march porsche 85g 3.jpg

1985 MARCH PORSCHE 85G

 

Victory of the 24 hours of Le Mans 1986 in IMSA GTP
Air-cooled Porsche engine
Currently participating in Group C Racing series and Le Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITY
VEHICULE ENQUIRY

GROUP C RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
PRICE

ON REQUEST

Mark

MARCH

Model

PORSCHE 85G

Year

1985

Chassis number

85G-06

Frame

ALUMINUM HONEYCOMB

Body

KEVLAR CARBON

Engine

PORSCHE 2.8 LITERS MONO-TURBO AIR

Power

600 hp. @ 7,200 rpm (at 1.4 bar)

Gearbox

PORSCHE 962 5-speed

Weight

920 KG

Ascott Collection is proud to offer again for sale, this car victorious in its category at the 24 Hours of Le Mans 1986.

A well-born car: designed and developed by Adrian Newey and motorized by Porsche

Developed in 1985 by the famous engineer Adrian Newey, this MARCH 85 G is a well-born car with an aluminum honeycomb chassis. The use of this material gives it a high level of rigidity and a much higher level of safety than chassis designed in simple aluminum panels. It is powered by a reference power unit consisting of a Porsche 2.8 l air-cooled mono turbo engine derived from the Porsche 935, coupled to a synchronized gearbox of the Porsche 962 type. A model of user comfort, performance and reliability.

 

A superb racing history on both continents

The MARCH 85 G 06 is the most famous of the March 85 G's as it distinguished itself in the United States in 1985 with John Kalagian's team before taking part in the 1986 World Endurance Championship with the Richard Cleare team.
Among its achievements, a victory in the IMSA GTP category at the 1986 Le Mans 24 Hours (14th place overall) ahead of the factory Nissans racing in the same category. The crew included the young French driver Lionel Robert, who was rewarded for his first participation in the Mancelle race.

 

Recent history

Acquired in the USA by Ascott Collection in 2013, it was sold in 2015 to a French competitor who entered it in Group C Racing and the 2018 Le Mans Classic. It changed hands in 2018 and was entered again in Group C racing. 

 

With the hindsight of several years of running in historic races, this MARCH PORSCHE 85G has proved to be a particularly reliable and performing car, the running costs being lower than those of a Group C2 with Cosworth engine for example. Its HTP is valid until 2031, its fuel tank until 2026 and its crack test is from 2021 - valid until 2024 (the validity period has been extended by one year).

It is the ideal car to compete for victory in the C1B class.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

march porsche 85g 3.jpg

1985 MARCH PORSCHE 85G

 

Victoire aux 24 h du Mans 1986 en IMSA GTP

Moteur Porsche refroidi par air

Participe actuellement aux courses du Group C Racing et au Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITÉ
DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

GROUP C RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES
PRIX

SUR DEMANDE

Marque

MARCH

Modèle

PORSCHE 85G

Année

1985

No de châssis

85G-06

Châssis

NID D'ABEILLE D'ALUMINIUM

Carrosserie

KEVLAR CARBONE

Moteur

PORSCHE 2,8 LITRES MONO-TURBO A AIR

Puissance

600 ch. @ 7 200 t/mn (à 1,4 bar)

Boite de vitesse

PORSCHE 962 à 5 rapports

Poids

920 KG

Ascott Collection est fier de proposer à nouveau à la vente, cette voiture victorieuse dans sa catégorie aux 24 Heures du Mans 1986.

Un voiture bien née : conçue et développée par Adrian Newey et motorisée par Porsche

Développée en 1985 par le célèbre ingénieur Adrian Newey, cette MARCH 85 G est une voiture bien née dont le châssis est fabriqué en nid d'abeille d'aluminium. L'utilisation de ce matériau lui confère une rigidité importante et un niveau de sécurité bien plus élevé que les châssis conçus en simples panneaux d'aluminium. Elle est motorisée par un bloc propulseur de référence composé  d'un moteur Porsche 2,8 l mono turbo refroidi par air dérivé du Porsche 935, couplé à une boite de vitesse synchronisée de type Porsche  962. Un modèle de confort d’utilisation, de performance et de fiabilité.

 

Un superbe historique de course sur les deux continents

La MARCH 85 G 06 est la plus fameuse des March 85 G puisqu’elle s’est distinguée aux Etats-Unis en 1985 au sein du team de John Kalagian avant de participer en 1986 au Championnat du monde d’endurance au sein du team Richard Cleare.
Parmi ses faits d’armes, une victoire en catégorie IMSA GTP aux 24 heures du Mans 1986 (14ème place au général) devant les Nissan d’usine qui courraient dans la même catégorie. L’équipage comptait parmi ses membres le jeune pilote Français Lionel Robert qui pour sa première participation à la course mancelle a obtenu une belle récompense.

 

Historique récent

Acquise aux USA par Ascott Collection en 2013, elle a été cédée en 2015 à un compétiteur Français qui l'a engagée dans les courses du Group C Racing ainsi qu'au Mans Classic 2018. Elle changea de mains en 2018 et fut engagée à nouveau dans les courses du Group C. 

 

Avec le recul de plusieurs années d’exploitation en courses historiques, cette MARCH PORSCHE 85G s'est révélée être une voiture particulièrement fiable et performante, les coûts d'exploitations étant inférieurs à ceux d'une Group C2 à moteur Cosworth par exemple. C'est la voiture idéale pour briguer la victoire en catégorie C1B.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2020

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron