wm-march-74s-13.jpg

1974 MARCH 74S 3-Litre Ford Cosworth V8

 

One of two March 74S powered by a Ford Cosworth DFV

Rare and competitive

Eligible for Classic Endurance Racing by Peter Auto & Masters Historic Sports Cars

ELIGIBILITY
VEHICULE ENQUIRY

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

MASTERS HISTORIC SPORTS CARS

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

SILVERSTONE CLASSIC

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
PRICE

UPON REQUEST

Mark

MARCH

Model

74S

Year

1974

Chassis number

74S-6

Frame

MONOCOQUE ALUMINUM

Body

FIBERGLASS

Engine

COSWORTH V8 DFV - 3.0 LITERS

Power

490 CH. @ 10,000 RPM

Gearbox

HEWLAND DG 500 5-SPEED

Weight

700 KG

A sport-prototype based on F2 – a fast, light car

Having entered its cars in most competition categories during the 70s and 80s, March Engineering is one of the United Kingdom’s emblematic manufacturers. From Formula Ford to Group C, from Can-Am to Formula 1 and Formula 2, March’s creations were driven by such legendary figures as Chris Amon, Jo Siffert, Niki Lauda, Ronnie Peterson and Henri Pescarolo. The March 74S is one of the prototypes built by the British manufacturer. These cars enjoyed International careers, between Europe, the United States and Japan. Only two March 74s were fitted with the famous F1-derived powertrain, the Ford Cosworth V8 engine. It’s one of these rare models from this particularly successful period, chassis 74S-06, that is now on sale at Ascott Collection. It’s a competitive car, capable of winning races in the Masters Historic Sports Cars series, Historic Sportscar Racing in the USA and Peter Auto’s Classic Endurance Racing series.

"March" for victory

The March project, involving Max Mosley, Alan Rees, Graham Coaker and Robin Herd, was launched in 1969. The four men, with each having their own field of expertise, quickly went into Formula 3, from their first year together. Right from 1970, they announced customer programmes in F1, F2, F3, and also in lower divisions like the Formula Ford, and even a programme in Can-Am. The small firm was not lacking in ambition, and was quickly rewarded with success.

1973 was actually a breaking point, with the F1 venture proving to be complicated. It was the first year in which F2 became more important for March than F1. With the new rules in place and the introduction of the 2.0-litre engines, March saw an opportunity to strengthen its presence in the F2 category. It was also a necessity, to guarantee its future. So, an agreement was signed with BMW. March committed to purchasing a number of engines each year to equip its customer cars, in return for enjoying an exclusive supply of these BMW engines. The agreement covered a total of 50 BMW M12/7 engines.

At the time, the new engines equipped first the March 732 (with ‘73’ standing for 1973 and ‘2’ for F2), and then some prototypes. Thus was born the March 73S (with ‘73’ again standing for 1973, and S for ‘Sport’), in parallel with the single-seater project.

March and its first 2-litre prototype

Nineteen March 73Ss were assembled. Eleven 74Ss were built, without any major modifications being made. While March had an agreement with German brand to equip all its F2 cars with BMW engines, the prototypes of the sports category were fitted with a wider variety of engines. This explains why some 73S chassis were given Cosworth or Abarth engines.

 
The March 74S-06

The sixth chassis of a series of 11 assembled in 1974, the March 74S-06, is one of two March 74Ss fitted with a 3-litre Ford Cosworth V8 engine. Entered for the Nürburgring Interserie race by Brian Henton in June 1974, our March 74S-06 had the status of a semi-official car. It was then entered in the World Sports Car Championship at the 1000 kilometers of Le Castellet and the 1000 kilometers of Brands Hatch. On the Paul Ricard Circuit, after qualifying for a place on the second row of the grid behind a Matra and a Mirage Golf, Vittorio Brambilla long held third place before being forced to retire. At Brands Hatch, the Bob Evans / Richard Lloyd pairing finished 8th.

Continuing its career in historical competition

After being acquired by the current owner in the early 2000s, it was completely restored, repainted in its original colours (it was orange at the time of purchase) and successfully entered for the Peter Auto’s Classic Endurance Racing series. Followers of the Peter Auto series will no doubt remember an epic battle for first place at the 2009 Spa Classic that its owner fought at the wheel of this March 74S against a formidable Porsche 936 …

Carefully maintained and prepared, the car will require the standard work to be done on it to get it back on the track. Light, powerful and rare, this MARCH 74S-06 is ready to excel once more in historic competitions.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

wm-march-74s-13.jpg

1974 MARCH 74 S  3-LITRE COSWORTH V8

L'une des deux MARCH 74S propulsée par un Moteur Ford Cosworth DFV 3 litres

Eligible aux USA & au Classic Endurance Racing by Peter Auto

Une voiture rare et compétitive

ELIGIBILITE
DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES
PRIX

SUR DEMANDE

Marque

MARCH

Modèle

74S

Année

1974

No de châssis

74S-6

Châssis

MONOCOQUE ALUMINIUM

Carrosserie

FIBRE DE VERRE

Moteur

COSWORTH V8 DFV - 3,0 LITRES

Puissance

470 CH. @ 10 000 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

HEWLAND DG 500 À 5 VITESSES

Poids

700 KG

Un sport-prototype sur base de F2, une voiture légère et rapide

March Engineering fait partie des constructeurs emblématiques venus du Royaume-Uni, engagé dans la plupart des compétitions automobiles au cours des années 70 et 80. De la Formule Ford au Group C, de la Can-Am à la Formule 1 et la Formule 2, les créations de March et ont été menées par des pilotes de légende tels Chris Amon, Jo Siffert, Niki Lauda, Ronnie Peterson ou Henri Pescarolo. La March 74S fait partie des prototypes construits par le fabricant Britannique. Les exemplaires eurent des carrières internationales, de l’Europe aux États-Unis en passant par le Japon. Seulement  deux March 74S recevront la fameuse motorisation dérivée de la F1, le moteur Ford Cosworth V8. C’est l’un de ces modèles rares, le châssis 74S-06 de cette période particulièrement faste que propose aujourd’hui à la vente Ascott Collection. Une voiture compétitive, capable de décrocher des victoires en Masters Historic Sports Cars, Historic Sportscar Racing aux USA et la série Classic Endurance Racing de Peter Auto.

En marche pour la victoire

Le projet March réunissant Max Mosley, Alan Rees, Graham Coaker et Robin Herd est lancé en 1969. Rapidement, les quatre aux hommes qui disposent chacun de leur propre champ d’expertise se lancent en Formule 3, dès la première année. Puis ils annoncent des programmes clients en F1, F2, F3, mais aussi dans des divisions inférieures comme la Formule Ford, et même un programme en Can-Am, les tout dès 1970. La petite structure ne manque pas d’ambition, et le succès arrive rapidement.

1973 est en réalité un point de rupture, l’aventure F1 est compliquée. Il s’agit de la première année au cours de laquelle la F2 devient plus importante pour March que la F1. Avec les nouvelles règles en place et l’intronisation des moteurs 2,0 litres, March voit là une opportunité de renforcer sa présence dans la catégorie F2. C’est aussi une obligation pour sauver son avenir. Alors, un engagement est signé avec BMW. March s'engage à acheter un certain nombre de moteurs chaque année pour équiper les voitures de clients, tout en pouvant bénéficier à titre exclusif de ces blocs BMW. L’accord porte sur un total de 50 moteurs BMW M12/7.

Les blocs moteurs commandés équipent alors les March 732 (73 pour 1973 et 2 pour F2) en priorité, puis se retrouvent sur des prototypes. C’est ainsi que naît la March 73S (là encore, 73 pour 1973, S pour « Sport »), en parallèle de l’engagement en monoplace.

 

March et son premier prototype 2 litres

La March 73S a été assemblée en 19 exemplaires. 11 exemplaires de 74S ont de leur côté été créés, sans recevoir pour autant de modifications majeures. Si March possédait un accord avec BMW pour équiper de série ses F2 avec des moteurs de la marque allemande, on pouvait retrouver en revanche sur les prototypes de la catégorie sport une plus grande variété de moteurs. Voilà qui explique que certains châssis de 73S aient reçu des moteurs Cosworth ou Abarth.

 

La March 74S-06 proposée à la vente

Sixième châssis d’une série de 11 assemblées en 1974, la March 74S-06 est l’une des deux March 74S ayant reçu un moteur Ford Cosworth V8 3litres. Engagée en Intersérie au Nürburgring par Brian Henton en Juin 1974, notre March 74S-06 avait le statut de voiture semi-officielle. Elle fut ensuite engagée dans le Championnat du Monde des voitures de sport aux 1000 kilomètres du Castellet ainsi qu’aux 1000 km de Brands Hatch. Sur le tracé du Circuit Paul Ricard. Qualifiée en deuxième ligne derrière les Matra et une Mirage Golf, Vittorio Brambilla resta longtemps en troisième place avant d'abandonner. A Brands Hatch, le duo composé de Bob Evans et Richard Lloyd termina en 8ème position.

Poursuite de sa carrière en compétition historique

Acquise par le propriétaire actuel au début des années 2000, elle fut entièrement restaurée, repeinte dans ses couleurs d’origine (elle était orange lors l’achat) et engagée avec succès dans le Championnat Classic Endurance Racing de Peter Auto. Les habitués des plateaux Peter Auto se souviennent certainement d’une bagarre épique pour la première place à Spa Classic 2009 que son propriétaire a menée au volant de cette March 74S contre une redoutable Porsche 936 …

Entretenue et préparée avec beaucoup de soin, cette MARCH nécessitera les travaux habituels pour la remettre en piste. Légère, puissante et rare, cette MARCH 74S-06 est prête à briller à nouveau dans les compétitions historiques.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon