Ferrari 360 RC-202.jpg

2006 FERRARI F430 GTC

  • Ferrari's first modern GT to win at Le Mans 

  • Winner of the GT España Championship in 2009

  • Driven by ex F1 driver Pedro Lamy

  • Winner of the GT2 class at Le Mans Classic 2022

  • Maintained by Scott Sport 

  • Eligible for Gulf Historic, Masters Endurance Legends, Endurance Racing Legends and Le Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITY

TECHNICAL CHARACTERISTICS

ENDURANCE RACING LEGENDS by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

LE MANS 24 HOURS SUPPORT RACE

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS

GULF CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

Mark

FERRARI

Model

F430 GTC GT2

Year

2006

Chassis No.

2434

Frame

ALUMINIUM

Body

CARBON

Engine

V8 FERRARI 3.996 LITER

Power

440 HP. @ 7000 RPM

Gearbox

6 SPEED SEQUENTIAL

Weight

1130 KG

It was 20 years ago: Ferrari, which had developed the 333SP in the mid-1990s, winning several races in the United States, decided to return to the track with a serious commitment, but this time in GT. After the F50 GT1 project was abandoned and following the lack of support for the F40s a little earlier, Jean Todt created a new impetus. He gave the go-ahead to a programme of Ferrari V8s designed for the GT2 category, which later became GTE/GT3. While the first expression of this new ambition was the 360 Modena GTC, it was the F430 GTC that delivered the first truly prestigious successes, in particular the victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Ascott Collection is now offering for sale one of the F430 GTCs that raced at the time, now prepared for historic competitions (Endurance Racing Legends, Master Historic Racing, etc.).

 
The F430, a racing car in the making

The Ferrari F430 (presented at the 2004 Paris Motor Show) was the successor to the 360 Modena. The new V8 coupé of the range! It shared its aluminum chassis with the 360 that preceded it, but its design by Pininfarina (and more precisely by Frank Stephenson) opened up a new path. Almost everything was new. The F430 was inspired by other house creations, both modern and old, borrowing, for example, the rear lights from the Enzo. The side mirrors were similar to those of the Testarossa, with ducts integrated into its sides. The twin air intake system was retained, but the wider air intakes were reminiscent of the legendary shark nose of the 156 F1 from the 1960s. Although the overall shape was similar to the 360, the style of the F430 was much more aggressive!

The F430 inaugurated Ferrari's new 32-valve V8 engine with double overhead camshaft (F136 E). The rear of the car housed the engine block developed jointly with Maserati, with its own 180-degree flat crankshaft. Maximum power of the road version was officially 490 hp, all delivered to the rear wheels, with either a six-speed manual, or the optional six-speed F1, gearbox. It was thus an excellent basis, with a new look and a new technical base.

The development of the F430 GTC

It was the Michelotto Automobili company that developed the F430 GTC with a view to making it eligible for all the Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO) series. Chassis were entered in the American Le Mans Series (ALMS), the Le Mans Series (LMS) and the FIA GT championship, and, of course, in the 24 Hours of Le Mans! Michelotto worked directly with Ferrari Corse Clienti. From the start, the F430 was thus guided by an official ambition to race in the GT class. This was not the case with the 360 Modena that was initially developed by the Jean-Michel Bourresche (JMB) team before receiving a boost from Maranello.

Work on the F430 base began in late 2004, with the car being wheeled out for the first time in October 2005! While development was thus highly accelerated, nothing was left to chance.

The original F430 aluminum chassis was reinforced with an aluminum tubular lattice cage in the cockpit. On the mechanical side, the engine capacity was reduced to 3,996 cc to qualify the car for the GT2 category (which allowed engines from 3.8 to 4.0 litres capacity). The berlinetta had two mufflers on the exhaust manifolds to limit noise. In the process, the F430 put on a little weight - around 50 kg - tipping the scales at 1130 kg.

The power, controlled by flanges on the intake ducts in accordance with the regulations, varied from 430 to 470 hp, depending on the championships, with revving from 6600 to 7500 rpm. 

Aerodynamically, the car’s underbody was totally flat. To generate downforce, in addition to the F430’s excellent base there was of course a rear wing with many adjustment possibilities. The racing versions of the F430s were fitted with lightweight 18-inch centre-lock rims with Michelin slick tyres, which replaced the 19-inch rims with Pirelli tyres of the road car version. While the road-going F430's adjustable shocks could be adjusted with a thumbwheel on the steering wheel, the F430 GTC's suspension was not adjustable on the fly. 

The first Ferrari V8 queen of GT2/GTE

The F430 GTCs had an excellent start to their career with the FIA GT2 constructors championship and drivers' title in 2006 and 2007, the ALMS constructors’ title in GT2 in 2007, and a class victory in GT2 at Le Mans in 2008. The F430 GTC paved the way for the 458 GT2s and 488 GTEs.

The F430 GTCs won a total of 11 FIA GT2 titles (4 constructors’, 4 team, and 3 drivers’ titles), 4 LMS titles (2 team and 2 drivers’ titles), 4 ALMS (1 constructors’, 2 team, and 1 drivers’ titles), 2 Asian Le Mans Series titles (1 team, and 1 drivers’ title), 1 ILMC title (1 constructors’ title), 12 GT Open titles (4 overall, 3 team and 5 drivers’ titles). They also won many other titles in national championships in Italy and Spain.

The history of chassis 2434 being offered for sale

Chassis 2434 distinguished itself in the Campeonato de España GT. Entered for the season in 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009 by the Portuguese team ASM Team, it enabled Lourenço Beirão da Veiga and Ricardo Bravo to win the overall title in 2009. That year, they won four races at Valencia, Estoril and Jerez. In 2012, the F430 chassis 2434 raced in England with Paul Bailey and Andy Schulz in the Britcar Endurance Championship, under the banner of SB Race Engineering.

After being acquired by the current owner in 2018, it was restored by Progressive Motorsport in 2019 and then Scott Sport took charge of the car. The engine was entrusted to XtecEngineering and the installation of a MOTEC and its wiring harness was carried out by Lap Engineering. The complete file of the restoration work, including photos and invoices, is available.

It was thus a fully restored F430 GTC which was then successfully entered in the Masters Endurance Legends races and the Endurance Racing Legends by Peter Auto. In its last race at Le Mans Classic 2022, it was quite simply victorious in the GT2 class. This Ferrari F430 GTC is certainly one of the best GT2s for competing in historic races, offering a perfect balance between performance and ease of driving thanks to its very robust and efficient chassis and after all … it's a Ferrari!
Photo: Jesse Evison Photography

CALL US: +33 9 67 33 48 43

ENQUIRE ABOUT THIS CAR

Thank you for your message

Ferrari 360 RC-202.jpg

2006 FERRARI F430 GTC

  • Victoire au Mans Classic 2022 - Catégorie GT2

  • Championne du GT España Championship en 2009. Pilotée en période par Pedro Lamy

  • La F430 GTC est la première GT moderne de Ferrari victorieuse au Mans

  • Entretenue par Scott Sport

  • Eligible à nombreuses courses historiques dont Gulf Historic, Masters Endurance Legends, Endurance Racing Legends et le Mans Classic 

ELIGIBILITE

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

ENDURANCE RACING LEGENDS by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

LE MANS 24 HOURS SUPPORT RACE

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS

GULF CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

Marque

FERRARI

Modèle

F430 GTC

Année

2006

No de châssis

2434

Châssis

ALUMINIUM

Carrosserie

CARBONE

Moteur

V8 FERRARI 3,996 LITRES

Puissance

440 CH. @ 7 000 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

6 VITESSES SEQUENTIELLE

Poids

1130 KG

C’était il y a 20 ans : Ferrari, qui avait développé au milieu des années 90 la 333SP, victorieuse à plusieurs reprises aux Etats-Unis, décidait de revenir avec une implication forte mais cette fois en GT. Après l’abandon du projet F50 GT1 et le manque de support aux F40 un peu plus tôt, Jean Todt lançait une nouvelle impulsion. Il donnait le feu vert à un programme de Ferrari V8 destinées à la catégorie GT2, devenue ensuite GTE/GT3. Si la première traduction de cette ambition nouvelle était la 360 Modena GTC, c’est bien la F430 GTC qui allait apporter les premiers succès de prestige, et notamment les victoires aux 24 Heures du Mans. Ascott Collection vous propose aujourd’hui à la vente l’un des châssis F430 GTC ayant été engagé en compétition à l’époque, préparé pour les compétitions historiques (Endurance Racing Legends, Master Historic Racing, etc.). 

 

La F430, une voiture de course en puissance

La Ferrari F430 (présentée à l’occasion du Salon de l'Automobile de Paris 2004) était l’héritière de la 360 Modena. Le nouveau coupé V8 de la gamme ! Elle partageait son châssis en aluminium avec la 360 qui l'avait précédée, mais son dessin signé Pininfarina (et plus précisément Frank Stephenson) ouvrait une nouvelle voie. Tout ou presque était nouveau. La F430 s'inspirait d’autres créations maison, modernes et anciennes, reprenant par exemple les feux arrière de l'Enzo, des rétroviseurs latéraux semblables à ceux de la Testarossa ou des conduits intégrés à ses côtés. Le système d'admission d'air double était conservé, mais les prises d'air plus larges rappelaient le légendaire nez de requin de la 156 F1 des années 1960. Bien que la forme générale soit similaire à celle de la 360, le style de la F430 était beaucoup plus agressif !

La F430 inaugurait le nouveau moteur V8 32 soupapes à double arbre à cames en tête de Ferrari (F136 E). A l’arrière, on retrouvait ainsi le bloc développé conjointement avec Maserati, avec son propre vilebrequin plat à 180 degrés. La puissance de la version de route était annoncée à 490 chevaux, tout aux roues arrière, avec une boîte manuelle à six vitesses ou la boîte F1 à six rapports en option. La base était ainsi excellente, signant une nouvelle esthétique et inaugurant une nouvelle base technique. 

Le développement de la F430 GTC

C’est la société Michelotto Automobili qui développa la F430 GTC en vue de la rendre éligible à toutes les séries labelisées Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO). Des châssis furent engagés en American Le Mans Series (ALMS), Le Mans Series (LMS) ou encore en championnat FIA GT et bien entendu aux 24 Heures du Mans ! Michelotto collaborait directement avec Ferrari Corse Clienti. Dès le départ, la F430 était ainsi guidée par une volonté officielle de s’engager en Grand Tourisme. Cela n’avait pas été le cas avec la 360 Modena, développée dans un premier temps par l’équipe de Jean-Michel Bourresche (JMB) avant de recevoir un coup de pouce de Maranello. 

Le travail autour de la base de F430 commença dès la fin de l’année 2004, avec les premiers tours de roue en octobre 2005 ! Un développement accéléré donc, mais rien ne fut laissé au hasard.

Le châssis d'origine en aluminium de la F430 a été renforcé par une cage en treillis tubulaire en aluminium dans le cockpit. Sur le plan mécanique, la cylindrée du moteur a été réduite à 3 996 cm³ pour rendre la voiture compatible avec la catégorie GT2 (autorisant des moteurs de 3,8 à 4,0 litres de cylindrée). La berlinette disposait de deux silencieux sur les collecteurs d'échappement pour limiter le bruit. Au passage, la F430 prenait de l’embonpoint - environ 50 kg - pour atteindre 1130 kg sur la balance. 

La puissance, gérée au moyen de brides placées sur les conduits d'admission conformément à la réglementation, fluctuait selon les championnats de 430 à 470 ch, disponible de 6600 à 7500 tr/min.  

Au niveau aérodynamique, le soubassement de la voiture était totalement plat. Pour générer de l’appui, en complément de l’excellente base que constituait la F430, on retrouvait évidemment un aileron arrière avec de nombreuses possibilités de réglage. Les déclinaisons course des F430 étaient montées sur des jantes légères de 18 pouces à écrou central avec des pneus slicks Michelin en lieu et place des jantes de 19 pouces équipées de pneus Pirelli des voitures de route. Alors que les amortisseurs réglables de la F430 de route pouvaient être ajustés à l'aide d'une molette sur le volant, la suspension de la F430 GTC n'était, elle, pas réglable à la volée.

La première Ferrari V8 reine du GT2/GTE

Les F430 GTC ont connu un début de carrière excellent avec le championnat constructeurs et le titre des pilotes FIA GT2 en 2006 et 2007, le titre constructeur en ALMS en GT2 en 2007, ainsi qu’une victoire de catégorie en GT2 au Mans en 2008. La F430 GTC a ouvert la voie aux 458 GT2 et 488 GTE. 

Les F430 GTC ont remporté au total 11 titres FIA GT2 (4 constructeurs, 4 équipes, 3 pilotes), 4 LMS (2 équipes et 2 pilotes), 4 ALMS (1 constructeur, 2 équipes, 1 pilote), 2 Asian Le Mans Series (1 équipe, 1 pilote), 1 ILMC (1 constructeur), 12 GT Open (4 au total, 3 équipes et 5 pilotes). De nombreux titres ont également été obtenus dans des championnats nationaux en Italie et en Espagne.

Historique du châssis 2434 proposé à la vente

Le châssis 2434 s’est distingué en Campeonato de España de GT. Engagée à la saison en 2006, 2007, 2008 et 2009 par l’équipe portugaise ASM Team, elle a permis à Lourenço Beirão da Veiga et Ricardo Bravo de décrocher le titre au général en 2009. Cette année-là, ils remportaient quatre courses à Valence, Estoril et Jerez. En 2012, la F430 châssis 2434 allait connaître une carrière anglaise avec Paul Bailey et Andy Schulz en Britcar Endurance Championship, sous la bannière SB Race Engineering. 

Acquise en 2018 par le propriétaire actuel, elle fut restaurée en 2019 par Progressive Motorsport et ensuite Scott Sport prit en charge la voiture. Le moteur fut confié à Xtec Engineering et l’installation d’une MOTEC et de son faisceau électrique fut réalisée par Lap Engineering. Le dossier de restauration comprenant des photos de cette restauration ainsi que les factures est disponible.

C’est donc une F430 GTC entièrement restaurée qui fut ensuite engagée avec succès dans les courses du Masters Endurance Legends ainsi qu’en Endurance Racing Legends by Peter Auto. Lors de sa dernière course au Mans Classic 2022, elle a tout simplement remporté la victoire en catégorie GT2. Cette Ferrari F430 GTC est certainement une des meilleures GT2 pour rouler en historique, offrant un équilibre parfait entre efficacité et facilité de pilotage grâce à un châssis très sain et efficace et puis c’est une Ferrari !


Crédit Photo: Jesse Evison Photography

APPELEZ-NOUS : +33 9 67 33 48 43

ECRIVEZ-NOUS

Thank you for your message