lola%2520t70%2520m3b%2520for%2520sale%25

1969 LOLA MKIIIB

 

Eligible for FIA Masters Historic Sports Car, Classic Endurance Racing by Peter Auto, le Mans classic, Daytona Classic

ELIGIBILITY
VEHICULE ENQUIRY

FIA MASTERS SPORTS CARS

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

TECHNICAL CHARACTERISTICS
PRICE

SOLD

Mark

LOLA

Model

MKIIIB

Year

1969

Chassis number

SL 76/142

Frame

MONOCOQUE ALUMINUM

Body

FIBERGLASS

Engine

CHEVROLET 5 LITERS

Power

520 CH. @ 6,800 RPM

Gearbox

HEWLAND LG 600 5 SPEED

Weight

800 KG

This LOLA T70 MKIIIB was sold on February 5, 1969 to Mr. James Nicoll Cuthbert to entrust it to the talented Australian pilot Paul Hawkins. Hawkins had achieved some very good times aboard a T70. He started his career in Australia and soon came to try his luck in the UK in 1960 with Austin Healey, then in Junior Formula for Ian Walker and John Willment.

 

"Hawkeye" became an independent driver who was very much courted by the best teams of the moment, he won the Targa Florio in 1967 for Porsche, the 1000 km of Monza 1968 for John Wyer, won several races at the wheel of Ford GT 40 for Ford and Holman & Moody. He took part six times in the Le Mans 24 Hours. His talent was also put to the test in Formula 1 on Brabham and Lotus. He is the only driver with Alberto Ascari to have plunged into the port of Monaco (with a Lotus 33) during a Grand Prix! A great feat... unintended.

The 1969 season was a successful one for Paul Hawkins, in England, in Dijon and then Magny-Cours until the dramatic accident that cost him his life during the Tourist Trophy in May 1969. Mr. James Nicoll Cuthbert then kept parts of the wreck of SL76/142 with the intention of rebuilding the car. In 2007, Mr. Cuthbert transferred the title and parts to Mr. Louis Beuzieron in the USA (the sales contract is part of the car documents). He rebuilt the car in his workshop, it was then sold to Mr. Steven Read who used it in historic races in the USA. In 2013 it was sold to the current owner who imported it to France.

Entered in Classic Endurance Racing 1 by Peter Auto, this LOLA T70 MKIIIB is eligible for the most prestigious events. An important spare parts package can be acquired with the car. It is visible by appointment.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

lola%2520t70%2520m3b%2520for%2520sale%25

1969 LOLA T70 MKIII B

Eligible en FIA Masters Historic Sports Car, CER1 by Peter Auto, Le Mans Classic, Daytona Classic

ELIGIBILITE
DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

FIA MASTERS SPORTS CARS

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES
PRIX

VENDUE

Marque

LOLA

Modèle

MKIIIB

Année

1969

No de châssis

SL 76/142

Châssis

MONOCOQUE ALUMINIUM

Carrosserie

FIBRE DE VERRE

Moteur

CHEVROLET 5 LITRES

Puissance

520 CH. @ 6 800 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

HEWLAND LG 600 5 VITESSES

Poids

800 KG

Cette LOLA T70 MKIIIB a été vendue le 5 février 1969 à M. James Nicoll Cuthbert afin de la confier au talentueux pilote australien Paul Hawkins. Hawkins avait réalisé quelques très bons temps à bord d'une T70. Il a commencé sa carrière en Australie et ne tarda pas à venir tenter sa chance au Royaume-Uni en 1960 chez Austin Healey, ensuite en Formule Junior pour Ian Walker et John Willment.

" Hawkeye " devint un pilote indépendant très courtisé par les meilleures écuries du moment, il gagna notamment la Targa Florio en 1967 pour Porsche, les 1000 km de Monza 1968 pour John Wyer, remporta plusieurs épreuves au volant de Ford GT 40 pour Ford et Holman & Moody. Il participa six fois aux 24 Heures du Mans. Son talent s'exerça aussi en Formule 1 sur Brabham et Lotus. Il est le seul pilote avec Alberto Ascari à avoir plongé dans le port de Monaco (avec une Lotus 33) lors d'un Grand Prix ! Une belle prouesse... non voulue.

La saison 1969 se déroulera avec succès pour Paul Hawkins, en Angleterre, à Dijon puis Magny-Cours jusqu'au dramatique accident qui lui couta la vie lors du Tourist Trophy en mai 1969. M. James Nicoll Cuthbert conserva alors des pièces de l'épave de SL76/142 avec l'intention de reconstruire la voiture. En 2007, M. Cuthbert, céda le titre de propriété et des pièces à M Louis Beuzieron aux USA (le contrat de vente fait partie des documents de la voiture). Ce dernier a reconstruit la voiture dans ses ateliers, elle fut ensuite vendue à M. Steven Read qui l'utilisa lors de courses historiques aux Etats Unis. En 2013 elle fut revendue au propriétaire actuel qui l'importa en France.

Engagée en Classic Endurance Racing 1 by Peter Auto, cette LOLA T70 MKIIIB est éligible au événements les plus prestigieux. Un lot de pièces important peut être acquis avec la voiture. Elle est visible sur rendez-vous.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon