindre 195 kW (soit 265 ch pour le M64/03), la 964 Cup reçoit évidement un arceau de sécurité soudé pour la sécurité, des sièges baquets et des ceintures à 6 points. Le châssis est modifié et l’auto dispose d’une garde au sol inférieure de 55 mm à celle de la version standard.

Pour réduire le poids, Porsche dépouille l’intérieur grâce à l'ingénieur de course Roland Kussmaul. Les panneaux de portes, les éléments pour l’insonorisation et toutes les fioritures disparaissent. Une chambre d'admission spéciale en plastique - au lieu de l'aluminium d'origine – est conçue pour gagner 1,2 kg ! Le poids chute à 1 120 kg, ce qui en fait la 964 la plus légère en comparaison avec les autres versions course qui suivront. Avec le plein, la 964 Cup ne pèse que 1 180 kg, contre 1 210 pour une 964 Carrera RS 3,8, 1 220 kg pour la 964 Carrera RS 3,6 et 1 295 kg pour l’excentrique et rare 964 turbo Leichtbau.

Pour qu’elle soit encore plus vive, la 964 a le droit en version Cup à des rapports de vitesse modifiés (boîte G50/10) tandis que la direction n'est pas assistée. Le véhicule était équipé d'un convertisseur catalytique et d'un système (ABS). C’est dans cette configuration que le châssis WPOZZZ96ZMS409026 a été assemblé.

En 1990 et 1991, Porsche a produit un total de 172 Carrera Cup, attestant que la Formule avait séduit de nombreux pilotes dès son lancement.

La saison 1991 de la Porsche Cup 964 châssis WPOZZZ96ZMS409026

Au début du mois d’avril 1991, la Porsche Carrera Cup est la grande nouveauté sur le circuit de Nogaro pour les Coupes de Pâques ! Parmi les engagés de cette première édition, on retrouve des noms connus : Jean-Pierre Malcher, Jean-Pierre Beltoise, Jean-Pierre Jarier sont là. Le premier nommé sera d’ailleurs titré devant Dominique Dupuy et André Bourdon. Des pilotes bien connus viendront s’essayer sur une ou plusieurs courses de la saison à cette 964 Cup. C’est le cas de René Arnoux, Paul Belmondo, Alain Cudini, Pierre de Thoisy, Alain et Michel Ferté ou encore Jean-Pierre Jaussaud.

La Porsche 964 Carrera Cup aujourd’hui proposée à la vente fut pilotée toute la saison de la Porsche Carrera Cup France par François Fiat (Equipe L. Jeanjean). Ce dernier a obtenu une 20e place finale au championnat, avec 13 points.

Conservée 16 ans par son précédent propriétaire

François Fiat a continué à courir au volant de cette Porsche 964 Carrera Cup au moins jusqu'en 1994. Elle fut ensuite acquise par un certain M Colin qui la conserva jusqu'en 2003 date à laquelle elle fut acquise par IMSA Performance à Rouen, la structure gérée par Raymond Narac et Franck Rava. Elle fut ensuite cédée à son propriétaire actuel en 2019 après avoir reçu d’importants travaux pour un total de près de 25 000 Euros (factures disponibles) réalisés par IMSA Performance.

Cette Porsche 964 Carrera Cup est dans un très bon état de présentation et de fonctionnement. Elle est éligible à un nombre très importants de courses historiques, en particulier en Masters Endurance Legends en Europe comme aux États-Unis, en Endurance Racing Legends by Peter auto et au Mans Classic.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron