1972 DUCKHAMS 24 HOURS OF LE MANS 72 4.j

1972 DUCKHAMS LM

 

The first prototype created by Gordon Murray

A model unique in the world, entered for the 1972, 1973 and 1974 editions of the 24 Hours of Le Mans
A competitive car, eligible for the Le Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITY

LE MANS CLASSIC

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

MASTERS HISTORIC SPORTS CARS

SILVERSTONE CLASSIC

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

VEHICULE ENQUIRY
TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
PRICE

UPON REQUEST

Mark

DUCKHAMS

Model

72 LM

Year

1972

Frame

MONOCOQUE ALUMINUM

Body

FIBERGLASS

Engine

COSWORTH V8 DFV - 3.0 LITERS

Power

490 CH. @ 10,000 RPM

Gearbox

HEWLAND 5 SPEED

Weight

700 KG

In 1972, the 24 Hours of Le Mans was marked by a very strong French presence, crowned with success through the domination of the Matra Simca Shell team, and the victory of the Graham Hill/ Henri Pescarolo pairing ahead of François Cevert and Howden Ganley. While Porsche managed to place a 908 LH on the bottom step of the podium (with Reinhold Joest/ Michel Weber/ Mario Casoni), the opposition from England was also very strong. The Duckhams Oil Motor Racing team, with the Duckhams LM now being offered for sale by Ascott Collection, was ranked among the outsiders. This car is exceptional for several reasons: it boasts three participations in the 24 Hours of Le Mans (from 1972 to 1974), was a unique creation (with a single chassis assembled at the time) and was the work of a true genius, Gordon Murray.

 
Alain de Cadenet and Gordon Murray: a telling encounter

Alain de Cadenet’s debut participation at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1971 with the Ecurie Francorchamps team, driving a Ferrari 512 M, turned out to be a memorable experience. Due to an accident with a Lola during the Targa Florio less than a month before Le Mans, he had momentarily lost part of the vision in his left eye. But he went away having fallen in love with the event, and vowing to come back as a winner…

The regulation changed at the time, imposing new sports models with a limitation on engine sizes. In Group 5, the limit was set at 3,000 cm3. To win the general classification required having a prototype that met this condition. The Porsche 917 and Ferrari 512, which some private teams were using, had become obsolete. Alain de Cadenet then had the idea of switching to the “little” Ferrari, the 312PB. “Ferrari was using the 312PB, which I consider to be one of their most beautiful creations, like a small go-kart derived from Formula 1”, explained Alain de Cadenet. “I went to the factory to see if it was possible to drive one, and I was told that they’d never sell them to private teams because they were "too difficult to drive". I was furious because I considered myself perfectly capable of driving them.” Having failed to sell the F1 Brabham BT33 he’d purchased earlier, and unable to buy or rent a Ferrari 312PB, he had to find another solution.

Out of sheer rage, Alain de Cadenet had the idea of building a prototype of his own. As the owner of a Formula 1 BT33, he had “connections” with the firm Motor Racing Developments Ltd. (MRD), which assembled the Brabhams. A certain Gordon Murray had been a designer for them for a few years (before becoming chief engineer and technical director of the Brabham F1 programme in 1973). Alain de Cadenet was impressed by Gordon Murray, describing him as a young man who “had this innate gift of describing technical details in simple terms.” So what if Gordon Murray were the man for the job? “I asked him: Do you think you could design a two-seater chassis that looks a bit like a Ferrari 312PB, that I can fit my Brabham bits to? And that’s exactly what he did.” The work was done at night, outside of Murray’s working hours, since the boss, Bernie Ecclestone, didn’t approve of the project.

 
The birth of the Duckhams LM

To describe the Duckhams LM as a mere clone of the Ferrari 312PB would be both false and unfair. While it was indeed the Italian car that was the logical inspiration for it, the Duckhams LM3 (3 as in “three” litres), had its own characteristics.

As we’ve already said, the Duckhams LM was designed to enable the use of certain Brabham parts owned by de Cadenet. Gordon Murray designed a monocoque that could be fitted with the spare suspension from the F1 Brabham. Made of riveted aluminium, it was fitted with the BT33’s rolling gear. The fiber body was made by ProToCo.

Another requirement, to save time and facilitate supplies, was to use mainly English parts. The Duckhams LM became a nearly 100% English prototype: the engine was an ex-McLaren Cosworth DFV, used in F1 at the Belgian Grand Prix. It had given Bruce McLaren his sole F1 win of the season (and his last in F1), with the McLaren M7A. It delivered 400 horsepower at 9,000 rpm and 395 horsepower at 8,500 rpm.

The engine was coupled to a Hewland DG 300 gearbox. For the brakes, de Cadenet chose AP Racing. All the work was done in record time – about six to eight weeks. Everything was done in a garage in Petersham Mews, in the South Kensington district of London.

Several sources estimate a total project cost of £7,000 at the time, including £250 for the work done by Gordon Murray. Alain de Cadenet secured funding partly via the Camel tobacco company, but especially from the Duckhams oil manufacturer. It was this brand that gave the car its name – a practice that was subsequently to become widespread (Mirage Gulf, Inaltera, etc.).  

 

The Duckhams LM at home at Le Mans

With its English DNA but commissioned by Alain de Cadenet with his French origins, the Duckhams LM was predestined to race at Le Mans. Absent from the initial entry list, it was placed on the list of reserve cars, in the prototype category. Alain de Cadenet ended up by getting the green light.

Before being unveiled for the technical verifications, its testing programme was very limited. The car did around twenty laps on the Silverstone circuit in the hands of Chris Craft, on the Monday just before Le Mans. It may be assumed that the trip there – on the M4 motorway – was used to test the car, along with a few outings in the countryside around Le Mans.

The technical commissioners validated the car. Its first race was a truly excellent performance for such a young car: the throttle control was giving some signs of weakness, and then the front bonnet came off at the Arnage bend, after Chris Craft skidded off the track in pouring rain. At the time, the car was in a very good 5th place in the general standings. Following a 1 h 10 minutes pit-stop for repairs, the Duckhams LM crossed the finishing line in 12th position. But mechanically, it had had absolutely no problems – proving that the car was a true thoroughbred!

 

In 1973, the Duckhams LM returned to Le Mans with a modified body, a longer rear bonnet and a new rear spoiler. It was the “Long tail” version of the 1972 car. Again racing in Duckhams Oil Motor Racing colours, Alain de Cadenet and Chris Craft failed to see the finishing line. They broke the suspension in the 13th hour of the race.

 

After being given a new body in 1974, the car was rechristened the De Cadenet LM. This time the long tail was abandoned and a prominent rear aileron was mounted on two struts.

For its third consecutive participation in the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the car was driven by Chris Craft and John Nicholson, with Alain de Cadenet being entered but not racing. His role was to qualify the car and take the wheel, if needed, as a “reserve driver”. A suspension failure at the 15th hour of the race prevented the team from crossing the finishing line.

 

This third participation of the Duckhams LM allowed the car to become the very first to be entered as a De Cadenet, with the driver himself becoming a constructor and entering cars derived from Lola, before stepping up with a genuinely “personal” creation in 1977.

 

Gordon Murray’s first creation

Paradoxically, while the Duckhams LM impressed the observers and achieved success in its first participation at Le Mans, this wasn’t the case for Ferrari. The Italian firm, which had politely turned Alain de Cadenet down when he’d tried to hire a 312PB, didn’t even show up. Due to weaknesses in the transmission and excessive oil consumption (over 40 litres of oil for Jacky Ickx and Mario Andretti at the 12 Hours of Sebring), Ferrari decided not to confront Matra head-on in a 24 hours race…

“It was this car that started my career,” Gordon Murray said of the Duckhams LM. A career that was to be marked by the legendary McLaren F1, whose race version – the F1 GTR – won the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1995.

Ascott Collection is now proud to offer for sale a car that is steeped in history and unique in the world, and is very competitive on the historic racing scene, especially at the Le Mans Classic. The car is presented here in its 1972 configuration, with the 1973 and 1974 bodies included in the package of spare parts.

Gordon Murray has issued the car’s current owner with a certificate of authenticity.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

1972 DUCKHAMS 24 HOURS OF LE MANS 72 4.j

1972 DUCKHAMS LM

Le premier prototype développé par Gordon Murray

Un modèle unique au monde engagé aux 24 Heures du Mans en 1972, 1973 et 1974
Une voiture compétitive et éligible au Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITE

LE MANS CLASSIC

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

MASTERS HISTORIC SPORTS CARS

SILVERSTONE CLASSIC

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS
CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES
PRIX

SUR DEMANDE

Marque

DUCKHAMS

Modèle

72 LM

Année

1972

Châssis

MONOCOQUE ALUMINIUM

Carrosserie

FIBRE DE VERRE

Moteur

COSWORTH V8 DFV - 3,0 LITRES

Puissance

490 CH. @ 10 000 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

HEWLAND 5 VITESSES

Poids

700 KG

L’année 1972 est marquée aux 24 Heures du Mans par une très forte présence française, couronnée de succès par la domination de l’équipe Matra Simca Shell, et la victoire de l’équipage Graham Hill / Henri Pescarolo devant François Cevert et Howden Ganley. Si Porsche parvient à hisser une 908 LH sur la dernière marche du podium (pour Reinhold Joest / Michel Weber / Mario Casoni), l’opposition venue d’Angleterre aussi était très forte. L’équipe Duckham's Oil Motor Racing, avec la Duckhams LM aujourd’hui proposée par Ascott Collection, faisait partie des outsiders. Cette voiture est exceptionnelle pour plusieurs raisons : elle cumule trois participations aux 24 Heures du Mans (de 1972 à 1974), fut une création unique (un seul châssis assemblé à l’époque) et est l’œuvre d’un génie, Gordon Murray.

 

Alain de Cadenet et Gordon Murray : c’était un rendez-vous

Débutant aux 24 Heures du Mans en 1971 avec l’Ecurie Francorchamps sur une Ferrari 512 M, Alain de Cadenet vit une première expérience animée. A cause d’un accident avec une Lola lors de la Targa Florio moins d’un mois avant Le Mans, il avait momentanément perdu en partie sa vision de l’œil gauche. Mais il repartait en étant amoureux de l’épreuve, se jurant d’y revenir pour s’imposer…  

A l’époque, le règlement change : ce sont de nouveaux modèles sport qui sont imposés, avec une nouvelle limitation de la cylindrée. La CSI impose qu’en Groupe 5, celle-ci soit limitée à 3 000 cm3. Pour gagner au général, il faut un prototype qui répond à cette condition. Les Porsche 917 et Ferrari 512, auxquelles certaines équipes privées ont accès, sont devenues obsolètes. Alain de Cadenet a alors l’idée de se tourner vers la « petite » Ferrari, la 312PB. « Ferrari utilisait la 312PB, selon moi une de leurs plus belles créations, comme un petit kart dérivé de la Formule 1 confie Alain de Cadenet. Je suis allé à l'usine pour voir s'il était possible d'en piloter une, et on m'a dit qu'ils ne les vendraient jamais à des privés car elles étaient "trop difficiles à piloter". J'étais furieux, car je me considérais parfaitement capable de les faire rouler ». Ne parvenant pas à vendre sa F1 Brabham BT33 achetée plus tôt, et ne pouvant ni acheter ni louer une Ferrari 312PB, il doit réagir.

 

Vexé, Alain de Cadenet a alors en tête de construire un prototype. Propriétaire d’une BT33 de Formule 1, il a des « connections » avec la structure Motor Racing Developments Ltd. (MRD), qui assemble les Brabham. Un certain Gordon Murray y est designer depuis quelques années (avant de passer ingénieur en chef et directeur technique du programme Brabham F1 en 1973). Alain de Cadenet remarque Gordon Murray, le décrivant comme un jeune homme qui « avait cette façon innée de décrire les détails techniques dans un langage simple ». Et si Gordon Murray était l’homme de la situation ? « Je lui ai demandé : Pensez-vous que vous pourriez concevoir un châssis biplace ressemblant un peu à une Ferrari 312PB pour l'adapter à mes pièces Brabham ? Et c'est exactement ce qu'il a fait ». Cette mission se déroule la nuit, en dehors de ses heures de travail, le patron Bernie Ecclestone n’ayant pas approuvé le projet.

 

La naissance de la Duckhams LM

Résumer la Duckhams LM a un clone de Ferrari 312PB est à la fois faux et injuste. Si c’est la voiture italienne qui fut l’inspiration logique, la Duckhams LM3 (un 3 comme « trois » litres), possède ses particularités.

La Duckhams LM est pensée pour favoriser l’utilisation de certaines pièces Brabham que possède de Cadenet, comme nous l’avons dit. Gordon Murray conçoit une monocoque tout en y adaptant les suspensions de rechange de la F1 Brabham. En aluminium riveté, elle reçoit les trains roulants de la BT33. La carrosserie en fibre est réalisée par ProToCo.

Autre contrainte, il faut favoriser pour des questions de temps et d’approvisionnement des pièces anglaises. La Duckhams LM devient un prototype 100% Anglais ou presque : le moteur est un Cosworth DFV en provenance de McLaren, utilisé en F1 lors du Grand Prix de Belgique. Il avait permis à Bruce McLaren de décrocher son seul succès de la saison en F1 (son dernier dans la discipline) avec la McLaren M7A. Il développe 400 chevaux à 9 000 tr/min ou 395 chevaux à 8 500 tr/min.

Ce bloc est couplé à une boite Hewland DG 300. Pour les freins, de Cadenet sélectionne des AP. Tout le travail est réalisé en un temps record, environ six à huit semaines. Tout se déroule dans un garage situé à Petersham Mews, dans le quartier de South Kensington, à Londres.

Plusieurs sources avancent un coût total du projet à l’époque de 7000 £, dont 250 £ pour le travail de Gordon Murray. Alain de Cadenet s’assure des rentrées financières via le cigarettier Camel, mais surtout le fabricant d’huiles Duckhams. C’est cette marque qui donne son nom à la voiture. Une pratique qui se multipliera par la suite (Mirage Gulf, Inaltera, etc.).

 
La Duckhams LM dans son jardin du Mans

Avec son ADN anglais mais commissionnée par Alain de Cadenet qui possède des origines françaises, la Duckhams LM est prédestinée à rouler en Sarthe. Absente de la première liste des engagés, elle rejoint la liste des voitures de réserve en catégorie prototypes. Finalement, Alain de Cadenet obtient le feu vert.

Avant de se dévoiler lors des vérifications techniques, son programme d’essais est réduit. Une vingtaine de tours du circuit de Silverstone aux mains de Chris Craft a été réalisée le lundi avant Le Mans. On suppose que le trajet sur l’autoroute – via la M4 – a été mis à profit pour faire rouler la voiture, tout comme quelques sorties dans la campagne sarthoise.

Les commissaires techniques valident l’auto. Sa première course est un récital ou presque, une excellente prestation pour une voiture aussi jeune : la commande d’accélérateur donna quelques signes de faiblesse, puis le capot avant se décrocha à Arnage suite à une sortie de piste de Chris Craft, lors de la survenue d’une averse. La voiture occupait alors une belle 5e place au général. Arrêtée à son stand pour être réparée pendant 1 h 10 minutes, la Duckhams LM voyait l’arrivée en 12e position. Mais sur le plan mécanique, elle ne souffre d’aucun problème. Certes Duckhams est bien née !

 

En 1973, la Duckhams LM revient en Sarthe avec une carrosserie évoluée. Le capot arrière est allongé et un aileron arrière fait son apparition. C’est la version « Long tail » de la voiture de 1972. Toujours sous la bannière Ecurie Duckhams Oil Motor Racing, Alain de Cadenet et Chris Craft ne voient cette fois pas l’arrivée. Ils cassent une suspension à la 13e heure de course.

 

Rebaptisée De Cadenet LM, la voiture reçoit une nouvelle carrosserie en 1974. Cette fois la queue longue est abandonnée et un aileron arrière proéminent est montée sur deux mats.

Pour sa troisième participation consécutive aux 24 Heures du Mans, la voiture sera pilotée par Chris Craft et John Nicholson, Alain de Cadenet étant inscrit mais ne roulant pas. Son rôle était de qualifier la voiture et de prendre le volant – éventuellement – en cas de besoin. Un rôle de « pilote de réserve ». Une rupture de suspension à la 15e heure de course privera l’equipage de voir la ligne d’arrivée.

Cette troisième participation de la Duckhams LM permet à la voiture de devenir la toute première De Cadenet engagée. Le pilote va en effet devenir constructeur, et engager ensuite des voitures dérivées de Lola, avant de se présenter avec une véritable création « personnelle » en 1977.

 

La première création de Gordon Murray

Paradoxe, si la Duckhams LM impressionne les observateurs et parvient à réussir sa première participation en Sarthe, ce n’est pas le cas de Ferrari. La marque italienne, qui avait gentiment remercié Alain de Cadenet lorsqu’il voulait engager une 312PB, n’est même pas venue. A cause de faiblesses dans la transmission et d’une consommation d’huile déraisonnable (on parle de plus de 40 litres d'huile pour Jacky Ickx et Mario Andretti aux 12 heures de Sebring), Ferrari a décidé de ne pas se confronter à Matra frontalement sur un double tour d’horloge…

 

« C’est cette voiture qui a lancé ma carrière » expliqua M Gordon Murray à propos de cette Duckhams LM. Une carrière qui allait notamment être marquée par la mythique McLaren F1, dont la version de course – la F1 GTR – a remporté les 24 Heures du Mans en 1995.

Ascott Collection est fier de proposer à la vente une voiture unique au monde et chargée d’histoire et très compétitive sur la scène historique en particulier au Mans Classic. La voiture est proposée dans sa configuration de 1972, et les carrosseries de 1973 et 1974 font partie du lot de pièces.

M Gordon Murray a délivré un certificat d’authenticité de la voiture au propriétaire actuel.

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon