SOLD

1983 LANCIA 037 Group B Evolution 2

Ready to win the FIA European Historic and Sports Rally Championship - the Historic Tour de Corse - New engine

LANCIA 037 SOLD.jpg
1983 LANCIA 037 Group B
Lancia 037 GROUP B 2.JPG
Lancia 037 GROUP B 11.JPG
LANCIA_037_2_centrée.jpg
Lancia 037 GROUP B 4.JPG
Lancia 037 GROUP B 7.JPG
Lancia 037 GROUP B 6.JPG
Lancia 037 GROUP B 9.JPG
Lancia 037 GROUP B 10.JPG
Lancia 037 GROUP B 5.JPG
LANCIA 037 2.JPG
LANCIA 037 3.JPG
LANCIA 037 1.JPG
LANCIA 037 27.JPG
LANCIA 037 14.JPG
The Lancia 037 was the first true queen of Group B

The perfect alliance between purity of lines and technical elegance. The result of the collaboration between the genius of racing mechanics, Abarth, and the prince of automotive haute couture, Pininfarina.

Flash back. 1982. At the end of several months of negotiations with the manufacturers, the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile revolutionizes its Sporting Code.  : his "  Annex J  "Dedicated to the classifications, definitions and specifications of competition cars, also called"  green pages  »(It is the color of the paper on which they are printed), sees the disappearance of the old Groups 1 to 8 of Categories A and B, replaced by categories  identified by letters.

As regards the rally, the few lines drawn by the legislator in article 256 are the starting point of a true automobile mythology: that of the Group B. From 1982 to 1986, five seasons of excess, of fury, mechanical and human paroxysm. Five seasons and five world crowns which remain the most prestigious ever awarded.

 

The technical revolution of Group B

This Group B regulation was born under pressure from manufacturers who have long been asking for more freedom. Previously, to be approved, the cars were derived from series models produced at least 1000 copies between January 1 and December 31. This lock jumps with Group B  : two hundred copies are sufficient initially, then the manufacturers can develop each year a new evolution of which they only have to produce twenty copies.

The competition departments of the major manufacturers who had negotiated these regulations rush into the breach and imagine the most fantastic rally machines in the history of the automobile, real prototypes of the road. The rules are very open.

 

Abarth and Pininfarina on the birthplace of the Lancia 037

The project  n ° SE 037 is entrusted to the engineer Sergio Limone, who brings together a team of engineers from Lancia and Abarth (acquired by the Fiat Group in 1971). The concept retained is that of a two-wheel drive. And to compensate for the lack of traction (the championship is played mainly on dirt, gravel and snow), Limone optimizes the overall architecture of the car.  : rear mid-engine - finally supercharged thanks to a positive-displacement compressor - and low center of gravity (the car is 1.24 m high). For its part, Pininfarina manages magnificently to make people forget these technical constraints thanks to a line that is both fluid and aggressive that no aerodynamic extension or evolution will manage to make ugly.

Simply called Lancia 037, the car was presented on April 21, 1982 at the opening of the Salone dell'Automobile di Torino by Cesare Fiorio, the engineer Claudio Lombardi, Technical Director, the engineer Sergio Limone and the brand's staff at the full suit.

 

The Lancia 037 is crowned 1983 World Rally Champion

The 037 is immediately entered in the world championship for the rallies which remain to be contested. It immediately turns out to be competitive. When the 1983 season began, Martini-Racing, the team which officially represented the brand in the world championship, therefore had high hopes. They will be fulfilled.

If the 1982 world championship had been a breaking-in year for Group B after which Audi had won ahead of Opel, 1983 saw a fantastic duel between the Lancia and Audi drivers. After twelve months of the championship and ten events, Lancia won over its German rival five wins to four. The Lancia 037 is crowned 1983 World Rally Champion. It is the first and the last time in the Group B era that a two-wheel drive has won the title. Now the crown will go to all-wheel pull-ups. Whatever, Lancia has won its bet magnificently.

 

The Lancia 037 chassis n ° 68

Ascott Collection offers you the opportunity to acquire what is undoubtedly one of the finest and most efficient Lancia 037s in existence.

68th assembled chassis in the series of 200 stradale cars built in 1983, this 037 was delivered in Spain where its owner entrusted it to a trainer who converted it for competition. It will lead a race car existence in a private team before being put away when the FIA puts an end to the Group B regulations.

She resumed service in 2003 in historic races then, in 2011, was acquired by her current owner. He then undertakes a complete restoration of the car followed by an exceptional technical preparation - the most perfect that we know.

The body is reprocessed bare, all the components refurbished, then begins an operation to switch to configuration "  Evolution 2  », The most successful version, the most efficient, of the Lancia 037 Group B. During this preparation, the n ° 68 receives an FIA homologated roll bar (less than ten 037 are equipped with it), sine condition -qua-non to run in the European Championship in which she has now distinguished herself for four years.

Prepared and maintained by the Milano Racing company of Patrick Canavese, this 037 chassis n ° 068 is today the only real Lancia 037 Evolution 2 VHC FIA J1 to hold a Historical Technical Passport. With a rebuilt engine and an overhauled gearbox, it is ready for victory in the FIA European Historic Sporting Rallies Championship in the best conditions of performance and safety.

 

SOLD

Technical characteristics

: LANCIA

: 037 Group B Evolution 2

: 1983

: 68

: Monohull and tubular

: Fiber

: 2,111 Compressor

: 330 ch.

: ZF

: 960 kg

Mark

Model

Year     

Chassis No.

Frame

Body

Motor

Power

Gearbox

Weight

Eligibility (click on the links)
Contact us about this car

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2019

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

#historic race car for sale #historic racing car for sale #lmp for sale #group c for sale #lmp1 for sale #racecarsdirect #classicdriver #endurance legends for sale  #gt1 for sale #gt2 for sale

1983 LANCIA 037 Group B Evolution 2

Prête à remporter le Championnat Européen des Rallyes Historiques et Sportifs de la FIA - le Tour de Corse Historique - Moteur neuf

La Lancia 037 a été la première véritable reine du Groupe B

L’alliance parfaite entre la pureté des lignes et l’élégance technique. Le fruit de la collaboration entre le génie de la mécanique de course, Abarth, et le prince de la haute couture automobile, Pininfarina.

Flash back. 1982. Au terme de plusieurs mois de négociations avec les constructeurs, la Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile révolutionne son Code Sportif : son « Annexe J » dédiée aux classifications, définitions et spécifications des voitures de compétition, appelée aussi « les pages vertes » (c’est la couleur du papier sur lequel elles sont imprimées), voit disparaître les anciens Groupe 1 à 8 des Catégories A et B, remplacés par des catégories identifiées par des lettres.

Pour ce qui touche au rallye, les quelques lignes tracées par le législateur à l’article 256 sont le point de départ d’une véritable mythologie automobile : celle des Groupe B. De 1982 à 1986, cinq saisons d’excès, de fureur, de paroxysme mécanique et humain. Cinq saisons et cinq couronnes mondiales qui restent les plus prestigieuses jamais décernées.

 

La révolution technique du Groupe B

Cette réglementation Groupe B est née sous la pression des constructeurs qui réclamaient depuis longtemps plus de liberté. Auparavant, pour être homologuées, les voitures étaient dérivées de modèles de séries produits au minimum à 1000 exemplaires entre le 1er janvier et le 31 décembre. Ce verrou saute avec le Groupe B : deux cents exemplaires suffisent au départ, puis les constructeurs peuvent développer chaque année une nouvelle évolution dont ils n’ont à produire que vingt exemplaires.

Les services compétition des grands constructeurs qui avaient négocié cette réglementation s’engouffrent dans la brèche et imaginent les plus fantastiques machines de rallye de l’histoire de l’automobile, de véritables prototypes de la route. Le règlement est très ouvert.

 

Abarth et Pininfarina sur le berceau de la Lancia 037

Le projet n°SE 037 est confié à l’ingegnere Sergio Limone, qui rassemble autour de lui une équipe formée d’ingénieurs de Lancia et d’Abarth (acquis par le Groupe Fiat en 1971). Le concept retenu est, celui d’une deux roues motrices. Et pour compenser le déficit de motricité (le championnat se joue essentiellement sur de la terre, du gravier et de la neige), Limone optimise l’architecture globale de la voiture : moteur central arrière –finalement suralimenté grâce à une compresseur volumétrique- et centre de gravité bas (la voiture fait 1,24 m de hauteur). De son côté, Pininfarina parvient magnifiquement à faire oublier ces contraintes techniques grâce à une ligne à la fois fluide et agressive qu’aucune extension aérodynamique ni évolution ne parviendra à enlaidir.

Baptisée tout simplement Lancia 037, la voiture est présentée le 21 avril 1982 en ouverture du Salone dell’Automobile di Torino par Cesare Fiorio, l’ingegnere Claudio Lombardi, Directeur Technique, l’ingegnere Sergio Limone et l’état major de la marque au grand complet.

 

La Lancia 037 est sacrée championne du monde des Rallyes 1983

La 037 est immédiatement engagée en championnat du monde pour les rallyes qui restent à disputer. Elle s’y révèle immédiatement compétitive. Quand débute la saison 1983, le Martini-Racing, équipe qui représente officiellement la marque en championnat du monde, nourrit donc de grands espoirs. Ils vont être comblés.

Si le championnat du monde 1982 avait été une année de rodage pour les Groupe B à l’issue de laquelle Audi s’était imposé devant Opel, 1983 voit se jouer un fantastique duel entre les pilotes Lancia et Audi. Après douze mois de championnat et dix épreuves, Lancia s’impose sur son rival allemand cinq victoires à quatre. La Lancia 037 est sacrée championne du monde des Rallyes 1983. C’est la première et la dernière fois dans l’ère des Groupe B qu’une deux roues motrices décroche le titre. Désormais la couronne ira aux tractions intégrales. Qu’importe, Lancia a magnifiquement remporté son pari.

 

La Lancia 037 châssis n°68

Ascott Collection vous propose d’acquérir ce qui est sans doute l’une des plus belles et des plus performantes Lancia 037 existantes.

68e châssis assemblé de la série des 200 voitures stradale construites en 1983, cette 037 est livrée en Espagne où son propriétaire la confie à un préparateur qui la convertit pour la compétition. Elle va mener une existence de voiture de course dans une équipe privée avant d’être remisée lorsque la FIA met fin au règlement du Groupe B.

Elle reprend du service en 2003 dans des courses historiques puis, en 2011, est acquise par son propriétaire actuel. Celui-ci entreprend alors une restauration complète de la voiture suivie d’une exceptionnelle préparation technique –la plus parfaite que nous connaissions.

La caisse est retraitée à nue, tous les organes remis à neuf, puis débute une opération de passage en configuration « Evolution 2 », la version la plus aboutie, la plus performante, de la Lancia 037 Groupe B. Lors de cette préparation, la n°68 reçoit un arceau de sécurité homologué FIA (elles sont moins de dix 037 à en être équipées), condition sine-qua-non pour courir en championnat d’Europe dans lequel elle s’illustre maintenant depuis quatre ans.

Préparée et entretenue par la société Milano Racing de Patrick Canavese, cette 037 châssis n°068 est aujourd’hui la seule véritable Lancia 037 Evolution 2 VHC FIA J1 détentrice d’un Passeport Technique Historique. Avec un moteur refait à neuf et une boîte de vitesse révisée, elle est prête pour jouer la victoire en championnat d’Europe des Rallyes Sportifs Historiques de la FIA dans les meilleurs conditions de performances et de sécurité.

 

VENDUE

Caractéristiques techniques

: LANCIA

: 037 Group B Evolution 2

: 1983

: 68

: Monocoque et tubulaire

: Fibre

: 2,111 Compressor

: 330 ch.

: ZF

: 960 kg

Marque

Modèle

Année     

No de Châssis

Châssis

Carrosserie

Moteur

Puissance

Boite de vitesse

Poids

Eligibilité (cliquez sur les liens)
Contactez-nous au sujet de cette voiture