SOLD

Lister Costin Jaguar from 1959 chassis BHL122, ex-Jonathan Sieff, driven by Peter Blond

Costin Sold.jpg
Lister Costin BHL122  15.JPG
Lister Costin 2.jpg
Jaguar lister costin Goodwood 2.jpg
Jaguar Lister Costin.jpg
Lister Costin BHL122  14.JPG
Lister Costin BHL122  11.JPG
Lister Costin b.JPG
Lister Costin BHL122  13.JPG
At the end of the 1950s, the Listers disrupt the established order

In 1957, Brian Lister developed the Lister Jaguar which quickly established itself as a serious rival for the big brands already well established in the racing world. With the talented British driver Archie Scott Brown at the wheel, the prestigious victories wrested from Ferrari and Aston Martin helped build the Lister legend. The "Knobbly" has thus  enabled the former Cambridge ironwork company to rise to the highest level of international competition.

 
Brian Lister seeks to improve the Lister: The Lister bodied by Costin is born in 1959

In 1958, Brian Lister wanted to give the Lister a completely new body to improve its top speed and handling at high speeds. Indeed, the gnarled body of the Lister knobbly generated significant turbulence which caused its front end to float at high speed. In order to mitigate this effect,  Ecurie Ecosse had also modified the shape of the hood before its car by adding riveted aluminum plates to the rear of the fenders. Considered effective, this modification was then applied to other Lister Knobbly. Brian Lister did not want to stop there ...

 

Frank Costin was the man for the job to develop a more aerodynamically efficient body. After designing airplanes as an engineer at de Havilland Aircraft Company, he specialized in the application of aerodynamics concepts in motor racing. Thus its collaboration with Lotus gave birth to the bodywork of the Lotus XI, adopted in broad outline on the Lotus XV.

In 1959, the prototype of the Lister Streamliner designed by Costin left the Cambridge workshops (BHL 121). This new body covering the wheels, and whose front face was refined, made it possible to increase the top speed of the Lister Costin and above all to ensure better handling at high speed. Frank Costin therefore brilliantly accomplished his mission. Beyond the improvement in performance that it conferred on the Lister, it gave it a fluid and slender line of rare elegance.

 

In all, only 12 Lister Costins will see the light of day, making it a particularly rare car today.

 

Chassis BHL 122, ex-Jonathan Sieff driven by Peter Blond

BHL 122 is the very first Lister Costin produced by the Cambridge workshops with a Jaguar engine out of a total production of 3. The other Costins having received a Chevrolet or Maserati engine.

 

It was acquired by Jonathan Sieff who entered it twice at Goodwood with Peter Blond at the wheel. BHL 122 participated in the same year in the International Trophy at Silverstone and in the 1000 km of the Nürburgring where it was involved in an accident. She then continued her career in the United States before returning in the late 1970s.  in John Pearson's studio.

 
A car to seek victory in the most prestigious events

Today BHL 122 is a very competitive car. Powered by its 3.8L Jaguar wide-angle cylinder head and dry sump engine, it is regularly at the top of the many events for which it is eligible. It has been maintained and prepared for many years by Pearsons Engineering. Recently, it finished in 4th place in the general classification of Le Mans Classic 2014. It is also eligible for Goodwood Revival (where it has raced many times), Stirling Moss Trophy, Monterey and Daytona Classic, the first edition of which is will take place next November. Being registered in England, its new owner will have the pleasure, if he wishes, to drive this rare Lister Costin on the open road.

 

SOLD

 

Technical characteristics

: List

: Costin Jaguar

: 1959

: BHL 122

: Tubular

: Aluminum  

: 3.8 l Jaguar wide angle - Dry sump

: 330 ch. @ 6,800 rpm

: Jaguar Type D

: 750 kg

Mark

Model

Year     

Chassis No.

Frame

Body

Motor

Power

Gearbox

Weight

Eligibility (click on the links)
LE MANS CLASSIC
SIXTIES 'ENDURANCE
Contact us about this car

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2019

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

#historic race car for sale #historic racing car for sale #lmp for sale #group c for sale #lmp1 for sale #racecarsdirect #classicdriver #endurance legends for sale  #gt1 for sale #gt2 for sale

Lister Costin Jaguar de 1959 châssis BHL122, ex-Jonathan Sieff, pilotée par Peter Blond

À la fin des années 50, les Lister viennent bouleverser l'ordre établi

En 1957, Brian Lister développa la Lister Jaguar qui s’imposa rapidement comme une sérieuse rivale pour les grandes marques déjà bien établies dans le monde de la course. Avec à son volant le talentueux pilote britannique Archie Scott Brown, les prestigieuses victoires arrachées à Ferrari et à Aston Martin participèrent à bâtir la légende Lister. La "Knobbly" a ainsi  permis à l’ancienne société de ferronnerie de Cambridge de se hisser au plus haut niveau de la compétition internationale.

 
Brian Lister cherche à améliorer la Lister : La Lister carrossée par Costin voit le jour en 1959

En 1958, Brian Lister souhaita offrir une toute nouvelle carrosserie à la Lister afin d'en améliorer la vitesse de pointe et sa tenue de route à vitesse élevée. En effet, la carrosserie aux formes noueuses de la Lister knobbly générait des turbulences importantes ce qui entraînait un flottement de son train avant à vive allure. Afin d'atténuer cet effet,  l’Ecurie Ecosse avait d'ailleurs modifié la forme du capot avant sa voiture en y ajoutant des plaques d'aluminium rivetées à l'arrière des ailes. Considérée comme efficace, cette modification fut ensuite appliquée à d'autres Lister Knobbly. Brian Lister ne souhaitait pas en rester là...

 

Frank Costin était l’homme de la situation pour développer une carrosserie plus performante aérodynamiquement. Après avoir conçu des avions en tant qu'ingénieur chez de Havilland Aircraft Company, il s’était spécialisé dans l’application des notions d’aérodynamisme dans la course automobile. Ainsi sa collaboration avec Lotus a donné naissance à la carrosserie de la Lotus XI, reprise dans ses grandes lignes sur la Lotus XV.

En 1959, le prototype de la Lister Streamliner dessiné par Costin sort des ateliers de Cambridge (BHL 121). Cette nouvelle carrosserie couvrant les roues, et dont la face avant était affinée permit d’augmenter la vitesse de pointe de la Lister Costin et surtout de lui assurer une meilleure tenue de route à vitesse élevée. Frank Costin a donc accompli brillamment sa mission. Au-delà de l'amélioration de performance qu’il conféra à la Lister, il lui offrit une ligne fluide et élancée d’une rare élégance.

 

En tout, seulement 12 Lister Costin verront le jour ce qui en fait aujourd'hui une voiture particulièrement rare.

 

Châssis BHL 122, ex-Jonathan Sieff pilotée par Peter Blond

BHL 122 est la toute première Lister Costin produite par les ateliers de Cambridge avec un moteur Jaguar sur une production totale de 3 exemplaires. Les autres Costin ayant reçu une motorisation Chevrolet ou Maserati.

 

Elle fut acquise par Jonathan Sieff qui l'engagea à deux reprises à Goodwood avec à son volant Peter Blond. BHL 122 participa la même année au International Trophy de Silverstone et aux 1000 Km du Nürburgring où elle fut accidentée. Elle a ensuite poursuivi sa carrière aux Etats-Unis avant de revenir à la fin des années 70  dans l'atelier de John Pearson.

 
Une voiture pour briguer la victoire dans les événements les plus prestigieux

Aujourd'hui BHL 122, est une voiture très compétitive. Propulsée par son moteur Jaguar 3,8 l à culasse wide angle et à carter sec, elle figure régulièrement en tête des nombreux événements auxquels elle est éligible. Elle est entretenue et préparée depuis de nombreuses années par Pearsons Engineering. Dernièrement, elle a terminé en 4e place du classement général du Mans Classic 2014. Elle est aussi éligible à Goodwood Revival (où elle a couru à de nombreuses reprises), au Stirling Moss Trophy, à Monterey et à Daytona Classic dont la première édition se déroulera en novembre prochain. Étant immatriculée en Angleterre, son nouveau propriétaire aura le plaisir, s'il le souhaite, de conduire cette rare Lister Costin sur route ouverte.

 

VENDUE

 

Caractéristiques techniques

: Lister

: Costin Jaguar

: 1959

: BHL 122

: Tubulaire

: Aluminium   

: 3,8 l Jaguar wide angle - Carter sec

: 330 ch. @ 6 800 t/mn

: Jaguar Type D

: 750 kg

Marque

Modèle

Année     

No de Châssis

Châssis

Carrosserie

Moteur

Puissance

Boite de vitesse

Poids

Eligibilité (cliquez sur les liens)
Contactez-nous au sujet de cette voiture