2011 PEUGEOT 908 V8 HDI FAP LMP1

 

Winner of the 6 Hours of Zhuhai in 2011

The ultimate evolution of the Peugeot 908 
Overhauled by Peugeot Sport

VEHICULE ENQUIRY
TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

PEUGEOT

Mark

908 V8 HDI FAP

Model

CARBON MONOCOQUE

Frame

908-07

Chassis number

CARBON

Body

PEUGEOT V8 HDI FAP 3,695 L DIESEL

Engine

550 HP.

Power

PEUGEOT - RICARDO SEQUENTIAL

Gearbox

900 KG

Weight

PRICE

ON REQUEST

ASCOTT COLLECTION is particularly proud to offer for sale the Peugeot 908 V8 HDI FAP chassis 908-07

 

The first-generation 908 - launched in 2007 - has fulfilled its mission: to make the brand shine at Le Lion en Sarthe and offer it a new success, beating Audi. But after four years and four attempts, Peugeot failed to completely supplant the four-ring team and its domination at Le Mans. The victory alone (2009) is not enough. A new design that takes into account the regulatory constraints dictated by the Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO) is therefore essential for 2011. Thus was born the 90X project, Peugeot's response to produce an even more accomplished 908, capable of winning again everywhere, and especially at Le Mans.

 

The 908-07 chassis is one of the last two to enter competition in 2011 before Peugeot withdraws at the start of 2012. With only one race to its name, the final competitive outing for a 908, the 908 07 chassis is the culmination of Peugeot's endurance programme. The model heralded the transition to the hybrid, which in the end never took place. A unique collector's car, a masterpiece of modern endurance racing.

Peugeot 90X, a preparation in the shade

Since 2008, Peugeot has made no secret of its ambition to continue its long-term commitment to endurance racing by taking up the challenge of hybridisation. For from 2012, the ACO wants to allow competitors to compete in LMP1 with a modest but sufficient hybrid system to open up a new era, radically more modern and technological. Peugeot presented a draft 908 hybrid at Silverstone in 2008. With the very first 908 HDI FAP chassis (908-01), Peugeot Sport delivers a "demonstrator" and shows its desire. But it seems obvious that if there is a 908 hybrid, it will be around a brand new car.

 

The work is launched in the shadows, in parallel with the competition programme. At Vélizy, a new 908 is being prepared for the day after the 2009 Le Mans 24 Hours. It was in November 2010 that official pictures of the car, still called 90X, were shown for the first time. Peugeot is running this car at Monza with a decoration directly modelled on the 908 entered in Le Mans in 2010. But this trompe l'oeil doesn't work in front of the most seasoned eyes. Because this 90X is indeed a different car.

 

Many changes on the 90X are subtle, other evolutions are more obvious. All the modifications are part of a single objective: to build a new Peugeot capable of winning Le Mans in 2011, then to receive a hybrid system in 2012. Audi, with its R18 TDi, follows exactly the same logic. Bruno Famin confirms this choice[i]. "In September 2008 (with the first hybrid prototype) we simply grafted a battery and an electric motor onto a 908 HDi FAP. For the whole thing to be effective in competition, we have to go much further. Unlike its predecessor, the new 908 is designed to accommodate an SREC.

 

One of the most notable differences on the 90X compared to the first 908 is the appearance of an air intake for engine cooling on top of the cockpit. The layout and design is reminiscent of the Toyota GT-One. This air intake is followed by the appearance of a "shark fin" on the rear hood. The 90X thus complies with the 2011 ACO regulations, which aim to stabilize cars in the event of an accident and prevent them from taking off. As an extension of this air intake and shark fin assembly, we notice rear aileron supports that now support the plane from above instead of from below.

 

But that's not all. The front evolves. The nose seems narrower, but it changes mostly in length. On the first 908, the nose was protruding from the front wheel fairings. It's much more contained on the 90X. In addition to the front section of the car, which is higher than before, the pontoons have been redesigned to optimize airflow. As a result, with a revised air distribution, we notice that the air periscopes for the turbos have also been largely modified. At Peugeot Sport, we like to say that, with the exception of the windscreen, no parts are common between the first-generation 908 and this 90X, officially christened the 908 in January 2011.

Peugeot 908 (2011), from V12 to V8

With this new 908, Peugeot goes from V12 to V8. A change imposed by the regulations which require a reduction in power.

 

The new engine runs for the first time on 25 January 2010 in Vélizy. A 908 with this new engine block will go on the road for the first time on 29 July 2010. This new V8 is... quite close to the V12! The V8 turbo-diesel has characteristics close to the V12 used previously, but its angle has been reduced to 90° (100° for the V12) for balancing reasons. This 3.7-litre V8 HDi FAP produces 550 horsepower.

 

While the new regulations have imposed new engines with reduced displacement, Peugeot has chosen the V8, Audi the V6. The two engines then had the same 3.7-litre displacement, but the Audi engine had the advantage of being shorter (ideal for better weight distribution and a better layout in the chassis). Smaller and lighter... and more open: Audi decided to open the angle of the V as much as possible (120°), as opposed to Peugeot.

 

The two turbochargers of the Peugeot 908 are positioned on the periphery of the V8, unlike Audi which, on its R18, houses the only turbo between the two rows of cylinders. To better transmit the power of the new V8, Peugeot asked its partner Michelin to develop a range of specific tires.

 

All these differences show just how very different the technical choices made at the time were, and yet they resulted in a superb struggle.

2011, the final season of the Audi-Peugeot duel

After a first ILMC season of only three races in 2010, and an already intense clash against Audi since 2007 (in the Le Mans Series and American Le Mans Series), 2011 sounds like a culmination. Peugeot wanted to make 2011 the year of success. The result was impressive: Peugeot won six out of seven races, leaving only the classic Mancelle.

 

It all started at Sebring. If it's a new 908 which takes pole position, the lap record and a fine third place in the final, it's a 2010 model which wins. Hughes de Chaunac's Oreca team took advantage of reliable equipment against brand new 908s and Audi R15+s at the end of their lives (the new R18 TDi only debuted at Spa-Francorchamps). In Belgium, this time it was the official 908s that took the lead. The new Peugeot 908 scored its first double. This final rehearsal before Le Mans gave the French brand a glimpse of things to come. The R18 TDi never seemed capable of competing.

 

Then came Le Mans. The 2011 edition was so intense, with a 13.854-second gap between the winning Audi R18 TDI and the N°9 Peugeot 908 on the finishing line. The French carmaker dominated the first part of the race but failed to overcome the Treluyer-Fässler-Lotterer trio, which was beginning its legendary run. But the three official 908s were at the finish, proof that the development of this new Peugeot has been serious. In contrast to the catastrophe of 2010 (with four retirements), the new Peugeot 908 is of exemplary reliability. Le Mans was lost, but the battle became part of the event's legend.

 

At Imola, after the Le Mans 24 Hours, Peugeot scored another double. Sébastien Bourdais and Anthony Davidson opened their joint victory record, which ended in Zhuhai with the 908-07. After Italy, Peugeot heads for the United Kingdom with Silverstone. Simon Pagneaud and Sébastien Bourdais give Peugeot another victory. Only one Audi R18 is on the podium, with the surprising Oak Pescarolo LMP1 on the last step.

 

At Le Petit Le Mans, Peugeot scored twice with the victorious 2011 version of the 908 (Montagny, Sarrazin, Wurz), ahead of the 2010 908 entrusted to the Oreca team. Zhuhai will be the ultimate race, the ultimate victory. A full season, with Le Mans as the only one missing.


Zhuhai 2011, jubilee of the 908, victory of the 908-07

The round in Zhuhai, China, marks the end of the 2011 season. Peugeot is arriving there with the ambition of triumphing in a commercially important country. But the stakes are lower in sporting terms. Indeed, thanks to its victory at Petit Le Mans in October, Peugeot Sport has already won the Manufacturers' championship.

