1999LeMans24_jb_1580_edited.jpg

1999 LOLA B98/10 LMP900 HU02

  • Driven by Jan Lammers, winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, and twice winner of the 24 Hours of Daytona, FIA WSC World Champion in 2002 & 2003

  • 24 Hours of Daytona, 12 Hours of Sebring and 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1999, 24 Hours of Daytona in 2000 

  • Endurance Racing Legends Champion in 2019

  • Carbon tub and sequential gearbox

  • Eligible for Gulf Historic, Masters Endurance Legends, Daytona Classic, Endurance Racing Legends and Le Mans Classic 

ELIGIBILITY

TECHNICAL CHARACTERISTICS

ENDURANCE RACING LEGENDS by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

LE MANS 24 HOURS SUPPORT RACE

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS

GULF CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

Mark

LOLA

Model

B98/10 LMP 900

Year

1999

Chassis No.

HU02

Frame

CARBON

Body

CARBON

Brakes

CARBON or STEEL

Engine

FORD V8 6 LITER

Power

625 HP.

Gearbox

6-SPEED SEQUENTIAL GEARBOX

Weight

920 KG

Unveiled in Atlanta in September 1998, the Lola B98/10 marked the return of the Huntingdon constructor to the world of endurance racing. After a long absence since 1992 and the Lola T92/10, the English firm came back into business with a fine-looking, top-performance prototype. In the shadow of the "big" constructors, this Lola had nothing to be ashamed of.

The Lola B98/10: the return to endurance racing 

At the end of the 1990s, Lola embarked on an ambitious project: to create an affordable prototype for racing teams, capable of competing in endurance racing at the very highest level anywhere in the world. The result was the B98/10, designed to compete in the American Le Mans Series, the International Sports Racing Series and, of course, the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The project was led by Peter Weston, one of the first to join Lola after Martin Birrane acquired the firm. 

The design may seem quite similar to other prototypes of the time - the Nissan R391, the Courage C52, the Ferrari 333SP or the Riley & Scott MKIII - all racing at the same time as the B98/10. And in fact, Peter Weston was indeed hired to design a car capable of beating the Ferrari 333SPs and the Riley & Scott MKIIIs (hence the “B” in the name of the new prototypes). The new car was an SR1 which could be modified to compete in both the American Le Mans Series and the 24 Hours of Le Mans, and in the LMP900 category.

A number of unique features set the little English newcomer apart right from the start - the front of the car, for example, which has such extremely curved wings that the headlights are mounted on the side. The air intakes are situated just beneath the roll-bar as in a single-seater, thereby freeing up a little more space on the front bonnet, designed entirely for speed. The car is built around a carbon fibre monocoque with an FIA and ACO approved crash box, ensuring safety and rigidity for an ultra-modern car.

A major wind tunnel testing programme was undertaken to optimize the B98/10’s road-handling performances.

Among the other specific features of this Lola B98/10, we could cite, for example, fast access to the shock absorbers and anti-roll bars without needing to remove the car body. This allows greatly reduced intervention times for making adjustments or changes. The six-speed sequential gearbox using Hewland parts and the cooling system are both extremely efficient. In addition, the geometry of the steering was developed with the finest precision, giving a constant, highly communicative steering force that is reassuring for the driver.

Now let's talk of speed. Several engines were compatible with this Lola B98/10. This was the case, in particular, of the Roush Ford 6.0-litre V8 engine, which the car’s development was built around. But if the customers so wished, it was also possible to fit a Ford V6 turbo, a Lotus V8, a Chevrolet V8, a BMW 6-cylinder in line or even a Judd V10 engine. It was a car designed for competition customers, that seduced several teams right from the start. It must be said that its very first official run, the day after the first edition of the Petit Le Mans, was impressive. According to on-the-spot witnesses, the Lola B98 / 10, with a Ford engine and James Weaver at the wheel, lapped in 1'12''4, while Allan McNish had placed a Porsche 911 GT1 in pole position in 1'13''7 ...

The Lola b98/10 attracts several teams, including Franz Konrad's team

Since Porsche was no longer involved in prototype competitions, Franz Konrad turned to Lola. He who, with his team, had won the last two Porsche Cups, suddenly had to get by without the Weissach firm. He bought one of the first Lola chassis B98/10s to be produced, the HU2 (the second in a total series of 8 open-cockpit cars). The idea was then to fit a Porsche engine, the one that equipped the victorious 911 GT1 in 1998. But Porsche did not agree with the idea (this engine, relieved of its turbos, was fitted in the new 911 GT3 entered in LM GT races). So, Franz Konrad had to find an alternative solution. 

Same thing at Kremer Racing. The firm belonging to the Kremer brothers, which Erwin now managed alone, immediately jumped on the Lola B98/10 (chassis HU07). The winning team at the 24 Hours of Le Mans 1979 and the 24 Hours of Daytona 1995 with Porsche, after 30 years of faithful partnership, went over to Lola, with the intention of causing a surprise.

Before the season even began, the Lola B98/10 clan was looking in fine fettle. Konrad Motorsport, Kremer Racing, DAMS and Intersport Racing were all eager to join battle.

The Lola B98/10 Chassis HU02 : 24 Hours of Daytona, 12 Hours and Sebring and 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1999

Jan Lammers, winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans and two times winner of the 24 Hours of Daytona, was the pillar of the Konrad Motorsport Team which entered the LOLA B98/10 chassis HU02. The program was very strong in 1999 with the 24 Hours of Daytona, then the 12 Hours of Sebring and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The car performed well in qualifying but struggled to conclude in the races. The B98/10 was modified for the Le Mans track, with an elongated rear bonnet (long tail) and a single diffuser that the other two B98/10s starting the race did not have. It was a unique body that set the HU02 - No. 26 - apart from the other Lola B98/10s. The English prototype was agile, and in the race, the Lola was flashed at 319 km/h. Not so far from the 324 km/h of the BMW V12 LMR n°15 victorious that year.

Forced to retire due to a broken gearbox, the Lola's career continued in 2000.

 

2000: P2 in the Daytona Test and 24 hours of Daytona

It returned to Daytona in 2000 for the Daytona Test where it finished second, behind the Ferrari 333 SP driven by Mauro Baldi and ahead of an armada of prototypes: the Ferrari 333 SP of the Risi Competition team driven by Ralf Kelleners and Alex Cafi, several Riley & Scott Mk3s, Reynard 2QKs and two Cadillac LMP.

At the 24 Hours of Daytona in 2000, it was a real hecatomb for the prototypes which allowed the official VIPER GTS/R to win. With a very good time of 1'42''797, which allowed it to start from 7th place on the grid (the pole position was signed in 1'41''002), HU02 did not see the finish line due to engine failure.

The car then came back to Europe, to race one last time, under the colours of the Franz Konrad team, in the SRWC round at Monza. After that, it was the Eventus Motorsport team that entered the HU2. The German team raced it in the FIA SCC series with, in particular, an 8th place at the Brno round.

Winner of the 2019 Endurance Racing Legends Championship

The car was then entered in the Historic Sportscar Racing series from 2006 to 2008, by Robert Blain.

Acquired in 2018 by Ascott Collection while the car was still in the United States, Xavier Micheron decided to enter it at Daytona Classic. It was his first time driving at Daytona and the first time he drove the HU02. Qualifying in second place, he soon encountered engine sensor problems. The car was then imported to France and entered in the Endurance Racing Legends. Both fast and reliable, this LOLA B98/10 allowed Xavier to win the 2019 Endurance Racing Legends by Peter Auto Championship in the Proto A category which has since become the LMP1 A category.

HU02 which is the only LOLA B98/10 with a Le Mans aerodynamic kit with the long tail is now available for sale.  This LOLA B98/10 will certainly allow its future owner to fight for an overall victory in Endurance Racing Legends by Peter Auto and Le Mans Classic. This LMP900 is also eligible for the most prestigious races in the USA, in Masters Endurance Legends and Gulf Historic. 

Photo in period: John Brooks

Photo in historic racing: Luc Joly

Statical photos: Cathy Dubuisson for Ascott Collection

CALL US: +33 9 67 33 48 43

ENQUIRE ABOUT THIS CAR

Thank you for your message

1999LeMans24_jb_1580_edited.jpg

1999 LOLA B98/10 LMP900 HU02

​​

  • Pilotée par Jan Lammers, vainqueur des 24 heures du Mans et des 24 Heures de Daytona à deux reprises, Champion du Monde FIA WSC en 2002 & 2003

  • 24 Heures de Daytona, 12 Heures de Sebring et 24 heures du Mans en 1999, 24 heures de Daytona en 2000  

  • Championne Endurance Racing Legends en 2019

  • Coque carbone et boite à vitesse séquentielle

  • Eligible à nombreuses courses historiques dont Gulf Historic, Masters Endurance Legends, Endurance Racing Legends et le Mans Classic 

ELIGIBILITE

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

ENDURANCE RACING LEGENDS by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

LE MANS 24 HOURS SUPPORT RACE

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS

GULF CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

Marque

LOLA

Modèle

B98/10

Année

1999

No de châssis

HU02

Châssis

CARBONE

Carrosserie

CARBONE

Freins

CARBONE ou ACIER

Moteur

FORD V8 6 LITRES

Puissance

625 CH.

Boite de vitesse

6 VITESSES SEQUENTIELLE

Poids

920 KG

Dévoilée à Atlanta en septembre 1998, la Lola B98/10 marquait le retour du constructeur de Huntingdon dans le monde de l’endurance. Après une longue absence depuis 1992 et la Lola T92/10, les Anglais revenaient aux affaires avec un prototype à l’allure fine et aux performances excellentes. Dans l’ombre des « grands » constructeurs, cette Lola n’avait pas à rougir.

 

Lola B98/10, le retour de Lola en Endurance

Lola se lance à la fin des années 90 dans un projet ambitieux : créer un prototype abordable, adapté à des équipes clientes, capable de se battre au plus haut niveau des courses d’endurance partout dans le monde. Ainsi naît la B98/10, dont l’ambition est d’aller se battre tant en American Le Mans Series qu’en International Sports Racing Series et, bien entendu, aux 24 Heures du Mans.

Le projet est confié à Peter Weston, un des premiers à rejoindre Lola à la suite de l’acquisition du constructeur par Martin Birrane. 

La conception peut sembler assez similaire à d’autres prototypes de l’époque, Nissan R391, Courage C52 et autres Ferrari 333SP, toutes contemporaines de la B98/10. C’est d’ailleurs avec pour consigne de créer une voiture capable de battre les Ferrari 333SP et les Riley & Scott MKIII que Peter Weston débute son travail (d’où le B dans le nom des nouveaux prototypes). La voiture est une SR1, modifiable pour aller en American Le Mans Series et aux 24 Heures du Mans en catégorie LMP900. 

Plusieurs éléments uniques distinguent d’emblée la petite anglaise. C’est le cas de la partie avant de la voiture qui présente des ailes arrondies avec des phares montés sur le côté, en raison de l'angle de courbure extrême des ailes. Les prises d’air sont placées sous l’arceau de façon similaire à une monoplace, ce qui libère encore un peu plus le capot avant, pensé pour la vitesse. La voiture est construite autour d’une monocoque en fibre de carbone avec un crash box homologué FIA et ACO. De la sécurité et de la rigidité pour une voiture ultra-moderne. Un important programme d'essais en soufflerie a permis de mettre l'accent sur quatre objectifs : 

  • Obtenir un taux de portance élevé, avec de faibles comme de forts appuis ;

  • Développer un appui frontal élevé pour compenser l’effet de la partie arrière ;

  • Réduire les variations à haute vitesse ;

  • Obtenir une pression d'admission d'air optimale. 

Continuons parmi les caractéristiques spécifiques de cette Lola B98/10. Citons par exemple l’accès rapide aux amortisseurs et aux barres antiroulis sans avoir besoin de retirer la carrosserie. Ceci permet un temps d’intervention très court pour des réglages ou changements. La boîte de vitesses séquentielle à 6 rapports utilisant des pièces Hewland et le système de refroidissement sont tous deux extrêmement efficaces. De plus, la géométrie de la direction a bénéficié d'un développement minutieux, avec une force de braquage constante très communicative, sécurisante pour le pilote.

La vitesse, parlons-en. Plusieurs motorisations étaient compatibles avec cette Lola B98/10. C’est le cas notamment du Ford 6.0 litres V8 Roush, autour duquel le développement a été mené. Mais, à la demande des clients, il était possible d’adapter des blocs Ford V6 turbo, Lotus V8, Chevrolet V8, un 6 cylindres en ligne BMW ​​et même un Judd V10.

La voiture séduit plusieurs Teams dont celui de Franz Konrad

Franz Konrad qui roula habituellement sur Porsche se tourne vers Lola pour la saison 1999.  Lui dont l’équipe a remporté les deux dernières Porsche Cup en date doit se débrouiller sans la maison de Weissach. Il acquiert ainsi l’un des premiers châssis de Lola B98/10 produit, HU2 (le deuxième d’une série de 8 voitures au total). L’idée est alors d’y installer un bloc Porsche, celui qui équipait la 911 GT1 victorieuse en 1998. Mais du côté de Porsche, c’est non (ce moteur, délesté de ses turbos, migre dans la nouvelle 911 GT3 engagée en LM GT). Alors, Franz Konrad va devoir trouver une alternative. 

Même constat chez Kremer Racing. La structure des frères Kremer, qu’Erwin mène désormais seul, porte son dévolu sur la Lola B98/10 (châssis HU07). Oui, l’équipe victorieuse des 24 Heures du Mans 1979 et des 24 Heures de Daytona 1995 avec Porsche, fidèle depuis 30 ans, passe chez Lola et compte créer la surprise.

Avant même que la saison ne commence, le clan des Lola B98/10 a fière allure. Konrad Motorsport, Kremer Racing et DAMS ou encore Intersport Racing veulent en découdre.

 

Lola B98/10 Châssis HU02 :
1999: 24 Heures de Daytona, 12 Heures de Sebring et les 24 heures du Mans

Jan Lammers le vainqueur des 24 Heures du Mans et double vainqueurs des 24 Heures de Daytona est le pilier du Team Konrad Motorsport qui engage la  LOLA B98/10 châssis HU02. Le programme est très sérieux en 1999 avec les 24 Heures de Daytona, puis les 12 heures de Sebring et, les 24 Heures du Mans. La voiture performe en qualification même peine à conclure en course. La voiture est modifiée pour la piste mancelle, avec un capot plus effilé à l’arrière (queue longue) et un diffuseur unique, que n’arborent pas les deux autres B98/10 au départ. Une carrosserie unique qui démarque HU02 des autres Lola B98/10. Le prototype anglais est agile, et en course, la Lola sera flashée à 319 km/h. Pas si loin des 324 km/h de la BMW V12 LMR n°15 victorieuse cette année là. Contrainte à l’abandon sur casse de boîte à vitesse, la carrière de cette Lola se poursuit en 2000.

 

2000: P2 au Daytona test puis les 24 heures de Daytona

Elle revient à Daytona en 2000 pour le Daytona Test où elle se classe en deuxième position, derrière la Ferrari 333 SP menée par Mauro Baldi et devant un armada de prototypes : la Ferrari 333 SP du team Risi Competition pilotée par Ralf Kelleners et Alex Cafi, plusieurs Riley & Scott Mk3, Reynard 2QK et deux Cadillac LMP.

Aux 24 Heures de Daytona en 2000, c’est une véritable hécatombe pour les prototypes ce qui permet à la VIPER GTS/R officielle de s’imposer. Avec un très bon temps en 1’42’’797 qui lui permet de s’élancer de la 7e place sur la grille (la pole position était signée en 1’41’’002), HU02 ne verra pas l’arrivée sur panne moteur. La voiture bascule ensuite en Europe, une dernière fois sous les couleurs de l’équipe de Franz Konrad, pour la manche de Monza en SRWC. Ensuite, c’est l’équipe Eventus Motorsport qui engage HU2. L’équipe allemande s’inscrit en FIA SCC avec notamment une 8ème place lors de la manche de Brno. 

 

Une brillante seconde vie en courses historiques : Vainqueur du Championnat Endurance Racing Legends en 2019

La voiture a ensuite été engagée par Robert Blain en Historic Sportscar Racing de 2006 à 2008 avant d'être acquise en 2018 par Ascott Collection. Xavier Micheron décida de l’engager à Daytona Classic. C’était la première fois qu’il roulait à Daytona et la première fois aussi qu’il pilotait HU02. Se qualifiant en deuxième position, il rencontra rapidement des problèmes de capteur moteur. La voiture fut ensuite importée en France et engagée en Endurance Racing Legends. A la fois rapide et fiable cette LOLA B98/10 permis à Xavier de remporter le Championnat Endurance Racing Legends by Peter Auto 2019 en Proto A qui est depuis est devenue la catégorie LMP1 A. 

​HU02 qui est la seule LOLA B98/10 disposant d’un kit aérodynamique Le Mans avec la queue longue est désormais disponible à la vente.  Cette LOLA B98/10 permettra certainement à son futur propriétaire de se battre pour une victoire au classement général en Endurance Racing Legends by Peter Auto et le Mans Classic.

Cette LMP900 est aussi éligibles aux courses les plus prestigieuses aux États-Unis, en Masters Endurance Legends et à Gulf Historic. 

Photos historiques: John Brooks

Photos en courses historiques: Luc Joly

Photos statiques: Cathy Dubuisson for Ascott Collection

APPELEZ-NOUS : +33 9 67 33 48 43

ECRIVEZ-NOUS

Thank you for your message