003-5512.JPG

1965 LOTUS 26R "BIJOU"

  • A LOTUS 26R known and nicknamed "Bijou" by John Sheldon

  • Numerous victories at the Tour Auto, Modena Cento Ore and on the circuit

  • Maintained by a renowned French workshop

ELIGIBILITY

Ecrivez-nous

SIXTIES ENDURANCE

TOUR AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

CENTO ORE MODENA

MASTERS GENTLEMEN DRIVERS

HVM RACING 65

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

Brand

LOTUS

Model

26R

Year

1965

Chassis number

Châssis

STEEL

Engine

LOTUS FORD 1,558 cc

Powerful

178 CH. @ 9000 RPM

Gearbox

4 speed Tony Thompson

Weight

580 kg

Ecrivez-nous

After the Lotus Elite, which was launched at the end of the 1950s and produced just over 1,000 cars, Colin Chapman took a radical turn in 1962. The Elite with its fibreglass monocoque chassis was a success in competition, notably at Le Mans (with six class wins), but it was too expensive to build and too complex to develop. The Lotus Elite prompted Colin Chapman to go back to basics. The Elan was a model of simplicity. Developed in competition as the 26R, the Elan has enjoyed many successes in competition. Today it is a perfect car for historic competitions thanks to its lightness, playfulness and reliability. Ascott Collection is pleased to offer for sale a Lotus Elan 26R well known to historic racing enthusiasts: the Lots 26R ex John Sheldon and nicknamed "Bijou".

 

The birth of the Lotus Elan 26R

When it arrived, the Lotus 26 was a return to Colin Chapman's roots, a car that reflected his vision that a car should be light, thin and agile. It was the first Lotus not to be specifically designed for racing. Indeed, its predecessor, the Lotus Elite, was designed primarily as a road car for the smaller classes of motor sport from the outset, and in particular was designed to go for the Performance Index win. This was clearly not the ambition of the Elan. 

However, the first owners could not help but take the Elan to the track. Unsuited to this environment, not optimised to be pushed to its limits, the Elan was not satisfactory. Lotus resisted the idea of modifying the car to make it more suitable for racing. Chapman left it to private teams to work on the Elan. Ian Walker and Graham Warner both sought to make the Lotus Elan a beast of the track. Their respective teams - Ian Walker Racing and The Chequered Flag - made major advances on the model. 

The installation of rear wheel scoops, optimised brake and differential cooling, the replacement of the retractable headlights with fixed units and the installation of an NACA socket were all part of the package. At Graham Warner in particular, the work went further with wider wheel arches to accommodate adequate tyres, while the suspension received better sized anti-roll bars. Jackie Stewart and Mike Spence took the wheel of the Lotus Elan LOV1, a sort of premise of the 26R.

Faced with this success, and while the Elite continued to represent a financial abyss for the British brand, Colin Chapman finally decided to develop a competition version of the Elan. Its mission was to replace the Seven. Much of the work initiated by Ian Walker and Graham Warner was taken up and transposed to the 26R. 

Mechanically, the 26R featured lightweight racing wishbones, sliding spline driveshafts instead of rubber seals, larger anti-roll bars and reinforcement around the suspension mounting points. The pedals have been repositioned for easier heel-toeing, dual circuit brakes with twin master cylinders and light alloy calipers are standard. 

Suspension is provided by steel wishbones with coil springs/dampers at the front, and a large lower wishbone and spring/damper unit at the rear. The fibreglass bodywork is shaped by Ron Hickman.

The Elan's 140bhp Cosworth twin-cam four-cylinder engine was designed by Harry Mundy. The former BRM and Coventry Climax man took over the Ford 116E block with displacement increased to 1558cc from 1499cc on the first version.

 

Lotus Elan 26/4642 26R Bijou

The car offered for sale by Ascott Collection is a Lotus Elan S2, chassis number 26/4642, upgraded to a 26R. Prepared at Ricky Higgs Preparations, it has all the elements of a genuine 26R. 

It is regularly entered in rallies with great success. John Sheldon has won the 2004 Tour of Spain, Tour Auto, Rallye de Mallorca and the 2005 Coppa Costa Smerelda and the 2008 Modena Cento Ore. The car also has many category wins and has participated in events in Spain but also in France such as the Rallye National des Vins Mâcon VHC, the Rallye Historique du Var or the Tour de Corse Historique.

Acquired in 2018 by its current French owner, it has been entrusted to a reputable workshop in France - ATS in Le Mans who have carried out extensive work which is documented by the invoices for the work. "BIJOU" is very well prepared for competition: thanks to its light weight (below homologation weight), an engine that delivers 178 hp at 9000 rpm, it is a very fast Lotus 26R on special stages as well as on the circuit.

It has recently been successfully entered in various races in France. Its PTH is valid until 2025. It is ready to be entered for the Tour Auto!

CALL US: +33 9 67 33 48 43

ENQUIRE ABOUT THIS CAR

Thank you for your message

003-5512.JPG

1965 LOTUS ELAN 26R "BIJOU"

  • Une LOTUS 26R connue et surnommée "Bijou" par John Sheldon

  • Nombreuses victoires au Tour Auto, Modena Cento Ore et sur circuit

  • Entretenue par un atelier Français réputé

ELIGIBILITE

Ecrivez-nous

SIXTIES ENDURANCE

TOUR AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

CENTO ORE MODENA

MASTERS GENTLEMEN DRIVERS

HVM RACING 65

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

Marque

LOTUS

Modèle

26R

Année

1965

No de châssis

Châssis

ACIER

Moteur

LOTUS FORD 1,558 cc

Puissance

178 CH. @ 9000 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

4 vitesses Tony Thompson

Poids

580 kg

Ecrivez-nous

Lotus Elan 26R

Après la Lotus Elite débarquée à la fin des années 50 et conçue à un peu plus de 1000 exemplaires, Colin Chapman prenait en 1962 un virage radical. Car si l’Elite et sa caisse monocoque en fibre de verre faisant office de châssis brillait en compétition et notamment aux 24 Heures du Mans (avec six victoires de catégorie glanées), elle s’avérait trop coûteuse à fabriquer et trop complexe à mettre au point. La Lotus Elite a poussé Colin Chapman à revoir sa copie et à revenir aux fondamentaux. L’Elan était un modèle de simplicité. Développée en compétition en devenant la 26R, l’Elan a glané de nombreux succès en compétition. Elle est aujourd’hui une voiture parfaite pour les compétitions historiques grâce à sa légèreté, son caractère joueur et sa fiabilité. Ascott Collection est heureux de vous proposer la Lotus Elan 26R « Bijou » à la vente. 

 

La naissance de la Lotus Elan 26R

Lorsqu’elle est lancée, la Lotus 26 est pour Colin Chapman un retour aux sources, une voiture fidèle à sa vision qu’une auto doit être légère, fine et agile. Elle était alors la première Lotus à ne pas être spécifiquement conçue pour la course. En effet, la Lotus Elite qui l'a précédée a été conçue avant tout comme une voiture de route adaptée dès le début pour les petites catégories du sport-automobile, et en particulier taillée pour aller chercher la victoire à l’Indice de performance. Ce n’était clairement pas l’ambition de l’Elan. 

Pourtant, les premiers propriétaires ne pouvaient s’empêcher d’emmener l’Elan sur circuit. Inadaptée à cet environnement, non-optimisée pour être poussée dans ses retranchements, l’Elan n’apportait pas satisfaction. Chez Lotus, on résista longtemps à l'idée de modifier la voiture pour la rendre plus adaptée à la course. Chapman laissa des équipes privées se charger de travailler sur l’Elan. Ian Walker et Graham Warner cherchèrent tous les deux de leur côté à faire de la Lotus Elan une bête de la piste. Leurs deux équipes respectives - Ian Walker Racing et The Chequered Flag - permirent des avancées majeures sur le modèle. 

Installation d’écopes au niveau des roues arrière, optimisation du refroidissement des freins et du différentiel, remplacement des phares escamotables par des éléments fixes, installation d’une prise NACA, tout y était. Chez Graham Warner notamment, le travail etait poussé avec des arches de roues plus larges pour accueillir des pneus adéquates, tandis que la suspension recevait des barres antiroulis mieux dimensionnées. Jackie Stewart et Mike Spence ont pris le volant de la Lotus Elan LOV1, sorte de prémices de la 26R.

Car face à ce succès, et alors que l’Elite continue de représenter un gouffre financier pour la marque anglaise, Colin Chapman se décide enfin à développer une version compétition de l’Elan. Elle a alors pour mission de remplacer la Seven. Beaucoup de travaux initiés par Ian Walker et Graham Warner sont repris et transposés sur la 26R. 

Sur le plan mécanique, la 26R se distingue par des triangles légers de compétition, des arbres de transmission à cannelures coulissantes à la place des joints en caoutchouc, des barres antiroulis plus grandes et un renforcement autour des points de fixation de la suspension. Les pédales ont été repositionnées pour faciliter le talon-pointe, les freins à double circuit avec deux maîtres-cylindres et des étriers en alliage léger sont de série. 

La suspension est assurée par des triangles en acier avec ressorts hélicoïdaux/amortisseurs à l'avant, et à l'arrière par un large triangle inférieur et un ensemble ressort/amortisseur. La carrosserie en fibre de verre est façonnée par Ron Hickman.

Le quatre cylindres Cosworth de 140 ch à deux arbres à cames de l'Elan a été conçu par Harry Mundy. L'ancien responsable de BRM et de Coventry Climax a repris le bloc Ford 116E avec une cylindrée poussée à 1558 cm³ contre 1499 cm³ sur la première version.

 

Lotus Elan 26/4642 26R Bijou

La voiture proposée à la vente par Ascott Collection est une Lotus Elan S2, châssis numéro 26/4642, transformée en 26R. Préparée chez Ricky Higgs Preparations, elle reprend tous les éléments d’une authentique 26R. 

Elle est engagée régulièrement en rallye avec beaucoup de succès. En effet John Sheldon compte des victoires au général au Tour d’Espagne 2004, au Tour Auto, au Rallye de Majorque et à la Coppa Costa Smerelda 2005 ainsi qu’au Modena Cento Ore 2008. La voiture compte également beaucoup de victoires de catégorie et a participé à des épreuves en Espagne mais aussi en France comme le Rallye National des Vins Mâcon VHC, le Rallye Historique du Var ou le Tour de Corse Historique.

Acquise en 2018 par son propriétaire Français actuel, elle a été confiée à un atelier réputé en France -  ATS au Mans qui a effectué d’importants travaux qui sont documentés par les factures des travaux. "BIJOU" dispose d'une excellente préparation pour la compétition : grâce à son poids plume (en dessous du poids d'homologation), d'un moteur qui délivre 178 chevaux à 9 000 touts/min, c'est une Lotus 26R très rapide sur les spéciales comme sur circuit.

 

Elle a récemment été engagée à différentes courses en France avec succès. Son PTH est valide jusqu’en 2025. Elle est prête à être engagée pour briguer la victoire au Tour Auto !

APPELEZ-NOUS : +33 9 67 33 48 43

ECRIVEZ-NOUS

Thank you for your message