Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2019

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

#historic race car for sale #historic racing car for sale #lmp for sale #group c for sale #lmp1 for sale #racecarsdirect #classicdriver #endurance legends for sale  #gt1 for sale #gt2 for sale

1987 PORSCHE 962 C

 

Ex Team Salamin

Restored - Ready to race

ELIGIBILITY
VEHICULE ENQUIRY

GROUP C RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
PRICE

ON REQUEST

PORSCHE

Marke

962 C

Model

1987

Year

962-131

Chassis number

UNIBODY ALUMINIUM

Chassis

KEVLAR CARBON FIBRE

Body

PORSCHE 2,8 LITRE TURBO AIR-WATER COOLED

Engine

750 HP @ 7 200 RPM

Power

PORSCHE

Gaerbox

920 KG

Weight

 

In the noble line of the Porsche models whose particular contribution to the car consructor’s legend was made at the Le Mans 24 Hours race and in endurance racing in general, the 962 holds a place of its own. It enabled Porsche to win the 24 Hours of Daytona five times, the 12 Hours of Sebring four times, the Le Mans 24 Hours twice (with the 1994 win on top), together with wins at Dijon, Monza, Watkins Glen, and so on… It’s even quite difficult to find a circuit where a Porsche 956/962 actually failed to sparkle!

 

It all started in the mid-80s. The Porsche 956, the victor at Le Mans from 1982 to 1985, was not considered safe enough to race in the United States according to the then governing body, the IMSA. Porsche therefore decided to create an American version of the 956, the 962. It was produced from 1984. The wheelbase was extended by 12 cm to accommodate the pedal set behind the the front wheel axis. The Porsche 962 was the US-only version with a single turbo, while the 962C was the 956 twin-turbo version. The 966 / 962C, the 956's so-called "big sister", found its place in a large number of events: in the GTP category of the IMSA GT Championship, in the Japan Sport-Prototypes Championship, in the German Supercup Championship, in the European Interseries Championship, or in the famous Sports Cars World Championship.

It was for these latter three championships that the chassis 962C-131 was intended. With a racing career spanning three years from 1987 to 1989, this private 962C has the distinction of having always raced in the same team colours, those of the Swiss Team Salamin. Antoine Salamin,a Swiss architect and racing-driver bought this 962C with the aim of entering it for several championships in Europe. He took delivery of it on September 11, 1987, and raced the car for the first time a month later. It was quite logically that he opted for a 962 chassis, faithful as he had always been to the creations of the German constructor. Having been seen at the wheel of the Porsche Carrera 2.7 RS, the Porsche Carrera 3.0 RS, the Porsche 930 Turbo, the Porsche 934, the Porsche 935, and later the Porsche 997 GT3 RS, he entered the 962C-131 for over thirty races.

 

The 962C-131’s first race appearance occurred in mid-October 1987, at Zeltweg. For the second appearance on this track during the Interseries season, Antoine Salamin was on the starting grid. After qualifing in 6th place, the Swiss finished at the same position in the first leg, then 8th in the second leg. A little more than a month later, the car was entered for the 500 km of Kyalami, which was a non-championship race at that time. In the two races organized over this week-end in South Africa, Antoine Salamin twice finished 8th. An encouraging start, which was soon to be confirmed. The reliable chassis 131 started to race all over Europe, accumulating the finishing points.

In 1988 and 1989, the car’s racing schedule was shared between the Sports Cars World Championship and the Interseries and Supercup championships. Entries were irregular, but thanks to many problem-free races, with only three retirements occurring in over 30 starts, the 962C-131 obtained a number of distinctions. The Swiss Team Salamin finished seventh in the 1988 Sports Cars World Championship, fourth in the Interseries championship of the same year, and sixth in the 1989 Supercup championship. Twice, the team attempted to qualify for the Le Mans 24 Hours, but failed to secure a place on the grid during the practice sessions...

 

From 1987 to 1989, Antoine Salamin took the wheel for every single race! He was joined for some races by Giovanni Lavaggi, Jean-Denis Deletraz, the experienced Max Cohen-Olivar, or Hellmut Numdas. The 962C-131 went into retirement at the Mexico City race in 1989. During practice, it was damaged in a collision with Patrick Tambay. The Swiss team then turned to another 962C (chassis 157) for the 1990 and 1991 seasons. The 962C-131 was sold in Sweden in 1990, then returned to France, where it belonged to Pierre Landereau who kept it for about ten years before selling it to its current owner in 2010.  

 

The latter undertook a complete overhaul of the car, starting with the chassis. A complete file of photos and invoices was compiled during the restoration work. In 2016, the car raced its first laps at the Le Mans Classic and the Dix Mille Tours of Le Castellet. It has thus only raced for 3 hours since completion of the overhaul. The crack test and the tank will be redone before the car is delivered to its next owner.

The 962C-131 is one of the most reliable of all the Group C Porsches, and is eligible for all the historic events reserved for Group C, including the Le Mans Classic.

The car can be viewed by appointment in our premises.

 

Racing History

11/10/1987 - Zeltweg II - Interseries Championship - 6th / 8th

28/11/1987 - 500 km of Kyalami – non-championship race  - 8th / 8th

06/03/1988 - 800 km of Jerez - Sports Cars World Championship - 9th

13/03/1988 - 360 km of Jarama - Sports Cars World Championship - 15th

03/04/1988 - Hungaroring - Interseries Championship - 4th / 3rd

10/04/1988 - Monza - Sports Cars World Championship - 9th

24/04/1988 - Hockenheim - Interseries Championship - 5th / 7th

08/05/1988 - Silverstone - Sports Cars World Championship - 7th

29/05/1988 - Hockenheim - Supercup Championship - 9th

12/06/1988 - Le Mans 24 Hours - Sports Cars World Championship - NQ

26/06/1988 - Norisring - Supercup Championship - 8th

10/07/1988 - Brno - Sports Cars World Championship - 9th

07/24/1988 - Brands Hatch - Sports Cars World Championship - 7th

31/07/1988 - Zeltweg - Interseries Championship - 4th / 3rd

07/08/1988 - Diepholz - Supercup Championship - 10th

14/08/1988 - Most - Interseries Championship - 3rd / 3rd

04/09/1988 - Nürburgring - Sports Cars World Championship - 10th

18/09/1988 - Spa - Sports Cars World Championship - 7th

20/11/1988 - 360 km of Sandown - Sports Cars World Championship - DNF

26/11/1988 - 500 km of Kyalami - non-championship race 

30/04/1989 - Nürburgring - Supercup Championship - 6th

14/05/1989 - Silverstone - Supercup Championship - 7th

21/05/1989 - 480 km of Dijon - Sports Cars World Championship - 22nd

11/06/1989 - Le Mans 24 Hours - Sports Cars World Championship - NQ

18/06/1989 - Zeltweg - Interseries Championship - 7th and 3rd

25/06/1989 - Norisring - Supercup Championship - 9th

09/07/1989 - Wunstorf - Interseries Championship - 5th / DNF

23/07/1989 - Brands Hatch - Sports Cars World Championship - DNF

20/08/1989 - Nürburgring - Sports Cars World Championship - DNF

03/09/1989 - Donington - Sports Cars World Championship - 16th

17/09/1989 - Spa Cups - Sports Cars World Championship - 16th

24/09/1989 - Nürburgring - Supercup Championship - 11th

29/10/1989 - Mexico City - Sports Cars World Championship - non-starter - Accident during qualifications

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2019

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

#historic race car for sale #historic racing car for sale #lmp for sale #group c for sale #lmp1 for sale #racecarsdirect #classicdriver #endurance legends for sale  #gt1 for sale #gt2 for sale

1987 PORSCHE 962 C

 

Ex Team Salamin

Restaurée - Prête à courir

ELIGIBILITE
DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

GROUP C RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES
PRIX

SUR DEMANDE

PORSCHE

Marque

962 C

Modèle

1987

Année

962-131

No de châssis

ALUMINIUM

Châssis

KEVLAR CARBONE

Carrosserie

PORSCHE 2,8 LITRES BI-TURBO AIR-EAU

Moteur

750 CH. @ 7 200 T/MIN

Puissance

PORSCHE

Boite de vitesse

920 KG

Poids

 

Dans la lignée des Porsche qui ont contribué à la légende du constructeur aux 24 Heures du Mans et plus généralement en endurance, la 962 tient une place particulière. Elle a permis à Porsche de décrocher cinq succès aux 24 Heures de Daytona, quatre aux 12 Heures de Sebring, deux aux 24 Heures du Mans (ainsi que la victoire de 1994), ou encore des succès à Dijon, Monza, Watkins Glen… Difficile de trouver un circuit sur lequel une Porsche 956/962 n’a pas brillé !

 

Tout commence au milieu des années 80. La Porsche 956, victorieuse en Sarthe de 1982 à 1985, n’était pas considérée comme assez sûre pour rouler aux Etats-Unis selon le législateur, l’IMSA. Porsche décida alors de créer une version américaine de la 956, la 962. Elle fut produite à partir de 1984. L’empattement fut allongé de 12 cm, afin de permettre de loger le pédalier derrière l'axe des roues avant. La Porsche 962 était la version destinée aux Etats-Unis avec un simple turbo, tandis que la 962C était la version avec le moteur double turbo de la 956. La 962/962C, sorte de « grande sœur » de la 956, trouva sa place dans de nombreuses épreuves. En Championnat IMSA GT en catégorie GTP, en Championnat du Japon de Sport-Prototypes ou encore en Supercup, en Intersérie, et dans le fameux Championnat du monde des voitures de sport.

 

C’est vers ces trois derniers championnats que le châssis 962C #131 s’est destiné. Engagée sur trois années, de 1987 à 1989, cette 962C privée possède la particularité d’avoir toujours pris le départ aux couleurs de la même équipe, le Swiss Team Salamin. C’est en effet Antoine Salamin, architecte et pilote automobile suisse, qui achète cette 962C en vue de l’engager en Europe, dans plusieurs championnats. Il est livré le 11 septembre 1987, et fera débuter l’auto un mois plus tard. Ce pilote se tourna logiquement vers un châssis de 962, lui qui était un fidèle des créations de la marque allemande. Vu au volant de Porsche Carrera 2,7 RS, Porsche Carrera 3,0 RS, Porsche Turbo 930, Porsche 934, Porsche 935, et plus tard Porsche 997 GT3 RS, il engagea la 962C #131 sur plus d’une trentaine d’épreuves.

La première apparition en course de la 962C #31 est à noter à la mi-octobre 1987, à Zeltweg. Pour la seconde venue sur ce tracé lors de la saison d’Intersérie, Antoine Salamin est au départ. Qualifié au 6e rang, le Suisse termine à cette position lors de la première manche, puis 8e lors de la seconde manche. Un peu plus d’un mois plus tard, la voiture est engagée pour les 500 km de Kyalami, course alors hors-championnat. Pour les deux courses organisées lors de ce week-end en Afrique du Sud, Antoine Salamin décroche par deux fois la 8e place. Des débuts encourageants, qui vont se confirmer. Fiable, le châssis #131 va sillonner l’Europe et collectionner les arrivées dans les points.

En 1988 et 1989, le programme va alterner entre Championnat du monde des voitures de sport, Intersérie et Supercup. Les participations sont irrégulières, mais grâce à des courses sans problème, avec seulement trois abandons à noter en plus de 30 départs, le châssis 962C #31 obtient quelques distinctions. Le Swiss Team Salamin est ainsi 7e en Championnat du monde des voitures de sport en 1988, 4e de l’Intersérie la même année, ou encore 6e en Supercup en 1989. Par deux fois, l’équipe tente de se qualifier aux 24 Heures du Mans, mais ne parvient pas à décrocher sa place lors des essais…

 

A son volant, de 1987 à 1989, Antoine Salamin dispute toutes les courses ! Il est rejoint selon les épreuves par Giovanni Lavaggi, Jean-Denis Deletraz, l’expérimenté Max Cohen-Olivar, ou encore Hellmut Numdas. La 962C châssis 131 prend sa retraite lors de la manche de Mexico, en 1989. Aux essais, elle est endommagée suite à un contact avec Patrick Tambay. L’équipe suisse se tournera alors vers un autre châssis 962C (#157) pour les saisons 1990 et 1991.

 

Vendue dès 1990 en Suède, puis revenue en France, elle a appartenu à Pierre Landereau qui l’a conservée une dizaine d’années avant de la céder à son propriétaire actuel en 2010.

Ce dernier a entrepris une restauration complète de la voiture depuis le châssis. Un dossier de photos et de factures a été constitué durant cette restauration. En 2016, la voiture a fait ses premiers tours de roues au Mans Classic ainsi qu’au Dix Mille Tours du Castellet. Elle n’a donc roulé que 3 heures depuis la finalisation de sa restauration. Le crack test et le réservoir seront refaits avant livraison de la voiture à son prochain propriétaire.

962C #131 compte parmi les plus fiables des Porsche Groupe C, et est éligible à toutes les épreuves historiques du Groupe C, dont Daytona Classic, Sebring Classic, Spa Classic etc...et Le Mans Classic.

 

Historique de course

11/10/1987 – Zeltweg II – Intersérie – 6e / 8e
28/11/1987 - 500 km de Kyalami - hors-championnat – 8e / 8e
06/03/1988 – 800 km Jerez - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport – 9e
13/03/1988 - 360 km Jarama - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - 15e
03/04/1988 - Hungaroring - Intersérie – 4e / 3e
10/04/1988 - Monza - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - 9e
24/04/1988 - Hockenheim – Intersérie – 5e / 7e
08/05/1988 - Silverstone - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - 7e
29/05/1988 – Hockenheim – Supercup – 9e
12/06/1988 – 24 Heures du Mans - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport – NQ
26/06/1988 – Norisring – Supercup - 8e
10/07/1988 - Brno - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - 9e
24/07/1988 - Brands Hatch - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - 7e
31/07/1988 - Zeltweg - Intersérie – 4e / 3e
07/08/1988 - Diepholz  - Supercup – 10e
14/08/1988 - Most - Intersérie  - 3e / 3e
04/09/1988 - Nürburgring - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - 10e
18/09/1988 - Spa - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - 7e
20/11/1988 - 360 km Sandown - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport – DNF
26/11/1988 – 500 km Kyalami - hors-championnat
30/04/1989 - Nürburgring – Supercup - 6e
14/05/1989 - Silverstone - Supercup - 7e
21/05/1989 – 480 km Dijon - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport – 22e
11/06/1989 - 24 Heures du Mans - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport – NQ
18/06/1989 - Zeltweg - Intersérie – 7e et 3e
25/06/1989 – Norisring – Supercup - 9e
09/07/1989 – Wunstorf – Intersérie – 5e / DNF
23/07/1989 - Brands Hatch - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport – DNF
20/08/1989 - Nürburgring - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport – DNF
03/09/1989 - Donington - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - 16e
17/09/1989 - Coupes de Spa - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - 16e
24/09/1989 - Nürburgring – Supercup – 11e
29/10/1989 – Mexico - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport – non-partant - accident en qualifications.