1983 LANCIA 037 Group B EVO 2 EMINENCE

TO-Y75887 

SOLD
Important racing history in particular at the 1986 Tour de France with B. Darniche
One owner since 1998
The Lancia 037 was the first true queen of Group B

The perfect alliance between purity of lines and technical elegance. The result of the collaboration between the genius of racing mechanics, Abarth, and the prince of automotive haute couture, Pininfarina.

Flash back. 1982. At the end of several months of negotiations with the manufacturers, the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile revolutionizes its Sporting Code.  : his "  Annex J  "Dedicated to the classifications, definitions and specifications of competition cars, also called"  green pages  »(It is the color of the paper on which they are printed), sees the disappearance of the old Groups 1 to 8 of Categories A and B, replaced by categories  identified by letters.

As regards the rally, the few lines drawn by the legislator in article 256 are the starting point of a true automobile mythology: that of the Group B. From 1982 to 1986, five seasons of excess, of fury, mechanical and human paroxysm. Five seasons and five world crowns which remain the most prestigious ever awarded.

 

The technical revolution of Group B

This Group B regulation was born under pressure from manufacturers who have long been asking for more freedom. Previously, to be approved, the cars were derived from series models produced at least 1000 copies between January 1 and December 31. This lock jumps with Group B  : two hundred copies are sufficient initially, then the manufacturers can develop each year a new evolution of which they only have to produce twenty copies.

The competition departments of the major manufacturers who had negotiated these regulations rush into the breach and imagine the most fantastic rally machines in the history of the automobile, real prototypes of the road. The rules are very open.

 

Abarth and Pininfarina on the birthplace of the Lancia 037

The project  n ° SE 037 is entrusted to the engineer Sergio Limone, who brings together a team of engineers from Lancia and Abarth (acquired by the Fiat Group in 1971). The concept retained is that of a two-wheel drive. And to compensate for the lack of traction (the championship is played mainly on dirt, gravel and snow), Limone optimizes the overall architecture of the car.  : rear mid-engine - finally supercharged thanks to a positive-displacement compressor - and low center of gravity (the car is 1.24 m high). For its part, Pininfarina manages magnificently to make people forget these technical constraints thanks to a line that is both fluid and aggressive that no aerodynamic extension or evolution will manage to make ugly.

Simply called Lancia 037, the car was presented on April 21, 1982 at the opening of the Salone dell'Automobile di Torino by Cesare Fiorio, the engineer Claudio Lombardi, Technical Director, the engineer Sergio Limone and the brand's staff at the full suit.

 

The Lancia 037 is crowned 1983 World Rally Champion

The 037 is immediately entered in the world championship for the rallies which remain to be contested. It immediately turns out to be competitive. When the 1983 season began, Martini-Racing, the team which officially represented the brand in the world championship, therefore had high hopes. They will be fulfilled.

If the 1982 world championship had been a breaking-in year for Group B after which Audi had won ahead of Opel, 1983 saw a fantastic duel between the Lancia and Audi drivers. After twelve months of the championship and ten events, Lancia won over its German rival five wins to four. The Lancia 037 is crowned 1983 World Rally Champion. It is the first and the last time in the Group B era that a two-wheel drive has won the title. Now the crown will go to all-wheel pull-ups. Whatever, Lancia has won its bet magnificently.

 

The Lancia 037 EMINENCE TO-Y75887

This Lancia 037 chassis 133 is an authentic car prepared by VOLTA for the 1983 season and sponsored by Eminence.

Known race history:

February 18-50, 1983  -  Costa Brava (E)

Jean-Louis Clarr (French) / Patricia Trivero, no.5, Volta / Eminence, eliminated after after missing the control  

June 24-26, 1983 -  24 hours from Ypres (B)

Andrea Zanussi / Paolo Spolon, no.2, Volta / Eminence, retirement due to engine failure

19-23  September 1983 -  42nd Tour de France Automobile

Bernard Darniche / Alain Mahe, no.1, Volta Chardonnet / Eminence,  3rd place

​ Sep 20-21  1985 (I) - Coppa  Liburna

Aghini / Lampugnale, 4th place

March 14-16, 1986 -  Jurassian Criterium (S)

Roger Krattiger / Reto Meier, 2nd place

June  7-8   1986 (S) -  Rally of Lugano

Krattiger - Meier, 1st place

August 28-30 1986 (S) - Rally Baden-Württemberg 

Krattiger - Meier, 1st place

 

28 november  1989: sold by  M  Michel Berney (Switzerland) at M  Bruno Gurnari

August 21, 1998: acquired by the current owner

The car is sold with a complete file of invoices and original documents (Volta registration card etc ...).

It offers the opportunity to acquire an iconic car  from the mythical period of Group B

SOLD

 

Technical characteristics

: LANCIA

: 037 Group B

: 1983

: ZIA151AR000000133

: Monohull and tubular

: Fiber

: 2,111 Compressor

: 330 ch.

: ZF

: 960 kg

Mark

Model

Year     

Chassis No.

Frame

Body

Motor

Power

Gearbox

Weight

Eligibility (click on the links)
1/1
Contact us about this car

Phone: + 33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2019

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

#historic race car for sale #historic racing car for sale #lmp for sale #group c for sale #lmp1 for sale #racecarsdirect #classicdriver #endurance legends for sale  #gt1 for sale #gt2 for sale

1983 LANCIA 037 Group B EVO 2 EMINENCE

TO-Y75887  

Important historique de course en particulier au Tour de France 1986 avec B. Darniche
Un seul propriétaire depuis 1998
La Lancia 037 a été la première véritable reine du Groupe B

L’alliance parfaite entre la pureté des lignes et l’élégance technique. Le fruit de la collaboration entre le génie de la mécanique de course, Abarth, et le prince de la haute couture automobile, Pininfarina.

Flash back. 1982. Au terme de plusieurs mois de négociations avec les constructeurs, la Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile révolutionne son Code Sportif : son « Annexe J » dédiée aux classifications, définitions et spécifications des voitures de compétition, appelée aussi « les pages vertes » (c’est la couleur du papier sur lequel elles sont imprimées), voit disparaître les anciens Groupe 1 à 8 des Catégories A et B, remplacés par des catégories identifiées par des lettres.

Pour ce qui touche au rallye, les quelques lignes tracées par le législateur à l’article 256 sont le point de départ d’une véritable mythologie automobile : celle des Groupe B. De 1982 à 1986, cinq saisons d’excès, de fureur, de paroxysme mécanique et humain. Cinq saisons et cinq couronnes mondiales qui restent les plus prestigieuses jamais décernées.

 

La révolution technique du Groupe B

Cette réglementation Groupe B est née sous la pression des constructeurs qui réclamaient depuis longtemps plus de liberté. Auparavant, pour être homologuées, les voitures étaient dérivées de modèles de séries produits au minimum à 1000 exemplaires entre le 1er janvier et le 31 décembre. Ce verrou saute avec le Groupe B : deux cents exemplaires suffisent au départ, puis les constructeurs peuvent développer chaque année une nouvelle évolution dont ils n’ont à produire que vingt exemplaires.

Les services compétition des grands constructeurs qui avaient négocié cette réglementation s’engouffrent dans la brèche et imaginent les plus fantastiques machines de rallye de l’histoire de l’automobile, de véritables prototypes de la route. Le règlement est très ouvert.

 

Abarth et Pininfarina sur le berceau de la Lancia 037

Le projet n°SE 037 est confié à l’ingegnere Sergio Limone, qui rassemble autour de lui une équipe formée d’ingénieurs de Lancia et d’Abarth (acquis par le Groupe Fiat en 1971). Le concept retenu est, celui d’une deux roues motrices. Et pour compenser le déficit de motricité (le championnat se joue essentiellement sur de la terre, du gravier et de la neige), Limone optimise l’architecture globale de la voiture : moteur central arrière –finalement suralimenté grâce à une compresseur volumétrique- et centre de gravité bas (la voiture fait 1,24 m de hauteur). De son côté, Pininfarina parvient magnifiquement à faire oublier ces contraintes techniques grâce à une ligne à la fois fluide et agressive qu’aucune extension aérodynamique ni évolution ne parviendra à enlaidir.

Baptisée tout simplement Lancia 037, la voiture est présentée le 21 avril 1982 en ouverture du Salone dell’Automobile di Torino par Cesare Fiorio, l’ingegnere Claudio Lombardi, Directeur Technique, l’ingegnere Sergio Limone et l’état major de la marque au grand complet.

 

La Lancia 037 est sacrée championne du monde des Rallyes 1983

La 037 est immédiatement engagée en championnat du monde pour les rallyes qui restent à disputer. Elle s’y révèle immédiatement compétitive. Quand débute la saison 1983, le Martini-Racing, équipe qui représente officiellement la marque en championnat du monde, nourrit donc de grands espoirs. Ils vont être comblés.

Si le championnat du monde 1982 avait été une année de rodage pour les Groupe B à l’issue de laquelle Audi s’était imposé devant Opel, 1983 voit se jouer un fantastique duel entre les pilotes Lancia et Audi. Après douze mois de championnat et dix épreuves, Lancia s’impose sur son rival allemand cinq victoires à quatre. La Lancia 037 est sacrée championne du monde des Rallyes 1983. C’est la première et la dernière fois dans l’ère des Groupe B qu’une deux roues motrices décroche le titre. Désormais la couronne ira aux tractions intégrales. Qu’importe, Lancia a magnifiquement remporté son pari.

 

La Lancia 037 EMINENCE TO-Y75887

Cette Lancia 037 châssis 133 est une authentique voiture préparée par VOLTA pour la saison 1983 et sponsorisée par Eminence.

Historique de course connu:

18-50 février 1983 - Costa Brava (E)

Jean-Louis Clarr (Français)/Patricia Trivero, no.5, Volta/Eminence, éliminée après après manqué le contrôle 

24-26 Juin 1983 - 24 heures d'Ypres (B)

Andrea Zanussi/Paolo Spolon, no.2, Volta/Eminence, abandon sur casse moteur

19-23  Septembre 1983 - 42e Tour de France Automobile

Bernard Darniche/Alain Mahe, no.1, Volta Chardonnet/Eminence,  3ème place

​Sept. 20-21 1985 (I) - Coppa Liburna

Aghini/Lampugnale, 4ème place

14-16 mars 1986 - Criterium Jurassien (S)

Roger Krattiger/Reto Meier, 2nd place

Juin 7-8  1986 (S) - Rally of Lugano

Krattiger - Meier, 1ère place

August 28-30 1986 (S) - Rallye Baden-Württemberg 

Krattiger - Meier, 1ère place

 

28 novembre 1989: vendue par M Michel Berney (Suisse) à M Bruno Gurnari

21 août 1998: acquise par le propriétaire actuel

La voiture est vendue avec un dossier complet de factures et de documents d'origine (carte grise Volta etc...).

Elle offre l'opportunité d'acquérir une voiture emblématique de la période mythique du Group B

VENDUE

 

Caractéristiques techniques

: LANCIA

: 037 Group B

: 1983

: ZIA151AR000000133

: Monocoque et tubulaire

: Fibre

: 2,111 Compressor

: 330 ch.

: ZF

: 960 kg

Marque

Modèle

Année     

No de Châssis

Châssis

Carrosserie

Moteur

Puissance

Boite de vitesse

Poids

Eligibilité (cliquez sur les liens)

1/1
Contactez-nous au sujet de cette voiture