 

This probably explains why two completely new chassis have been entered for this final race. The N°7 chassis of Sébastien Bourdais and Anthony Davidson is the 908-07. The N°8 of Franck Montagny and Stéphane Sarrazin is the 908-08. Both will become the last Peugeot 908s to be seen in competition. The idea is to have these two new 908s as a real working base, the fruit of all that has been learnt in one season, in order to prepare for 2012. Before the start, Bruno Famin explains: "The 908s will feature a number of relatively minor technical evolutions, in terms of suspension, steering and brakes, a slight modification to the car's chassis, which will make it easier to drive.

ascott collection

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2020

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron

2011 PEUGEOT 908 V8 HDI FAP LMP1

 

Vainqueur des 6 Heures de Zhuhai en 2011

L'ultime évolution de la Peugeot 908 

Révisée par Peugeot Sport

DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS
CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

PEUGEOT

Marque

908 V8 HDI FAP

Modèle

908-07

Numéro de Châssis

MONOCOQUE CARBONE

Châssis

CARBONE

Carrosserie

PEUGEOT V8 HDI FAP 3,695 L DIESEL

Moteur

550 CH.

Puissance

PEUGEOT - RICARDO SEQUENTIELLE

Boite de vitesse

900 KG

Poids

PRIX

SUR DEMANDE

ASCOTT COLLECTION est particulièrement fiers de proposer à la vente la Peugeot 908 V8 HDI FAP  châssis 908-07.

La 908 de première génération – lancée en 2007 - a rempli sa mission : faire briller la marque au Lion en Sarthe et lui offrir un nouveau succès, en battant Audi. Mais après quatre ans et quatre tentatives, Peugeot n'est pas parvenu à supplanter totalement l'équipe des quatre anneaux et sa domination au Mans. La seule victoire (2009) ne suffit pas. Un nouveau design tenant compte des contraintes réglementaires dictées par l'Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO) s’impose alors pour 2011. Ainsi naît le projet 90X, la réponse de Peugeot pour produire une 908 encore plus aboutie, capable de gagner à nouveau partout, et notamment au Mans.

 

Le châssis 908-07 est l’un des deux derniers engagés en compétition en 2011 avant le retrait de Peugeot, début 2012. Avec une seule course à son palmarès, l’ultime sortie d’une 908 en compétition, cette 908 châssis 07 constitue l’aboutissement du programme Peugeot en endurance. Le modèle annonçait la transition vers l’hybride, qui n’eut finalement jamais lieu. Une voiture de collection unique, une pièce maîtresse de l’endurance moderne.

 

Peugeot 90X, une préparation dans l’ombre

Dès 2008, Peugeot ne cache pas son ambition de continuer à s’engager en endurance dans la durée, en relevant le défi de l’hybridation. Car à partir de 2012, l’ACO veut autoriser les concurrents à se battre en LMP1 avec un système hybride modeste mais suffisant pour ouvrir une nouvelle ère, radicalement plus moderne et technologique. Peugeot présente une ébauche de 908 hybride à Silverstone, en 2008. Avec le tout premier châssis de 908 HDI FAP (908-01), Peugeot Sport livre un « démonstrateur » et montre son envie. Mais il apparait évident que si 908 hybride il y a, cela sera autour d’une toute nouvelle voiture.

 

Le travail est lancé dans l’ombre, en parallèle du programme compétition. A Vélizy, on prépare une nouvelle 908 dès le lendemain des 24 Heures du Mans 2009. C’est en novembre 2010 que l’on découvre pour la première fois des images officielles de celle qui est encore baptisée 90X. Peugeot fait rouler cette voiture à Monza avec une décoration directement calquée sur la 908 engagée au Mans en 2010. Mais ce trompe l’œil ne fonctionne pas face aux regards les plus aguerris. Car cette 90X est bien une voiture différente.

 

Beaucoup de changements sur la 90X sont subtils, d’autres évolutions sont plus évidentes. Toutes les modifications participent à un seul objectif : construire une nouvelle Peugeot capable de gagner Le Mans en 2011, puis de recevoir un système hybride en 2012. Audi, avec sa R18 TDi, suit exactement la même logique. Bruno Famin confirme ce choix[i]. « En septembre 2008 (avec le premier prototype hybride) nous avions simplement greffé une batterie et un moteur électrique sur une 908 HDi FAP. Pour que l’ensemble soit efficace en compétition, il faut aller beaucoup plus loin. Contrairement à sa devancière, la nouvelle 908 est conçue pour accueillir un SREC ».

