ferrari 308 gtb group 4 michelotto for sale 1.JPG

RETROMOBILE 2022

1985 FERRARI 308 GTB MICHELOTTO GROUP 4

 

  • Ferrari's foray into the world of rallying

  • The first Ferrari developed in collaboration with Michelotto

  • The 11th and last copy produced

  • Engine just rebuilt

  • Eligible for Tour Auto, Cento Ore Modena

SOLD

ELIGIBILITY
TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

Tour Auto

Cento Ore Modena

Mark

FERRARI

Model

308 GTB GROUP 4

Year

1985

Chassis No.

21883

Frame

Tubular Steel

Body

Fiberglass and Kevlar

Motor

FERRARI V8 2.926L 

Power

290 HP. @ 8000 RPM

Gearbox

5 Speeds

Weight

1020 KG

The Ferrari 308 GTB, heir to the Dino 246 GT and the Dino 308 GT4, was presented at the Paris Motor Show in 1975. The car, part of the Italian manufacturer’s standard range until 1983, also had the honour of being developed to create competition versions, both in Group 4 and in Group B. The model now being offered for sale by Ascott Collection is one of the rarest members of the Ferrari 308 GTB racing lineage, which were produced in very small numbers. It was built in February 1985 – the very last of the 308s to be produced for competition and the ultimate Group 4 model. Authenticated by the Ferrari Classiche department, it bears witness to a legendary period, and holds an important place in both the ancient and modern history of the brand, being the car which inaugurated the collaboration between Ferrari and Michelotto!

 

The development of the 308 GTB’s racing version

At the end of the 1973 season, Ferrari made a radical decision – to devote itself henceforth solely to Formula 1, and not develop any other programmes in parallel, as was previously the case with the 24 Hours of Le Mans, for example. This choice of concentrating its resources and efforts did not, however, curb the ambitions of many private teams, which were calling on the brand to develop a model to meet the Group 4 specification. Some of them wanted an authentic Ferrari, refusing to fall back on the Lancia 037 developed for rallying by the Fiat parent company.

 

Not wishing to go back on his decision to focus on Formula 1, Enzo Ferrari found a solution for them and entrusted the project to Michelotto... In 1978, this Ferrari dealer in Padua, a true Ferrari specialist, took the base of the 308 GTB (chassis 20951 supplied by Ferrari) and prepared it for rallying. Giuliano Michelotto believed in the 308’s potential, and set up his first project with support from Ferrari, thereby initiating a collaboration that is still ongoing today! After the first model and its rallying successes, the customers quickly arrived. At the time, Charles Pozzi, a French importer of the brand, was the keenest advocate of developing 308 GTB 4 production (through the voice of Daniel Marin, its managing director). As he was looking to replace his Daytonas, he placed an order with Michelotto for four 308 GTBs in Group 4 configuration.

 

The first Ferrari Michelotto in history

The 308 was thus the first Ferrari born of the collaboration with Michelotto. After preparing the engine for the Lancia Stratos, Michelotto joined up with Ferrari, and became the partner and preparer that we know today. With its tubular chassis, fiberglass body, and reinforcements with carbon-kevlar panels, the 308 GTB weighed in at only 1020 kg. The wider wheel arches were conspicuous but did nothing to break the harmony of the Pininfarina lines. Other notable features  – dictated by rallying requirements – were a suspension that increased ground clearance and travel, and a full set of high-intensity lights.

Michelotto reduced the weight of the cylinder heads and changed the pistons of the V8, which still had Weber carburettors on the first versions before then switching to Kugelfischer mechanical injection. With just under 300 hp, the car’s power unit was aided by a revamped transmission for rallying, with a custom-built close-ratio, 4-speed gearbox and a ZF limited-slip differential. The first versions developed 288 hp at 8000 rpm. This was a significant increase compared to the standard 308 GTB’s 255 hp at 7000 rpm.

 

For context: the 308 GTB was produced in both Group 4 and Group B versions. While the latter may seem more extreme, being the result of regulations put in place from 1982/1983, this is not at all the case. In fact, Group B was designed above all to allow a larger number of manufacturers to compete, with the minimum number for the production model being reduced from 400 to 200 units. But the modifications permitted were more restrictive, meaning that the 308 GTB Group B cars came much closer to the road model than the Group 4 versions, for which more extensive developmental engineering work was authorized.

 

While from 1977 Ferrari reverted to metal bodies (with steel and aluminum openings), it was the versions with fiberglass bodywork that were chosen as the basis for subsequently producing the Group 4 GTBs. This particularity explains why the chassis numbers of the Group 4 (and Group B) 308 GTBs are often among the older, exclusively pre-1977 models.

S/N 21883 offered for sale

Chassis 21883 is one of 11 cars built to Group 4 specification, and was the last to be built, in February 1985. It’s also the last competition 308 GTB, with the Group B specification versions (only four cars) being produced only in 1983 and 1984.

 

The car being presented by Ascott Collection today, bearing chassis number 21883, is one of only three copies delivered new in the United States. Being the last car in the series, it benefited from the ongoing development work. This included in particular the replacement of the Weber 40 DCNF carburetors with the specially developed "Kugelfischer-Michelotto" mechanical injection system. Also worth mentioning is the addition of Kevlar body panels, whereas most earlier cars in the series featured fibreglass bodies with composite opening panels.

 

On leaving the Michelotto workshop in Group 4 configuration in 1985, it was entered for racing by its first owner. It took part in numerous competitions in the United States in the Eastern Motor Racing Association before returning to the paddocks of the Ferrari Challenge and even, in Europe, of the Ferrari Maserati Historic Challenge. After going from a livery combining red and silver to a Gulf livery, the car is now being presented in a red and white configuration.

 

Its first owner, Artie Wiener, kept it for the first 15 years of its existence. It was acquired in 2020 by Algar Ferrari in Philadelphia who in turn sold it to Bill Noon in 2000. Bill Noon entered it in the Tour Auto in 2003 and 2006. It was then acquired by Dr. Dudley who entered it in the Maserati Historic Challenge. Dr. Dudley applied for Ferrari certification. 21883 on 16 October 2008 was the first 308 GTB Group 4 to receive its Ferrari classiche certificate on 16 October 2008. In August 2010, Andrew Beverly acquired the car and entrusted it to GTO Engineering for a full restoration. The car was repainted in red with white piping as it is today. The work was completed in 2011 and 21883 made its baptism of fire during the Tour Auto. She was entered again in the Tour Auto in 2012 where she won the class.  The current owner purchased the car last year. The engine and gearbox have just been overhauled. She benefits from a power unit with maximum potential.

 

By Ferrari's own admission, 308s have become highly prized rarities. "All of them are highly sought after in memory of Ferrari's bold and brilliant foray into the world of high-level rallying," reads the brand's official website. The 21883 is a rare model that bears witness to this era, to be discovered with the Ascott Collection and – why not – to be entered in your next Tour Auto?

CALL US: +33 9 67 33 48 43

ENQUIRE ABOUT THIS CAR

Thank you for your message

ferrari 308 gtb group 4 michelotto for sale 1.JPG

RETROMOBILE 2022

1985 FERRARI 308 GTB MICHELOTTO GROUP 4

 

  • L’incursion de Ferrari dans le monde du rallye

  • La première Ferrari développée avec Michelotto

  • Le 11ème et dernier exemplaire produit

  • Ferrari Classiche

  • Bloc propulseur révisé

  • Eligible Tour Auto, Cento Ore Modena

VENDUE

ELIGIBILITE

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

Tour Auto

Cento Ore Modena

Marque

FERRARI

Modèle

308 GTB GROUP 4

Année

1985

No de châssis

21883

Châssis

Tubulaire Acier

Carrosserie

Fibre de verre et de kevlar

Moteur

FERRARI V8 2,926 l 

Puissance

290 CH. @ 8 000 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

5 Vitesses

Poids

1020 KG

La Ferrari 308 GTB, héritière de la Dino 246 GT et de la Dino 308 GT4, a été présentée au Mondial de l’Automobile de Paris en 1975. Dans la gamme du constructeur italien jusqu’en 1983, elle aura le droit à des déclinaisons en compétition, tant en Groupe 4 qu’en Groupe B. Le châssis aujourd’hui proposé à la vente par Ascott Collection constitue l’une des pièces les plus rare de la lignée des Ferrari 308 GTB de course, produites en très petite série.Construite en février 1985, elle est la toute dernière des 308 destinées à la compétition et l’ultime Groupe 4 du modèle. Authentifiée par le département Classiche de Ferrari, elle témoigne d’une époque mythique, et s’inscrit tant dans l’histoire ancienne que moderne de la marque, elle qui reste la première à avoir inauguré la collaboration entre Ferrari et Michelotto !

 

Le passage à la compétition pour la 308 GTB

A la fin de la saison 1973, Ferrari prend une décision radicale. Celle de se consacrer désormais uniquement à la Formule 1, et de ne pas mener d’autres programmes en parallèle, comme cela pouvait être le cas auparavant avec les 24 Heures du Mans. Un tel choix de concentration des moyens et des efforts ne bride pour autant pas la volonté de nombreuses équipes privées, qui sollicitent la marque pour qu’elle développe une voiture répondant aux normes du Groupe 4. Certains veulent une authentique Ferrari, et ne souhaitent pas s’orienter sur la Lancia 037 développée par la maison mère Fiat pour le rallye. 

 

Ne souhaitant pas se détourner de sa décision de se focaliser sur la Formule 1, Enzo Ferrari trouve une solution et confie le projet à Michelotto… Le concessionnaire Ferrari de Padoue, grand spécialiste de la marque, prend dès 1978 la base de la 308 GTB (châssis 20951 fourni par Ferrari) et la prépare pour le rallye. Giuliano Michelotto croit au potentiel de la 308 et démarre son premier projet soutenu par Ferrari, qui va initier une collaboration encore active aujourd’hui ! Après le premier modèle et face aux succès en rallye, les clients arrivent. A l’époque, Charles Pozzi, importateur français de la marque, est le plus insistant pour que la production des 308 GTB 4 se développe (par la voix de Daniel Marin, son directeur général). Lui qui cherche à remplacer ses Daytona commande quatre châssis de 308 GTB en version Groupe 4 auprès de Michelotto.

 

La première Ferrari Michelotto de l’histoire

La première Ferrari issue de la collaboration avec Michelotto est donc la 308. Après avoir préparé le moteur de la Lancia Stratos, Michelotto se lance avec Ferrari, et va devenir le préparateur-partenaire que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. Avec un châssis tubulaire, une carrosserie en fibre de verre, des renforts avec des panneaux en carbone-kevlar,la 308 GTB n’affiche que 1020 kg sur la balance. Les passages de roue plus larges sont notables mais ne viennent pas casser les lignes Pininfarina. On note – rallye oblige - une suspension élevant la garde au sol et le débattement, et un jeu complet de feux à forte intensité.

 

Michelotto allège les culasses et change les pistons du V8 qui conserve sur les premières versions des carburateurs Weber avant de passer sur une injection mécanique Kugelfischer. Avec un peu moins de 300ch, la cavalerie est aidée par une transmission revue pour le rallye et une boîte spécifique avec 4 rapports courts, et un différentiel à glissement limité ZF. Les premières versions développent la puissance de 288 chevaux, disponible à 8000 tr/min. Une évolution notable par rapport aux 255 chevaux disponibles à 7000 tr/min de la 308 GTB de série. 

 

A savoir : la 308 GTB a été produite tant en version Groupe 4 que Groupe B. Si les dernières nommées peuvent sembler plus extrêmes, car issues du règlement mis en place à partir de 1982/1983, il n’en n’est rien. En effet, le Groupe B était avant tout pensé pour permettre à un nombre plus important de constructeurs de s’engager en compétition, avec un minimum de production du modèle de série passant de 400 à 200 unités. Mais les modifications autorisées étaient plus restrictives, faisant des 308 GTB Groupe B des voitures bien plus proches du modèle de route que ne le sont les versions Groupe 4, qui ont eu le droit à un travail d’ingénierie plus poussé. 

 

Une production en petite série

Si à partir de 1977, Ferrari revient aux carrosseries métalliques (avec acier et ouvrants en aluminium), ce sont bien les versions avec carrosserie en fibre de verre qui sont retenues comme base pour ensuite produire les GTB Groupe 4. Cette spécificité explique que les numéros de châssis des 308 GTB Groupe 4 (et Groupe B) comptent souvent parmi les plus anciens, exclusivement des modèles pré-1977.

 

S/N 21883 offered for sale

Le châssis 21883 fait partie des 11 exemplaires développés aux spécifications Groupe 4, et est le dernier à avoir été assemblé, en février 1985. Il s’agit aussi de l’ultime 308 GTB de course, les versions aux spécifications Groupe B ayant été produites en 1983 et 1984 (à quatre exemplaires seulement).

La voiture présentée aujourd’hui par Ascott Collection avec le numéro de châssis 21883 est l'un des trois seuls exemplaires livrés neufs aux États-Unis. Étant la dernière voiture de la série, elle a bénéficié du travail de développement continu. Cela intègre en particulier le remplacement des carburateurs Weber 40 DCNF par le système d'injection mécanique "Kugelfischer-Michelotto" spécialement développé. Citons également l’ajout des panneaux de carrosserie en Kevlar, alors que la plupart des voitures précédentes de la série avaient des carrosseries en fibre de verre avec des panneaux d'ouverture en composite.

 

Sortie de l’atelier de Michelotto en configuration Groupe 4 en 1985, elle a été engagée par son premier propriétaire en circuit. Elle a participé à de nombreuses compétitions aux États-Unis en EasternMotor Racing Association avant de retrouver les paddocks du Ferrari Challenge et même, en Europe, du Ferrari Maserati Historic Challenge. Passée par une livrée associant le rouge et l’argent, puis une décoration Gulf, la voiture est aujourd’hui présentée dans une teinte rouge et blanche. 

Son premier propriétaire, Artie Wiener, l’a conservée durant les 15 premières années de son existence. Elle fut acquise en 2020 par Algar Ferrari à Philadelphie qui la vendu à son tour à Bill Noon en 2000. Ce dernier l’engagea au Tour Auto en 2003 et en 2006. Elle fut ensuite acquise par Dr. Dudley qui l’engagea en Maserati Historic Challenge. Dr. Dudley fit la demande de certification Ferrari. 21883 le 16 octobre 2008 fut la première 308 GTB Group 4 à recevoir son certificat « Ferrari classiche » le 16 octobre 2008. En août 2010, Andrew Beverly en fit l’acquisition et la confia à GTO Engineering pour effectuer une restauration complète. C’est d’ailleurs à cette occasion qu’elle fut repeinte en rouge avec des liserés blanc comme elle a aujourd’hui. Les travaux furent terminés en 2011 et 21883 fit son baptême du feu lors du Tour Auto. Elle fut engagée à nouveau au Tour auto en 2012 où elle remporta la victoire de catégorie.  Son propriétaire actuel en a fait l’acquisition l’année dernière. Le moteur et boite à vitesse viennent tout juste d’être révisés. Ele bénéfice donc d’un bloc propulseur avec un maximum de potentiel.

 

De l’aveu même de Ferrari, les 308 sont aujourd’hui des raretés très prisées. « Toutes sont très recherchées en souvenir de l'audacieuse et brillante incursion de Ferrari dans le monde des rallyes de haut niveau » peut-on lire sur le site officiel de la marque. 21883 est un témoin de cette époque, un modèle rare, à découvrir avec Ascott Collection et à engager à votre prochain Tour Auto ?

APPELEZ-NOUS : +33 9 67 33 48 43

ECRIVEZ-NOUS

Thank you for your message