top of page
2O9A5545_edited.png

1990 NISSAN R90CP

PART OF THE ASCOTT COLLECTION - NOT AVAILABLE FOR SALE

  • 24 hours of Le Mans in 1989 & 1990

  • Time Capsule car: Car preserved untouched after its last race at the Fuji 500 km in 1991

  • Direct from the Nissan Heritage Collection in Japan

ELIGIBILITY

TECHNICAL CHARACTERISTICS

GROUP C RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

GULF CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

Mark

NISSAN

Model

R90CP

Year

1990

Chassis No.

R89C-01

Frame

CARBON

Engine

NISSAN VRH35Z 3.5 LITER BI-TURBO

Power

850 hp @ 7,200 rpm

Gearbox

HEWLAND 6 SPEED

Weight

900 kg

The Nissan Groupe C R90CP and R90CK bear witness to a legendary period in endurance racing, when manufacturers competed against each other and invested considerable financial, technical and human resources. These prototypes benefited from the best technologies of the time, with the widespread use of carbon in the construction of the chassis, body and brakes. These cars were developed at the turn of the 80s and 90s and symbolise the pinnacle of Group C. The Ascott Collection owns two rare examples which were preserved by Nissan in the Nissan Heritage Collection for 30 years. 

 

Le Mans 1989, the philosophical break

It was in 1986 that Nissan entered the Le Mans 24 Hours for the first time, following in the footsteps of Toyota (in 1985) and Mazda, already present as an engine supplier and increasingly involved since 1983 through the Mazdaspeed structure. Like the other manufacturers from the Land of the Rising Sun, Nissan wanted to be the first Japanese manufacturer to shine at the Sarthe. In order to achieve this, the brand developed increasingly crazy prototypes, with the R90C being the pinnacle.

Since 1986, when two official cars were entered for each event (two Nissan R85Vs in 1986, two Nissan March R87Es in 1987 and two Nissan R88Cs in 1988), the Japanese manufacturer decided to step up the pace in 1989. The Nismo team entered three new R89Cs. Seen for the first time at Dijon a month earlier, the new cars represented a fundamental departure from previous entries. It was no longer March that was responsible for the chassis, but Lola. This change was largely dictated by the results achieved in the USA, where the British chassis manufacturer was responsible for the GTP programme (the T810 chassis became the Nissan GTP ZX-Turbo). Lola Cars was the new partner for Nissan, with Eric Broadley in charge of the design. 

With a composite body, highly aerodynamic lines and rounded shapes, the R89Cs aimed to create a ground effect with numerous elements designed to achieve a high top speed. Note the side air intakes to cool the brakes and the central flap to direct air to the radiator. In front of the windscreen, air intakes directed air into two tunnels to keep the car glued to the ground. 

Mechanically there was the 3.5 litre V8 engine, combined with two IHI turbochargers to produce 800 bhp. The VRH35 engine was developed for Group C and was first fitted to the R89C. In 1990 the VRH35 became the VRH35Z for installation in the R90C. Another derivative version appeared much later, in 1997, to power the Nissan R390 GT1 when the Japanese manufacturer decided to return to endurance racing. This was the VRH35L version. This engine was bought by McLaren from TWR after the GT1 programme. Renamed M838T and then M840T, it was subsequently developed to power several of the British manufacturer's models, including the MP4-12C, 720S and even the P1. Yes, the R89 and R90 have something in common with the most exclusive McLarens! 

The birth of the R89C coincided with the creation of Nismo Europe, a branch dedicated to the entry of prototypes in the World Championship. This subsidiary was based in England and headed by Howard Marsden. This Nismo branch in Europe worked in conjunction with Nissan in Japan, making it possible for the first time to manage a high-level global commitment. This two-headed organisation had become essential in order to be able to participate in the entire World Sports Prototype Championship season and thus have the right to compete in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. All three Nissan R89Cs had to retire at the Sarthe (after 5 laps for car n°24, 167 laps for car n°23 and 250 laps for car n°25).

1990, Le Mans Ni Katsu[1]

In 1990, Nissan returned to the 24 Hours of Le Mans, this time entering seven cars, five of which were official. The chassis were largely modified, with the R90CP on one side and the R90CK on the other. The Nissan armada came to shine and the commitment was strong. You could see a Nissan on the official poster and on the cover of the magazine. Even better, one of the two new chicanes in the Hunaudières was named "Nissan chicane"!

On the R90CP, the main development was the installation of the VRH35Z engine with a bonnet designed by Nissan Performance Technology (NPTI). This changed the airflow, directing air from the front of the bonnet through a large central intake and two side intakes. The fairing mirrors also helped to differentiate this version, as did the new rear periscopes for brake cooling. Although the new R90CP was based on the R89C, 70 per cent of the parts were actually manufactured by Nissan and NISMO. One of the R90CPs (#23, chassis 01) used carbon brakes manufactured by Carbone Industrie in conjunction with Brembo calipers. This was a first in the history of the race. Nissan had made this choice (as well as mixing the tyre suppliers between the cars) to cope with the changes brought about by the addition of the chicanes on the Hunaudiere straight. Howard Marsden, the man in charge of the project, told the 24 Hours Guide: "Lap times should increase by 20 seconds, while the distance covered will decrease by 10%. On the other hand, you can expect to see two or three pace car interventions. If there are any problems, it will be the brakes and the gearbox. Le Mans is now characterised by four 2km straights. That's why we'll be testing carbon discs at NME.

With the R90CK, K for 'Kae' which means improvement in Japanese, everything has been designed for performance. The first R90CK chassis appeared at Monza, the temple of speed. The perfect place to test the main developments, such as the suspension with increased travel. Thanks to more intensive work in partnership with Dunlop (who supplied exclusive tyres for the R90C), radial tyres (18" front and 19" rear) were fitted on new Speedline rims. The braking system has also evolved, with a partnership signed with AP rather than Brembo. For the rider, a narrower seat width had to be accommodated due to the increased width of the spoilers. The bodywork was modified with a shorter nose, a longer tail and now a two-piece spoiler with large drifts. Extensive wind tunnel work was carried out on the R90CK to achieve a massive ground effect combined with top speeds approaching 400km/h. In 1990, Mark Blundell took the first ever pole position for a Japanese marque at the Le Mans 24 Hours with a time of 3'27''020 in the #24 R90CK. A time that would allow you to fight with the Hypercar today!

In short, the R90CK had an aerodynamic configuration adapted to sprint racing, the result of a collaboration between Nissan Europe (NME) and Lola in Milton Keynes. The R90CP was designed for the Japanese Prototype Sports Championship and was developed by Nismo in Japan. At Le Mans there were cars from Nissan's European (#24 and #25), American (#83 and #84) and Japanese (#23) subsidiaries. No two Nissans were exactly alike: bodywork, tyres, brakes, mirrors, livery and, above all, sponsorship - there were many details to distinguish them. 

Of the five prototypes on the grid, only two would see the chequered flag, the Hasemi/Hoshino/Suzuki R90CP in 7th place and the Millen/Roe/Earl R90CK in 17th.

NISSAN R90CP #R89C-01

The first Nissan R89C chassis to be assembled, #R89C-01, was determined at Snetterton in March 1989 before being run on a private track in Arizona in April. There the car reached a speed of 386 km/h. It was then at Dijon, for its first competitive appearance in the World Sports Prototype Championship, that #R89C-01 was seen. Julian Bailey and Mark Blundell finished 15th in the final race after setting the 6th fastest time in practice, not far behind the Mercedes! At Le Mans, Julian Bailey and Mark Blundell were joined by another British hopeful, Martin Donnelly. The latter drove a 3'24'09 in practice, just ahead of Bailey's 3'24'26! The #24 Nissan reached a top speed of 380 km/h.

The 12th place on the grid did not seem to satisfy Julian Bailey, who decided to make a mad dash for it at the start. He passed all his rivals until he was battling for second place with Nielsen's Jaguar. But a contact with Mulsanne stopped his cavalcade. The car had been hit, a suspension link had pierced the fuselage and he had to retire. In 1990, the #R89C-01 was updated and improved, particularly in terms of suspension and aerodynamics. It arrived at Le Mans in mid-May with Brembo steel brakes and Goodyear tyres. Its entry was privately insured by the Courage team as the car was on loan. This NISSAN R89CP made its last appearance at the Fuji 500 km, where it proudly wore the number 01 as NISSAN had won the Japanese Championship the previous year. After qualifying in 3rd position, it finished the race in 9th place, driven by M Hasemi and A Olofsson. The year before the duo had finished second in the car and won the Fuji 500. It was after the 1991 Fuji 500 that this NISSAN became part of the Nissan Heritage Collection. More than 31 years have passed and this racing beast is a real time capsule, still bearing its original livery and the stigma of the race on its bodywork. A sleeping beauty that only deserves to be back on the track.

It will join the Ascott Collection in 2022.

[1] "Le Mans objective" in Japanese 

CALL US: +33 9 67 33 48 43

ENQUIRE ABOUT THIS CAR

Thank you for your message

bottom of page

top of page
2O9A5545_edited.png

1990 NISSAN R90CP

PART OF THE ASCOTT COLLECTION - NOT AVAILABLE FOR SALE

​​

  • 24 heures du Mans en 1989 & 1990

  • Voiture conservée intacte à l'issue de sa dernière course aux 500 km de Fuji en 1991

  • En provenance directe de la Nissan Heritage Collection au Japon

ELIGIBILITE

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

GROUP C RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

GULF CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

Marque

NISSAN

Modèle

R90CP

Année

1990

No de châssis

R89C-01

Châssis

CARBONE

Moteur

NISSAN VRH35Z 3,5 LITRES BI-TURBO

Puissance

850 ch.@ 7 200 t/min

Boite de vitesse

HEWLAND 6 VITESSES

Poids

900 kg

Les Nissan Groupe C R90CP et R90CK témoignent d’une période mythique de l’endurance, lorsque les constructeurs s’affrontaient et engageaient des moyens financiers, techniques et humains très importants. Ces prototypes ont bénéficié des meilleures technologies de l’époque avec l’utilisation généralisée du carbone pour la construction du châssis, de la carrosserie et des freins. Des voitures développées au tournant des années 80/90, qui symbolisent l’apogée du Groupe C. Ascott Collection possède deux exemplaires rares, conservés par Nissan au sein des réserves Nissan Heritage Collection pendant 30 ans. 

Le Mans 1989, la rupture philosophique

C’est en 1986 que Nissan s’engagea pour la toute première fois aux 24 Heures du Mans, emboîtant le pas à Toyota (vu dès 1985) et Mazda, déjà présent comme motoriste et de plus en plus impliqué à partir de 1983 via la structure Mazdaspeed. Comme les autres constructeurs du pays du soleil levant, Nissan voulait devenir le premier constructeur japonais à briller en Sarthe. Pour cela, la marque développait des prototypes toujours plus fous, avec les R90C comme aboutissement de la lignée.

Depuis 1986 et des engagements avec deux voitures officielles pour chaque édition (deux Nissan R85V en 1986, deux Nissan March R87E en 1987 puis deux Nissan R88C en 1988), le constructeur japonais se décida à accélérer l’effort en 1989. Pour cela, l’équipe Nismo engageait trois nouvelles R89C. Vues pour la première fois à Dijon un mois auparavant, les nouvelles voitures représentaient une rupture fondamentale en rapport avec les engagements précédents. En effet, ce n’était plus March qui était chargé de la partie châssis mais bien Lola. Un changement dicté en grande partie par les résultats constatés outre-Atlantique, où le fabricant de châssis anglais était responsable du programme GTP (le châssis T810 devenu Nissan GTP ZX-Turbo). Lola Cars était donc le nouveau partenaire pour Nissan avec Eric Broadley responsable du design. 

Avec une carrosserie en composite, une ligne très aérodynamique et des formes arrondies, les R89C recherchaient l’effet de sol avec de nombreux éléments concourant à atteindre une vitesse de pointe élevée. On pouvait remarquer les prises d’air latérales servant au refroidissement des freins, la trappe centrale servant à envoyer l’air en direction du radiateur. Devant le pare-brise, des prises d’air envoyaient l’air vers deux tunnels pour coller la voiture au sol. 

Mécaniquement, on retrouvait le moteur V8 de 3,5 litres, combiné à deux turbocompresseurs IHI pour atteindre 800 chevaux. Ce moteur de type VRH35, a été développé pour le Group C et fut tout d’abord installé dans les R89C. En 1990, le VRH35 allait évoluer en VRH35Z pour être installé sur les R90C. Une autre version dérivée allait apparaître bien plus tard, en 1997, pour équiper les Nissan R390 GT1, lorsque le constructeur japonais décidait de revenir en endurance. Il s‘agissait de la version VRH35L. Ce moteur a été racheté par McLaren auprès de TWR après le programme GT1. Devenu M838T puis M840T, le moteur a été ensuite développé pour équiper plusieurs modèles du constructeur anglais, tels que les MP4-12C, 720S ou même la P1. Oui, les R89 et R90 ont donc un point commun avec les McLaren les plus exclusives ! 

La naissance des R89C coïncidait avec la création du département Nismo Europe, branche dédiée à l’engagement des prototypes dans le championnat du monde. Cette filiale était basée en Angleterre, avec comme responsable Howard Marsden. Cette branche de Nismo en Europe travaillait de concert avec Nissan au Japon, permettant pour la première fois de gérer un engagement mondial de haut niveau. Cette organisation à deux têtes était devenue indispensable pour pouvoir s’engager à toute la saison du championnat du monde des sports-prototypes, et ainsi avoir le droit de participer aux 24 Heures du Mans. Les trois Nissan R89C durent abandonner en Sarthe (après 5 tours pour la n°24, 167 tours pour la n°23 et 250 tours pour la n°25).

 

1990, Le Mans Ni Katsu[1]

En 1990, Nissan revenait aux 24 Heures du Mans avec cette fois sept voitures engagées dont cinq à titre officiel. Les châssis étaient largement modifiés, avec des R90CP d’un côté et les R90CK de l’autre. L’armada Nissan venait pour briller, et l’engagement était fort. Ainsi, on retrouvait une Nissan sur l’affiche officielle et sur la couverture du programme. Mieux, une des deux nouvelles chicanes dans les Hunaudières était baptisée « chicane Nissan » !

Sur les R90CP, la principale évolution venait de l'installation du moteur VRH35 modèle VRH35Z avec un capot conçu par Nissan Performance Technology (NPTI). La circulation d’air était ainsi modifiée, avec un flux guidé depuis le début du capot via une large prise d’air centrale et deux couloirs latéraux. Les rétroviseurs carénés permettaient également de différencier cette version, tout comme les nouveaux périscopes apparus à l’arrière pour le refroidissement des freins. Le nouveau modèle baptisé R90CP, bien que basé sur la R89C, disposait en réalité de 70 % de pièces fabriquées par Nissan et NISMO. À noter que l’une des R90CP (la n°23, châssis 01) utilisait des freins en carbone produits par Carbone Industrie associés à des étriers Brembo. Il s’agissait là d’une première dans l’histoire de la course. Nissan avait fait ce choix (tout comme le fait de mixer les fournisseurs pneumatiques entre les voitures) pour faire face aux changements que représentait l’ajout des chicanes dans la ligne droite des Hunaudières. Howard Marsden, le responsable du projet, se confiait dans le guide des 24 Heures : « Les temps aux tours devraient augmenter de 20’’, la distance parcourue diminuant elle de 10 %. D’autre part, deux ou trois interventions du pace-car sont à prévoir. Si problème il y a, ce seront les freins et la transmission qui vont être concernés. Le Mans, maintenant, se caractérise par quatre lignes droites de 2 km. C’est pour cela que chez NME, nous essaierons des disques en carbone ».

Sur les R90CK, K pour « Kae », signifiant amélioration en japonais, tout était pensé pour la performance. Les premiers châssis de type R90CK étaient apparus à Monza, dans le temple de la vitesse. Un lieu parfait pour tester les principales évolutions concernant par exemple les suspensions, avec un débattement augmenté. Grâce à un travail plus intense mené en partenariat avec Dunlop (qui fournissait des pneus exclusifs à la R90C), les pneus radiaux (18’’ à l’avant et 19’’ à l’arrière) prenaient place sur des jantes Speedline nouvelles. Le système de freinage lui aussi évoluait, avec un partenariat signé avec AP et non Brembo. Pour le pilote, il fallait composer avec une largeur de siège plus faible, consécutive de l’augmentation de la largeur des pontons déporteurs. La carrosserie était modifiée avec un nez plus court, un arrière plus long et désormais un aileron composé de deux parties avec des dérives importants. Un important travail a été réalisé en soufflerie sur la R90CK afin d’obtenir un effet de sol massif combiné à des vitesses de pointe proches des 400 km/h. En 1990, Mark Blundell signait pour la toute première fois la pole position des 24 Heures du Mans pour une marque japonaise en 3’27’’020 avec la R90CK n°24. Un temps qui permettrait aujourd’hui de se battre avec les Hypercar !

En résumé, la R90CK avait une configuration aérodynamique adaptée aux courses « sprint », fruit de la collaboration entre Nissan Europe (NME) et Lola à Milton Keynes. La R90CP était pensée pour le championnat de sport prototypes du Japon, développée par Nismo au Japon. Au Mans, on retrouvait des voitures gérées par la filiale Nissan européenne (les n°24 et 25), américaine (n°83 et 84) et japonaise (n°23). Aucune Nissan n’était vraiment semblable à une autre : carrosseries, pneumatiques, freins, rétroviseurs, livrées et surtout sponsors, de nombreux détails permettaient de les différencier. 

Sur les cinq prototypes inscrits sur la liste des engagés, deux seulement verront le drapeau à damiers, la R90CP de Hasemi/Hoshino/Suzuki à la 7e place et la R90CK de Millen/Roe/Earl en 17e position.

NISSAN R90CP #R89C-01

Premier châssis de Nissan R89C assemblé, #R89C-01 a été déverminé sur la piste de Snetterton en mars 1989, avant de rouler sur une piste privée au mois d’avril en Arizona. Là-bas, la voiture atteigna la vitesse de 386 km/h. C’est ensuite à Dijon, pour la première apparition en compétition dans le cadre du championnat du monde des sports prototypes, que l’on retrouva #R89C-01. Julian Bailey et Mark Blundell y décrochèrent une 15e place finale, après le 6e temps des essais, non loin des Mercedes ! Au Mans, Julian Bailey et Mark Blundell étaient accompagnés par un autre espoir anglais, Martin Donnelly. Ce dernier roulait en 3’24’’09 aux essais, juste devant Bailey en 3’24’’26 ! La Nissan frappée du n°24 atteignait 380 km/h en pointe.

La 12e place sur la grille semblait ne pas satisfaire à Julian Bailey qui, au départ, décida de se lancer dans une folle remontée. Il passa tous ses concurrents, jusqu’à se battre pour la deuxième place avec la Jaguar de Nielsen. Mais un contact à Mulsanne stoppa sa cavalcade. La machine était touchée, une attache de suspension avait transpercé la coque, abandon. En 1990, la #R89C-01 fut remise au goût du jour et améliorée notamment au niveau des suspensions et de l’aérodynamique. Arrivée à la mi-mai au Mans, elle roulait avec des freins acier Brembo et des pneumatiques Goodyear. Son engagement était assuré à titre privé par l’équipe Courage, la voiture étant prêtée. Cette NISSAN R89CP fit sa dernière apparition aux 500 km de Fuji où elle portait fièrement le n 01 puisque NISSAN avait remporté le Championnat Japonais l’année précédente. Qualifiée en 3ème positon, elle termina en 9ème position pilotée par M Hasemi et A Olofsson. L’année précédente, le duo avait terminé en seconde position à son volant et avait remporté les 500 miles de Fuji. C’est à l’issue des 500 km de Fuji en 1991 que cette NISSAN fut placée dans la Nissan Heritage Collection. Plus de 31 ans se sont écoulés et cette bête de course est une véritable « time capsule » qui porte toujours sa livrée sa de l’époque ainsi que les stigmates de la course sur sa carrosserie. Une belle endormie qui ne mérite que de retrouver la piste.

En 2022, elle a rejoint Ascott Collection. 

[1] « Objectif Le Mans » en japonais

APPELEZ-NOUS : +33 9 67 33 48 43

ECRIVEZ-NOUS

Thank you for your message

bottom of page