 

L'une des différences les plus notables sur la 90X en comparaison avec la première 908 est l’apparition d’une prise d’air pour le refroidissement moteur sur le dessus du cockpit. Une implantation et un dessin qui évoquent la Toyota GT-One. Cette prise d’air est suivie par l’apparition d’un « aileron de requin » sur le capot arrière. La 90X répond ainsi à la réglementation ACO 2011 qui vise à stabiliser les voitures en cas d’accident et éviter tout décollage. Dans le prolongement de cet ensemble prise d’air et aileron de requin, on remarque des supports d’aileron arrière qui soutiennent désormais le plan par le haut et non plus par le bas.

 

Mais ce n’est pas tout. L’avant évolue. Le nez semble plus étroit, mais il change surtout de longueur. Sur la 908 première du nom, le nez dépassait des carénages de roues avant. Il est bien plus contenu sur la 90X. Outre la section avant de la voiture qui est plus haute qu’auparavant, les pontons ont été remodelés pour optimiser la circulation de l’air. En conséquence, avec une distribution de l’air revue, on remarque que les périscopes d’air pour les turbos ont aussi été largement modifiés. Chez Peugeot Sport, on aime alors dire qu’à l’exception du pare-brise, aucune pièce n’est commune entre la 908 de première génération et cette 90X, baptisée officiellement 908 en janvier 2011.

 

Peugeot 908 (2011), du V12 au V8

Avec cette nouvelle 908, Peugeot passe du V12 au V8. Un changement imposé par la réglementation qui impose une réduction de la puissance.

 

Le nouveau moteur tourne pour la première fois le 25 janvier 2010 à Vélizy. C’est le 29 juillet 2010 qu’une 908 embarquant ce nouveau bloc roulera pour la première fois. Ce nouveau V8 est… assez proche du V12 ! Le V8 turbo diesel possède des caractéristiques proches du V12 utilisé auparavant mais son angle a été ramené à 90° (100° pour le V12) pour des questions d’équilibrage. Ce V8 HDi FAP d’une cylindrée de 3,7 litres développe 550 chevaux.

 

Si le nouveau règlement a imposé de nouveaux moteurs à la cylindrée réduite, Peugeot a choisi le V8, Audi le V6. Les deux moteurs avaient alors la même cylindrée de 3,7 litres, mais le moteur Audi avait l'avantage d'être plus court (idéal pour une meilleure répartition des masses et une meilleure implantation dans le châssis). Plus petit et léger… et plus ouvert : Audi a décidé d’ouvrir au maximum l’angle du V (120°), par opposition à Peugeot.

 

Les deux turbos de la Peugeot 908 sont positionnés en périphérie du V8, contrairement à Audi qui, sur sa R18, loge l’unique turbo entre les deux rangées de cylindres. Pour mieux transmettre la puissance du nouveau V8, Peugeot demande à son partenaire Michelin de développer une gamme de pneus spécifiques.

 

Toutes ces différences montrent à quel point les choix techniques réalisés alors furent très différents, et aboutirent pourtant à une superbe lutte.

 

2011, la saison ultime du duel Audi-Peugeot

Après une première saison ILMC de trois courses seulement en 2010, et un affrontement déjà intense depuis 2007 face à Audi (en Le Mans Series et American Le Mans Series), 2011 sonne comme un aboutissement. Peugeot voulait faire de 2011 l’année des succès. Le résultat fut impressionnant : Peugeot a remporté six courses sur sept, ne laissant échapper que la classique mancelle.

 

Tout a débuté à Sebring. Si c’est bien une nouvelle 908 qui décroche la pole position, le record du tour et une belle 3e place finale, c’est un modèle de 2010 qui s’impose. L’équipe Oreca de Hughes de Chaunac a profité d’un matériel fiabilisé face à des 908 toutes neuves et des Audi R15+ en fin de vie (la nouvelle R18 TDi ne débutant qu’à Spa-Francorchamps). En Belgique justement, ce sont cette fois les 908 officielles qui ont pris la main. La nouvelle Peugeot 908 signait là un premier doublé. Cette ultime répétition avant Le Mans laissait entrevoir de belles choses pour la marque française. Car jamais les R18 TDi n’ont semblé capables de rivaliser.

 

Puis vint Le Mans. On se souvient de cette édition 2011 si intense, avec 13’’854 secondes d’écart sur la ligne d’arrivé entre la Audi R18 TDI vainqueur et la Peugeot 908 n°9. Dominateur de la première partie de l’épreuve, le constructeur français n’est pas parvenu à mater le trio Tréluyer-Fässler-Lotterer, qui débutait sa légende. Mais les trois 908 officielles étaient à l’arrivée, preuve que le développement de cette nouvelle Peugeot a été sérieux. Par opposition à la catastrophe de 2010 (avec quatre abandons), la nouvelle Peugeot 908 est d’une fiabilité exemplaire. Le Mans perdu, mais la bataille est rentrée dans la légende de l’épreuve.

 

A Imola, après les 24 Heures du Mans, Peugeot signe un nouveau doublé. Sébastien Bourdais et Anthony Davidson ouvrent leur compteur de victoires en commun, qui se clôturera à Zhuhai avec la 908-07. Après l’Italie, direction le Royaume-Uni avec Silverstone. Simon Pagneaud et Sébastien Bourdais offrent encore une victoire à Peugeot. Une seule Audi R18 est sur le podium, avec sur la dernière marche la surprenante Oak Pescarolo LMP1.

 

Au Petit Le Mans, doublé Peugeot avec la 908 version 2011 victorieuse (Montagny, Sarrazin, Wurz), devant la 908 de 2010 confiée à l’équipe Oreca. Zhuhai sera l’ultime course, l’ultime victoire. Une saison pleine, avec Le Mans comme seul manque.

Zhuhai 2011, jubilée de la 908, victoire de la 908-07

La manche de Zhuhai, en Chine, marque la fin de saison 2011. Peugeot y débarque en ayant l’ambition de triompher sur une terre importante sur le plan commercial. Mais, sportivement, les enjeux sont moindre. En effet, grâce à la victoire décrochée en octobre au Petit Le Mans, Peugeot Sport a déjà conquis le titre de champion des constructeurs.

 

C’est ce qui explique sans doute l’engagement de deux châssis totalement neufs pour cette ultime course. La n°7 de Sébastien Bourdais et Anthony Davidson est le châssis 908-07. La n°8 de Franck Montagny et Stéphane Sarrazin est la 908-08. Toutes les deux deviendront les dernières Peugeot 908 vues en compétition. L’idée est d’avoir avec ces deux nouvelles 908 une vraie base de travail, fruit de tout ce qui a été appris en une saison, afin de préparer 2012. Avant le départ, Bruno Famin explique : « Les 908 présenteront quelques évolutions techniques relativement mineures, au niveau des suspensions, de la direction et des freins, un peu plus importantes au niveau du moteur »

 

En 1’21’’769, Anthony Davidson décroche la pole position avec le châssis 07. Il améliore au passage le temps de la pole position de Zhuhai en 2010.

 

Sébastien Bourdais prend le départ depuis la première place et tient la tête, chassé par les deux Audi R18 dès le premier virage. Après la première demi-heure de course, le natif du Mans doit céder à la faveur d’un trafic intense. Peugeot reprenait le commandement lors de la deuxième salve de ravitaillements. L’Audi R18 n°2 était ralentie par des problèmes techniques – après une collision avec la Lola-Toyota du Rebellion Racing - et le faisceau électrique était touché. Abandon. Marcel Fässler et Timo Bernhard, associés sur la R18 n°1, ne pouvaient suivre le rythme infernal des 908.

 

Alors, Sébastien Bourdais et Anthony Davidson remportent les 6 Heures de Zhuhai. Les deux hommes cumulent ainsi trois victoires chacun dont deux acquises en commun (Imola et cette course de Zhuhai). Peugeot clôturait sa saison 2011 avec un sixième succès en sept courses (Le Mans restera la seule défaite). On ne se doutait pas alors que cette victoire serait la dernière de cette folle épopée, et la dernière apparition d’une 908 en compétition.

 

La 908-07 s’est imposée pour sa seule et unique course. Une situation inédite. La voiture est à considérer comme l’aboutissement de la lignée des 908. Elle cumule toutes les évolutions techniques possibles de la 908 version 2011.

Elle fut entièrement révisée par PEUGEOT SPORT et livrée à son propriétaire en octobre 2017 à l’issue d’un roulage de test. Depuis cette date, le PEUGEOT 908 07 n’a pas roulé. Elle est désormais disponible à la vente avec un lot de pièces important. 

 

[i] https://www.lemans.org/fr/news/la-peugeot-908-hybride-a-l-etude/2832

ascott collection

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2020

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron