2002 MG LOLA EX257

 

MG LOLA USINE of the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2001 & 2002
One of the most competitive prototypes of the period.

Qualified in 5th position at the 2002 Le Mans 24 Hours
Nicknamed the AUDI KILLER
Fully restored - Ready to run

VEHICULE ENQUIRY
TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

MG LOLA

Mark

EX257

Model

HU MG-LMP003

Chassis number

CARBON MONOCOQUE

Frame

CARBON

Body

AER 2 LITERS TURBO

Engine

550 HP.

Power

LOLA HEWLAND SEQUENTIAL 6 SPEED

Gearbox

690 KG

Weight

PRICE

ON REQUEST

MG LOLA EX257 #HU MG-LMP003

A sweet perfume of Englishness pervaded the 2001 edition of the Le Mans 24 Hours. Thanks to the presence of Bentley and MG, there were a good number of the Queen's subjects of the time aiming to conquer the twice-around-the-clock French event. While Bentley chose the LMGTP category for the challenge, MG opted for the LMP 675 class. It was a deliberate choice, based on a detailed study of the regulations. The result was a light, agile prototype, in a black and green livery, which has long been remembered by the fans of Le Mans and its competitors for its pace, worthy of the Audi R8s, the kings of endurance racing at that time. The MG LOLA EX 257 had it all, and could have dethroned Audi.

MG's return to the Le Mans 24 Hours

The links between MG and the 24 Hours of Le Mans go right back to the 1930s. The English firm were racing its cars there as early as 1930, competing against its compatriots Aston-Martin and Bentley. The MGs stood out from the others by often being the cars with the lowest cylinder capacity, and a compact, light design. This hallmark was also there in the 50s and 60s, with the MGAs and MGBs in particular.

In September 2000, when the MG brand changed hands, an ambitious sports programme was launched. BMW had sold part of the Rover Group to a group of investors called the Phoenix Consortium, led in particular by John Towers, formerly one of the key MG figures. To boost declining sales, their ambition was to launch a triple programme: for the domestic tourism championship - the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) - MG developed the MG ZS EX259. In the search for enhanced international recognition, endurance racing and rallying were the disciplines selected. MG thus embarked on developing the MG ZR Super 1600 for rallying, and the MG EX257 for endurance racing, in association with LOLA. This was logical because there were already real existing bridges between the two entities MG and LOLA. Nick Stephenson was director of both Rover Group and LOLA Cars. David Bowes, a member of the Phoenix Consortium, was also employed by LOLA. Chamberlain Motorsport was the firm chosen to take care of the technical side of racing the cars (Dough Beeb, ex-Oreca, was the man in charge of the #HU MG-LMP003 for its first race-entry in 2001).

The very first LMP675

The carbon chassis developed for this project by LOLA was fitted with an engine that was also developed specifically for the new car, by Advanced Engine Research (AER). It was a 2-litre engine with 4 inline cylinders turbo-compressed by a Garrett turbo, developing 500 HP. The engine subsequently achieved considerable success and was chosen by many private firms to power their endurance prototypes.

Julian Cooper, head of the engineering department, said of the project that "LOLA took far greater risks than with any other client", and in particular more risks than for the traditional development of a car designed to be sold to private teams.

The decision was made from the start to build the future car to comply with LMP 675 regulations. At the time, the Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO) left competitors considerable latitude, and three categories were designed by the organizers to fight for the overall victory on an equal footing: the LMGTP, LMP 900 and LMP 675 categories. This point of the regulations is often overlooked but it is nevertheless crucial - in the following years (from 2004), the creation of the LMP2 category clearly aimed to develop a category of cars that were less expensive and slower than the LMP1s (formerly LMP900). The minimum officially approved weight of an LMP2 was 750 kg, and the air intakes were made narrower. Theoretically then, an LMP2 was no match for an LMP1 whereas in 2001 and 2002 an LMGTP or an LMP 675 could compete against an LMP 900 on even terms. And in fact, the MG LOLA did not take long to prove this ...

After a major study phase, LOLA MG decided to opt for the regulations of the LMP 675 prototype category, with the car having to display this minimum weight of 675 kg. In this way, the EX257 became the very first car to be designed specifically for this regulation. Rob Oldaker, product development director at MG, explained this choice: "With LOLA, we came to the conclusion that a good, well-designed LMP 675 could compete with the LMP 900s, which are certainly more powerful, but are also heavier. It’s also a choice which is perfectly suited to the MG’s DNA. It fits perfectly with the spirit of our brand to produce light, compact cars.” Frank Dernie, former F1 designer, was involved in the programme through LOLA's participation: "Everyone wanted an LMP 900, but that's not what my calculations were saying. At Audi (which designed the R8 to LMP 900 specifications) I knew engineers who had also concluded that the LMP 675 category was the best one.”

Nothing was left to chance in the design and construction of the MG LOLA, to obtain a light, efficient car with a weight as close as possible to the statutory minimum of 675 kg. Carbon fibre was used to make the whole of the chassis, the entire body and the brake discs. The 2-litre 4-cylinder turbo-charged AER engine was also lightweight.

The MG-LOLA programme was a genuine official programme, and there was no shortage of work to prepare for the first trip to Le Mans. Between the start of the programme and the first laps on May 6, 2001 on the main circuit, just over nine months elapsed (the green light was given in September 2000). The car’s first shakedown did not take place until April, with tests at Jerez and Albacete (in Spain) and then at Snetterton (in England) before arriving in France for the preliminary tests.

While the design of the chassis was already satisfactory, it was on the mechanical side that things quickly got complicated (with the XP-20 2-litre turbo engine). Problems with the AER engine effectively prevented MG from driving for a month, thus delaying the first tests. The EX 257 proudly posted 500 HP, roughly 100 less than the Audi R8, but also with a weight of 200 kg less... thus promising a real confrontation in terms of pure performance.

 

The MG LOLA EX257 #HU MG-LMP003

As its name suggests, the MG LOLA EX257 #HU MG-LMP003 chassis was the third chassis to be assembled.

Chassis #HU MG-LMP001 was seen at the 2001 unofficial practice sessions (# 34), setting the best time for the English. It then left for the United States to enjoy a rich career, and took part in the 24 Hours of Le Mans several times, up till 2004. In 2003, the car was damaged in a crash at Sears Point in the American Le Mans Series, after being entered by the Intersport Racing team.

The #HU MG-LMP002, the “brother” chassis of the #HU MG-LMP003, raced at Le Mans in 2001 and 2002, before continuing its career mainly in Europe, in the Le Mans Series.

The #HU MG-LMP003 being offered for sale now by Ascott Collection is the only MG EX257 chassis to have taken part in both the 2001 and 2002 Le Mans 24 Hours events, as well as in the day of unofficial practice in 2002. It was always the same drivers who took turns at the wheel, namely Kevin McGarrity / Mark Blundell / Julian Bailey. This 100% English racing team was sponsored by Mark Blundell! Having just been released from his commitments to Champ Car with PacWest, the Englishman had received several offers to compete in the world’s greatest endurance event and finally chose MG. Already a winner in 1992 (in a Peugeot 905 Evo 1B with Yannick Dalmas and Derek Warwick), his mission was to keep the enthusiasm of Kevin McGarrity and Julian Bailey in check!

 

24 Heures of Le Mans 2001

After a complicated unofficial practice session due to electrical problems, the week at Le Mans brought a measure of satisfaction.

In the race itself, the car started with Mark Blundell at the wheel. At the very beginning of this truly memorable rain-plagued edition, Blundell had to go back to the pits to have suitable tyres put on. For a while, with successive cars stopping to refuel, he held third place, and remembers: “When I came into the pits for the first refuelling stop, there were lots of people, with loads of photographers.[i] We were hot news because I was third, fighting with the Audis on even terms” says the driver. “That car was outstanding”, went on Mark Blundell. “It was very light, much more so than the other LMPs. It had an exceptional power-to-weight ratio.”

He handed the wheel over to Julian Bailey shortly before 6:00 p.m., but he crashed on his first lap after the change-over. He was replaced at the wheel by Kevin McGarrity, just as problems started to pop up. The exhaust system had to be checked, and the cooling liquid was giving cause for concern. The starter was changed just before 10 p.m. The car was then in eighth place overall. At 1:30 a.m., an oil-tank leak was repaired ... before the engine started showing signs of fatigue with an abnormally high temperature due to damage caused when the car had left the track earlier on. The car’s retirement was officially announced in the middle of the night.

 

24 Heures of Le Mans 2002

For the 2002 Le Mans 24 Hours, it was the same configuration (or almost). In the intervening year, the testing programme was not that dense, partly because of a lack of funds. As a result, the MG LOLA EX257 which came to race at the Le Mans had been made more reliable but still had certain points of fragility. It had completed a 30-hour endurance test in mid-May at Spa-Francorchamps (interrupted overnight due to fog) and the whole team expected to gain a few seconds on the big Le Mans track.

With its 689 kilos, it was timed in 3’33'414 with Mark Blundell, the fifth best time of the practice session, better than Bentley! A net gain of 20 seconds in a year was registered in the unofficial practice session. In qualifying, its time was 3’33’’254, comparable with the time of the pole position (the Audi R8 N° 2 of Capello, Herbert and Pescatori, in 3’30’’296). The MG-LOLA lost just 3 seconds a lap to the R8, then at the top of its game. In the Le Mans pits, there was a certain amount of excitement around the MG LOLA which had just so clearly made a big statement. Ahead of it were three Audi R8s, one of the Dallara SP1s of the Oreca team and the Dome S101 of Jan Lammers. Behind it, an armada of no fewer than fifteen LMP900s: Audi R8, Dallara SP1, Panoz, Courage, LOLA, Cadillac etc… and the Bentleys which were LMGTPs. The engineers who had opted to build an LMP 675 were proved right: the car could play alongside the frontrunners at the Le Mans 24 Hours. It was already a fabulous performance for the small British firm.

The early stages of the race saw the MG-LOLA following in the wake of the LMP 900s, and pestering Cadillac. But consumption was high at those speeds, and even the car’s reduced weight did not allow it to extend the length of its stints on the track. With a fastest lap of 3’37’’282 in the race (compared to 3’33’’483 for the N° 1 Audi R8), the MG confirmed its fine form. Everything was going well and the roadmap was modelled on 2001, with the same driving stints and the same driver changes. Unfortunately, at 7:30 a.m. the engine failed, with the car slowing down before officially retiring at 8:08 a.m. (the 21st official retirement).

The contract between Chamberlain and MG was ending on the evening of the Le Mans 24 Hours, and was not renewed. It was the end of the official adventure. The MG EX257 was then the basis for the new B05/40 designed for the LMP2 category, which was to win the category at the Le Mans 24 Hours in 2005. But before that, successes were registered in the United States.

 

The little English beauties seek to conquer the United States

The MG EX257s were to enjoy a second life across the Atlantic. LOLA continued to sell chassis and provide support services, in partnership with AER for the engine part, thus explaining why the LOLA EX257 competed in the American Le Mans Series (ALMS) with the Intersport Racing and Dyson Racing teams, and then with Highcroft Racing. In Europe, Chamberlain Engineering and RML also raced the cars.

The EX257’s American adventure was particularly remarkable. In 2003, the cars raced by Intersport Racing and Dyson Racing shared all the victories in the LMP 675 category. Better still, James Weaver and Butch Leitzinger (of Dyson Racing) won at Sonoma, beating the official Audi R8. In 2004, the LMP 675 and LMP 900 categories were replaced by the LMP2 and LMP1 categories. The LOLA EX257s became LMP1s and Dyson Racing again managed to take first place overall at Mosport, in the ALMS, ahead the official Audi R8.

At Le Mans, the RML team won the LMP2 category in 2005 and 2006 with a modified chassis and a Judd engine, which explains its switch to the LMP2 category. The car thus became an MG-LOLA EX264 (B05/40). The last time any EX257s were to be seen on the track was in 2007. The Autocon Motorsports team in particular took part in several rounds of the ALMS with a car that was very close to its original 2001 configuration, in its MG livery.

Restoration of the #HU MG-LMP003 by RML and a return to the track with Nicolas Minassian

 

Having retired in 2003, the #HU MG-LMP003 has now been complete restored by RML and MJ Tech, in other words the specialists who had always looked after the car since it was built. The engine overhaul was carried out by Advanced Engine Research, who had built the engine. Once restored, the MG LOLA was tested and given the green light by Nicolas Minassian at Donington. It was then acquired in early 2019 by a collector who did not have it driven. It is thus now being offered for sale with all its mechanical components, affording maximum potential.

This MG LOLA has become eligible for numerous races, both in Europe and in the United States, in the Masters Endurance Legends series. In the series organized by Peter Auto, Endurance Racing Legends and Le Mans Classic, it’s a car that can win the scratch race since, with the eligibility date being fixed at 2005, there’s little competition to fear. Added to that, it has an advantage in terms of operating costs that are much lower than for most LMP 900/LMP1 works cars with comparable performances. Easily identifiable among all other prototypes, the superb silhouette and the brightly coloured livery of this MG LOLA EX 257 give it a superb visual presence. Its return to the track will undoubtedly be an event for endurance racing enthusiasts and, of course, for Le Mans fans. All these factors guarantee that its next owner should take the greatest possible pleasure behind its wheel.

ascott collection

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2020

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron

2002 MG LOLA EX257

MG LOLA USINE des 24 Heures du Mans en 2001 & 2002

L'un des prototype le plus performant de la période

Qualifiée en 5ème position aux 24 heures du Mans 2002

Surnommée la AUDI KILLER

Entièrement restaurée - Prête à courir

DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS
CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

MG LOLA

Marque

EX257

Modèle

HU MG-LMP003

Numéro de Châssis

MONOCOQUE CARBONE

Châssis

CARBONE

Carrosserie

AER 2 LITRES TURBO

Moteur

550 CH.

Puissance

LOLA HEWLAND SEQUENTIELLES À 6 VITESSES

Boite de vitesse

690 KG

Poids

PRIX

SUR DEMANDE

Il soufflait sur les 24 Heures du Mans 2001 un doux parfum anglais. Avec la présence de Bentley et de MG, les sujets de la reine étaient alors nombreux à vouloir se lancer à l’assaut du double tour d’horloge sarthois. Si Bentley choisissait pour ce challenge la catégorie LMGTP, MG s’orientait vers la classe LMP 675. Un choix délibéré, issu d’une étude fine du règlement. En résulta un prototype agile et léger, flanqué de noir et de vert, resté dans les mémoires des fans du Mans et de ses concurrents pour sa vitesse digne des Audi R8, alors reines de l’endurance. La MG LOLA EX 257 avait tous les atouts pour l’emporter, et aurait pu faire tomber Audi.

Le retour de MG aux 24 Heures du Mans

Les liens entre MG et les 24 Heures du Mans, c’est jusque dans les années 30 qu’il faut se plonger pour les retrouver. Dès 1930, l’artisan anglais engage des voitures et lutte avec les compatriotes Aston-Martin et Bentley. Les MG se distinguent en étant souvent les voitures avec la plus faible cylindrée, et un ensemble compact et léger. Cette marque de fabrique, on la retrouvera dans les années 50 et 60, avec notamment les MGA et MGB.

En septembre 2000, alors que la marque MG a changé de mains, un programme sportif ambitieux est lancé. BMW a en effet vendu une partie de Rover Group à un collectif d’investisseurs baptisé Phoenix Consortium, mené notamment par John Towers, ancien homme clé au sein du constructeur. Pour relancer les ventes en déclin, l’ambition est de lancer un triple programme : pour le championnat de tourisme domestique - le British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) - MG développe la MG ZS EX259. Pour la recherche de notoriété à l’international, c’est l’endurance et le rallye qui sont les disciplines retenues. MG se lance alors dans l’élaboration de la MG ZR Super 1600 pour le rallye, et développe la MG EX257 pour l’endurance, en association avec LOLA. Logique, car entre les deux entités MG et LOLA, il existe de vraies passerelles. Nick Stephenson est à la fois directeur de Rover Group et de LOLA Cars. David Bowes, membre du consortium Phoenix Consortium possède également des fonctions chez LOLA. Chamberlain Motorsport est la structure technique retenue pour s’occuper de l’engagement des voitures sur le terrain (Dough Beeb, ancien d’Oreca, est le responsable de #HU MG-LMP003 pour son premier engagement en 2001).

La toute première LMP675

Le châssis en carbone développé pour ce projet par LOLA reçoit un moteur développé lui aussi spécifiquement par Advanced Engine Research (AER) pour cette nouvelle voiture. Il s’agit d’un bloc 2 litres avec 4 cylindres en ligne turbo compressé par un turbo Garrett et développant 500 chevaux. Ce moteur connut par la suite beaucoup de succès et fut choisi par de nombreux constructeurs privés pour propulser leurs prototypes d’endurance.

 Julian Cooper, responsable du département ingénierie, confia au sujet du projet que « LOLA a pris des risques bien plus importants qu’avec n’importe quel autre client », et notamment plus de risques que pour le développement classique d’une voiture destinée ensuite à être vendue à des équipes privées.

Il est décidé dès le début de construire la future voiture en répondant au règlement LMP 675. À l’époque, l’Automobile Club de l’Ouest laisse aux concurrents une grande liberté. Trois catégories sont en effet pensées par les organisateurs pour se battre à égalité pour la victoire générale : LMGTP, LMP 900 et LMP 675. Ce point de règlement est souvent méconnu mais il est pourtant crucial. En effet, les années suivantes (à partir de 2004), la création de la catégorie LMP2 visait clairement à développer une catégorie de voitures moins onéreuses et moins rapides que les LMP1 (anciennement LMP900). Le poids d’homologation minimum d’une LMP2 sera de 750 kg sans parler des brides d’admission qui seront rétrécies. Théoriquement, une LMP2 ne pourrait pas rivaliser avec une LMP1 alors qu’en 2001 et 2002 une LMGTP ou une LMP 675 pouvaient lutter contre une LMP 900. D’ailleurs la MG LOLA ne tardera pas à le prouver…

Après une phase d’étude importante, LOLA MG décide d’embrasser le règlement de la catégorie prototype LMP 675, la voiture devant afficher ce poids minimum sur la balance. La EX257 devient ainsi la toute première voiture pensée uniquement pour ce règlement. Rob Oldaker, directeur développement produit chez MG explique ce choix : « Avec LOLA, nous sommes arrivés à la conclusion qu’une bonne LMP 675 bien dessinée pouvait se battre avec les LMP 900 certes plus puissantes, mais aussi plus lourdes. C’est également un choix propre à l’ADN MG. Cela correspond parfaitement à l’esprit de notre marque de produire des voitures légères et compactes ». Frank Dernie, ancien designer F1, est impliqué dans le programme au travers de la participation de LOLA : « Tout le monde voulait une LMP 900, mais ce n’est pas ce que mes calculs disaient. Chez Audi (qui a lancé la R8 aux spécifications LMP 900) je connaissais des ingénieurs qui, eux aussi, avaient conclu que la catégorie LMP 675 était la meilleure ».

Rien n’est laissé au hasard dans la conception et la construction de la MG LOLA afin obtenir une voiture légère et efficace avec un poids le plus proche des 675 kg minimum réglementaires. Le recours à la fibre de carbone est généralisé pour la fabrication du châssis, de la totalité de la carrosserie ainsi que des disques de frein. Le moteur AER 2 litres à 4 cylindres turbocompressé est lui aussi léger.

Le programme MG-LOLA est un vrai programme officiel, et le travail ne manque pas pour préparer la première venue en Sarthe. Entre les premiers tours de roues le 6 mai 2001 sur le grand circuit et le début du programme, un peu plus de neuf mois seulement se sont écoulés (le feu vert fut donné en septembre 2000). Le premier shakedown de la voiture fut effectué en avril seulement, avec des essais à Jerez et à Albacete (Espagne) puis Snetterton (Angleterre) avant d’arriver en France pour les essais préliminaires.

Si le dessin du châssis apporte déjà satisfaction, c’est du côté mécanique que les complications sont arrivées rapidement (avec le bloc XP-20 2 litres turbo). Des problèmes avec le moteur AER ont en effet privé MG de roulage pendant un mois, décalant donc les premiers essais. La EX 257 affiche fièrement 500 chevaux, soit environ une centaine de moins que les Audi R8, mais avec un poids moindre de 200 kg… De quoi sur le papier, promettre un réel affrontement en performance pure.

MG LOLA EX257 #HU MG-LMP003

Le châssis MG LOLA EX257 #HU MG-LMP003 est, comme son nom l’indique, le troisième châssis assemblé.

Le châssis #HU MG-LMP001 sera vu aux essais préliminaires 2001 (#34) signant le meilleur temps pour les Anglais. Ensuite, il partira aux États-Unis avec une carrière riche, puis plusieurs participations aux 24 Heures du Mans jusqu’en 2004. En 2003, le châssis fut accidenté à Sears Point en American Le Mans Series, alors engagé par l’équipe Intersport Racing.

Le châssis #HU MG-LMP002 sera le châssis « frère » de #HU MG-LMP003, engagé en Sarthe en 2001 puis 2002, avant une suite de carrière discutée majoritairement en Europe en Le Mans Series.

#HU MG-LMP003 proposé par Ascott Collection est le seul châssis MG EX257 à avoir participé aux deux éditions des 24 Heures du Mans 2001 et 2002, ainsi qu’à la journée d’essais préliminaires en 2002. Ce sont toujours les mêmes pilotes qui se sont relayés à son volant, à savoir Kevin McGarrity / Mark Blundell / Julian Bailey. Cet équipage 100 % anglais était patronné par Mark Blundell ! Tout juste libéré de son engagement en Champ Car avec PacWest, l’anglais avait reçu plusieurs propositions pour discuter la plus grande course d’endurance au monde et a retenu MG. Déjà vainqueur en 1992 (sur Peugeot 905 Evo 1B avec Yannick Dalmas et Derek Warwick), il avait pour mission de contenir la fougue de Kevin McGarrity et Julian Bailey !

 
24 Heures du Mans 2001

Après des essais préliminaires compliqués liés à des problèmes électriques, la semaine mancelle apporte satisfaction.

En course, tout débute avec Mark Blundell au volant. Dès le départ de cette édition hors norme marquée par la pluie, le pilote doit repasser par les stands pour chausser des pneus adéquates. Il prend un temps la troisième place avec le ballet des ravitaillements et se souvient : « Quand je suis rentré dans les stands pour mon premier arrêt essence, il y avait beaucoup de monde, énormément de photographes. Nous étions en train de faire le buzz, car j’étais troisième, à me battre avec les Audi, à la régulière » raconte le pilote. « Cette voiture était exceptionnelle poursuit Mark Blundell. Elle était très légère, bien plus que les autres LMP. Elle avait un rapport poids-puissance exceptionnel ».

Il cède le volant à Julian Bailey peu avant 18 h 00, mais celui-ci part à la faute dès son premier tour au raccordement. Il est relayé par Kevin McGarrity, alors que les problèmes vont commencer à se faire jour. On vérifie l’échappement, le liquide de refroidissement inquiète. Un changement de démarreur est réalisé avant 22 h 00. L’auto est alors en huitième place au général. À 1 h 30 du matin, une fuite du réservoir d’huile est réparée… avant que le moteur ne donne des signes de fatigue à cause d’une température trop élevée, issus des dommages d’une précédente sortie de route. L’abandon est officialisé au milieu de la nuit.

24 Heures du Mans 2002

Pour les 24 Heures du Mans 2002, on prend les mêmes et on recommence (ou presque). D’une année à l’autre, le programme d’essais n’a pas été intense, notamment à cause du manque de fonds. Alors, la MG LOLA EX257 qui se présente en Sarthe est fiabilisée mais conserve encore des fragilités. Elle a réalisé un test d’endurance de 30 heures mi-mai à Spa-Francorchamps (interrompu pendant la nuit à cause du brouillard) et toute l’équipe s’attend à gagner des secondes sur le grand tracé du Mans.

Avec ses 689 kilos, elle est chronométrée en 3’33'414 avec Mark Blundell, cinquième meilleur temps des essais, mieux que Bentley ! Un bénéfice net de 20 secondes sur une année est noté aux essais préliminaires. En qualifications, le temps est de 3’33’’254 à comparer avec le temps de la pole position (Audi R8 n°2 de Capello, Herbert et Pescatori en 3’30’’296). La MG-LOLA ne rend que 3 secondes sur un tour à la R8, alors au sommet de son art. Dans les stands du Mans, on sent une certaine agitation autour de la MG LOLA qui vient de marquer un grand coup. Devant elle, il y a trois Audi R8, une des Dallara SP1 du team Oreca et la Dome S101 de Jan Lammers. Derrière elle, un armada composé de pas moins de quinze LMP900 : Audi R8, Dallara SP1, Panoz, Courage, LOLA, Cadillac etc… et les Bentley qui sont les LMGTP. Les ingénieurs qui ont opté pour la construction d’une LMP 675 avait raison, la voiture joue aux avant-postes aux 24 Heures du Mans. C’est déjà une fabuleuse performance pour la petite marque Britannique.

Le début de course s’effectue dans le sillage des LMP 900, la MG-LOLA taquinant Cadillac. Mais la consommation est élevée à ce rythme, et malgré son poids plume, cela ne lui permet pas d’allonger le durée de ses relais. Avec un meilleur tour de 3’37’’282 en course (contre 3’33’’483 pour l’Audi R8 n°1), la MG confirme sa bonne santé. Tout va bien et le tableau de marche est calqué sur 2001, avec les mêmes relais, les mêmes changements de pilotes. Malheureusement, une casse moteur intervient. La voiture passe au ralenti à 7 h 30 du matin puis abandonne officiellement à 8 h 08 (21e abandon officiel).

Le contrat liant Chamberlain à MG prit fin au soir des 24 Heures du Mans, et ne fut pas renouvelé. Fin de l’aventure officielle. La MG EX257 sera alors la base pour la nouvelle B05/40 destinée à la catégorie LMP2, et qui sera victorieuse aux 24 Heures du Mans en 2005. Mais avant, des succès vont arriver aux Etats-Unis.

La petite anglaise à l’assaut des Etats-Unis

Les MG EX257 vont connaître une seconde vie, outre-Atlantique. En effet, LOLA continue de vendre des châssis et apporte son support, en partenariat avec AER pour la partie moteur. Voilà ce qui explique la présence de la LOLA EX257 en American Le Mans Series (ALMS) avec les équipes Intersport Racing ou Dyson Racing, puis Highcroft Racing. En Europe, Chamberlain Engineering ou RML engagent également des exemplaires.

L’épopée américaine des EX257 est particulièrement marquante. En 2003, les voitures engagées par Intersport Racing et Dyson Racing se partagent toutes les victoires en catégorie LMP 675. Mieux, James Weaver et Butch Leitzinger (Dyson Racing) s’imposent à Sonoma, et battent les Audi R8 officielles. En 2004, les catégories LMP 675 et LMP 900 laissent place aux catégories LMP2 et LMP1. Les LOLA EX257 deviennent des LMP1 et Dyson Racing parvient à s’imposer encore une fois au général en ALMS,  à Mosport, face aux Audi R8 officielles.

Au Mans, l’équipe RML remporte la catégorie LMP2 en 2005 et 2006 avec un châssis modifié et l’ajout d’un moteur Judd, ce qui explique son transfert en LMP2. La voiture devient une MG-LOLA EX264 (B05/40). Les derniers exemplaires de EX257 seront vus en 2007 en piste. L’équipe Autocon Motorsports notamment participera à plusieurs manches en ALMS avec une voiture très proche de sa configuration originelle de 2001, sous les couleurs MG.

Restauration de #HU MG-LMP003 par RML et retour en piste avec Nicolas Minassian

Mise en retraite en 2003, #HU MG-LMP003 a fait l’objet d’une restauration complète par RML et MJ Tech, c’est à dire par les techniciens qui ont toujours suivi cette voiture depuis sa construction. La révision du moteur a été faite par Advanced Engine Research, le fabriquant du moteur. Une fois restaurée, Nicolas Minassian a testé et validé la MG LOLA à Donnington. Elle a ensuite été acquise début 2019 par un collectionneur qui ne l’a pas faite rouler. Elle est donc proposée à la vente avec tous ses composants mécaniques offrant un potentiel maximum.

Cette MG LOLA est devenue éligible à de nombreuses courses, que cela soit en Europe comme aux Etats-Unis en Masters Endurance Legends. Dans la série organisée par Peter Auto, l’Endurance Racing Legends et au Mans Classic, c’est une voiture pour remporter le scratch. En effet, la date d’éligibilité étant fixée à 2005, elle a peu de concurrence en face d’elle. De plus elle présente l’avantage d’offrir des coûts d’exploitation bien inférieurs à la plupart des LMP 900 / LMP1 usine aux performances comparables. Identifiable parmi tous les autres prototypes, la superbe silhouette et la livrée chamarrée de cette MG LOLA EX 257 lui confèrent une superbe présence visuelle. Son retour en piste sera incontestablement un événement pour les passionnés de courses d’endurance et bien évidemment les fans du Mans. Autant d’éléments qui font ne pas douter du fait que son prochain propriétaire devrait prendre beaucoup de plaisir à son volant.

Prix sur demande

ascott collection

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2020

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron