SOLD

1959 LOTUS Elite S1 - FIA

Lotus Elite Sold.jpg
Lotus_Elite_for_sale_1_centrée.jpg
Lotus Elite for sale Ascott  8.JPG
Lotus Elite for sale Ascott  2.JPG
Lotus Elite for sale Ascott  7.JPG
Lotus Elite for sale Ascott  5.JPG
Lotus Elite for sale Ascott  6.JPG
Lotus Elite for sale Ascott  4.JPG
Lotus Elite for sale Ascott  3.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA S1 for sale  13.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA S1 for sale  3.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA S1 for sale  4.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA S1 for sale  15.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA S1 for sale  14.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA S1 for sale  11.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 23.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA S1 for sale  9.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 17.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 7.jpg
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 47.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 50.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 45.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 44.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 20.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 11.jpg
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 22.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 8.jpg
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 48.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 25.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 13.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 26.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 49.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 15.jpg
Lotus Elite S1 FIA for sale sticker Ecurie du soleil.jpg
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 19.jpg
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 22.jpg
Lotus Elite FIA S1 for sale  5.JPG
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 23.jpg
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 24.jpg
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 26.jpg
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 32.jpg
Lotus Elite FIA For Sale 33.jpg
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 54.JPG
Lotus Elie S1 FIA for sale 56.JPG
The Lotus Elite is an innovative car with smooth and fluid lines ...

The first Lotus Elite saw the light of day at the end of the 1950s. At that time, the Elite caused a sensation since it had a self-supporting fiberglass monocoque structure. Even if at the beginning, this choice created production difficulties, it made it possible to reach a record weight of 560 kg empty. On the design side, the Lotus Elite was not to be outdone: Peter Kirwan-Taylor and Frank Costin (aerodynamicist at Havilland Aéronautique) designed a body with soft and fluid shapes that were particularly successful. Equipped with independent suspensions and four Girling disc brakes, the Elite benefited from developments carried out in competition by Team Lotus. On the engine side, Chapman naturally chooses the Coventry Climax FWE of 1.2 l which has the advantage of reduced weight thanks to its aluminum construction.

 

From the successful debut of the 1959 24 Hours of Le Mans ...

In 1959, Lotus entered a Lotus Elite at the 24 hours of Le Mans. She won the event on the performance index. After its brilliant debut, the Elite will participate in many competitions in England, on the European continent as well as on the American continent.

 

A car eligible for the greatest historical events and still winning many victories ...

Today, in historic races, it is still one of the best cars to contend for an index victory. Whether in Sixties' Endurance, Tour Auto or Le Mans Classic, the Lotus Elite are almost always on the podium.

This is one of the reasons the Elite is such a popular car today. Its beauty, its ease of use, its low operating cost as well as its eligibility for the majority of the most beautiful events (including Goodwood Revival) allow it to concentrate many assets for a single car ...

 
The Lotus Elite 1101 has a long history ...

The car presented by Ascott Collection is a car with a known history and validated by the Lotus Elite register.

Delivered in 1959 by the Lotus importer in the USA Chamberlain, she spent most of her life on the American continent. A report on this Elite dating from December 1993 was published in the American magazine "  Sport Cars International  ". That year, it was imported to Italy where it participated in historic races before being acquired by Ascott Collection and imported to France in 2014.

 

... and it offers the best level of performance.

This superb Elite has benefited from the best preparation, whether in terms of the chassis or the engine, as evidenced by its long track record in historic races: recently, it won the Italian Hill Climb Championship (2012) which it had already won. 10 years ago. It is therefore a very competitive car. Since its last season, it has received a new engine and has undergone a complete overhaul.

The chassis has been reinforced at the level of the rear axle and front axle mounting. The engine components were acquired from the best specialists: MK14, Tony Mantle and the pistons come from CPS Italy. The MG gearbox is completely overhauled.

The interior is neat. We find there, a hoop in accordance with the standards, a Stack instrumentation, the extinguisher etc ...

This Elite has a complete file and its Historical Technical Passport (PTH). She's ready to run.

 

SOLD

 

Technical characteristics

: Lotus

: Elite

: 1959

: 1101

: Polyester

: Polyester  

: Coventry-Climax  FWE of 1  216  cm

: 120 ch. @ 8,000 rpm

: MG

: 580 kg

Mark

Model

Year     

Chassis No.

Frame

Body

Motor

Power

Gearbox

Weight

Eligibility (click on the links)
AUTO TOUR
LE MANS CLASSIC
SIXTIES 'ENDURANCE
Contact us about this car

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2019

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

#historic race car for sale #historic racing car for sale #lmp for sale #group c for sale #lmp1 for sale #racecarsdirect #classicdriver #endurance legends for sale  #gt1 for sale #gt2 for sale

1959 LOTUS Elite S1 - FIA

La Lotus Elite est une voiture innovante aux lignes douces et fluides...

Les premières Lotus Elite ont vu le jour à la fin des années 50. À cette époque, l'Elite fit sensation puisqu’elle disposait d’une structure monocoque autoportante en fibre de verre. Même si au début, ce choix engendra des difficultés de production, il permit d'atteindre un poids record de 560 kg à vide. Côté design, la Lotus Elite n'était pas en reste : Peter Kirwan-Taylor et Frank Costin (aérodynamicien chez Havilland Aéronautique) dessinèrent une carrosserie aux formes douces et fluides particulièrement réussies. Dotée de suspensions indépendantes et de quatre freins à disque Girling, l'Elite bénéficiait des développements menés en compétition par le Team Lotus. Côté motorisation, Chapman choisit naturellement le Coventry Climax FWE de 1,2 l qui présente l'avantage d'un poids réduit grâce à sa construction en aluminium.

 

Des débuts aux 24 heures du Mans de 1959 couronnés de succès...

En 1959, Lotus engagea une Lotus Elite au 24 heures du Mans. Elle remporta l'épreuve à l'indice de performance. Après ses brillants débuts, l'Elite participera à de nombreuses compétitions en Angleterre, sur le continent Européen ainsi que sur le continent Américain.

 

Une voiture éligible aux plus grandes épreuves historiques et remportant encore de nombreuses victoires...

De nos jours, dans le cadre des courses historiques, c'est encore l'une des meilleures voitures pour briguer une victoire à l'indice. Que cela soit en Sixties' Endurance, au Tour Auto ou au Mans Classic, les Lotus Elite sont pratiquement toujours sur le podium.

C'est l’une des raisons pour laquelle l'Elite est une voiture très recherchée actuellement. Sa beauté, sa facilité d'utilisation, son faible coût d'exploitation ainsi que son éligibilité à la majorité des plus belles épreuves (y compris Goodwood Revival) lui permettent de concentrer de nombreux atouts pour une seule voiture ...

 
La Lotus Elite 1101 a un historique connu...

La voiture présentée par Ascott Collection est une voiture offrant un historique connu et validé par le registre Lotus Elite.

Livrée en 1959 par l’importateur Lotus aux USA Chamberlain, elle a passé la plus grande partie de sa vie sur le continent américain. Un reportage sur cette Elite datant de décembre 1993 a été publié dans la revue Américaine « Sport Cars International ». Cette année là, elle fut importée en Italie où elle participa à des courses historiques avant d’être acquise par Ascott Collection et importée en France en 2014.

 

...et elle offre le meilleur niveau de performance.

Cette superbe Elite a bénéficié de la meilleure préparation que cela soit au niveau du châssis que du moteur comme le prouve son long palmarès en courses historiques : dernièrement, elle a remporté le Championnat Italien de course de côte (2012) qu'elle avait déjà remporté 10 ans auparavant. Il s’agit donc d’une voiture très compétitive. Depuis sa dernière saison, elle a reçu un moteur neuf et a fait l’objet d’une révision complète.

Le châssis a été renforcé au niveau de la fixation du pont arrière et du train avant. Les composants du moteur ont été acquis auprès des meilleurs spécialistes : MK14, Tony Mantle et les pistons proviennent de CPS Italie. La boîte de vitesse MG est entièrement révisée.

L'habitacle est soigné. On y retrouve, un arceau aux normes, une instrumentation Stack, l'extincteur etc...

Cette Elite dispose d'un dossier complet et de son Passeport Technique Historique (PTH). Elle est prête à courir.

 

VENDUE

 

Caractéristiques techniques

: Lotus

: Elite

: 1959

: 1101

: Polyester

: Polyester   

: Coventry-Climax  FWE de 1 216 cm

: 120 ch. @ 8 000 t/mn

: MG

: 580 kg

Marque

Modèle

Année     

No de Châssis

Châssis

Carrosserie

Moteur

Puissance

Boite de vitesse

Poids

Eligibilité (cliquez sur les liens)
Contactez-nous au sujet de cette voiture