JM7_5387.JPG

1968 COSTIN-NATHAN GT

 

A unique design by Frank Costin & Roger Nathan

A rare and fast GT

For over 20 years in the current collection 

Regular participant in Le Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITY
VEHICULE ENQUIRY

LE MANS CLASSIC

FIA MASTERS SPORTS CARS

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
PRICE

UPON REQUEST

Mark

COSTIN NATHAN

Model

GT

Year

1968

Chassis number

GT2/68/030

Frame

WOOD

Body

FIBERGLASS

Engine

HILMAN IMP 998 cc

Power

97 CH. @ 6,700 RPM

Gearbox

HEWLAND 5 SPEED

Weight

400 KG

The name Costin-Nathan may not mean much to you. It’s a brand known especially to aficionados, the name of a series of racing cars that Frank Costin developed with Roger Nathan. Let’s look back on an original lineage, and on the GT version, the emblematic model of the English craftsman constructor Costin-Nathan.

 

The Genesis of Costin-Nathan

After various projects to build racing cars, notably with Vanwall, Lotus, March, Lister, Maserati or Jaguar, and after working with Jem Marsh to create the brand Marcos, the aeronautical and aerodynamic engineer Frank Costin turned to another project in 1965/1966: building an ultralight racing car with a central engine. While Costin designed the chassis and the bodyshell, Roger Nathan designed the mechanical part. The latter had made a name for himself driving Lotus Elites with some success in the 1960s. He was the project’s initiator – it was he who asked Frank Costin to build the car.

Based on a plywood monohull, two open racing cars were built initially, one of which was driven with some success by Roger Nathan. Inspired by this success, the two men developed a coupe version, from 1966. It was officially presented at the London Racing Car Show the same year.

Although the Costin-Nathan GT doesn’t look much like Frank Costin’s previous creations, there are some elements that he had already used in the past. The use of plywood for the central section of the chassis evokes the Marcos (as in the first of the brand’s creations, the Xylon, or the Luton Gullwing and then the Fastback GT). At either end, a tubular subframe supported the suspension, and the engine was mounted in the middle. Specifically, the running gear and the engine were supported by tubular lattices constructed from light steel tubes.

One of the main reasons for the predominant use of wood was that it offered a solid and light construction for a very modest price compared to an aluminum frame. The wood used was Marine Okoumé plywood from Gabon, which Costin-Nathan guaranteed for 10 years.

A light and agile car

All the Costin-Nathans were initially powered by Hillman Imp engines with a displacement of 998 cc (1 litre). All the engine parts were consolidated and two Weber carburettors installed. The result was quite impressive, with a power of 97 HP, or nearly 100 hp per litre. Thanks to its small engine and lightweight chassis, the Costin-Nathan Imp weighed less than 400 kg (388 kg, including 77 kg for the complete engine unit), which gave it a weight/power ratio of nearly 250 HP per ton!

It all started in 1966. The very first race appearance of a Costin-Nathan was at the Brands Hatch meeting, with a Spyder-type open bodyshell. The car competed in six races in 1966, winning five category victories. It was thanks to their aerodynamics and their very low weight that these small coupes enjoyed a certain success in competition (especially in the Nürburgring 500 km race in 1967 and 1968).

The Costin-Nathan GT, with Le Mans in its Sights

In 1967, the decision was taken to create a new “coupe” bodyshell, in particular to be able to enter the car for the 24 Hours of Le Mans. This was how the Costin-Nathan GT was born. It was entered at Le Mans by the firm Roger Nathan Racing Ltd. Its full design was completed just three weeks before the big race. Only one test session was organised before the 24 Hours of Le Mans, at Snetterton. There, the Costin-Nathan GT covered 75 laps without any problems.

The team was made up of two English drivers, Roger Nathan and Mike Beckwith, and the French driver Franck Ruata. The car passed the technical checks without the slightest problem. But during the first test session the engine started to misfire, with the appearance of ignition problems in particular. There were also hydraulics problems, causing the brakes to lock and the clutch to slip. To solve the engine problem, the cooling was "improved" by turning the bonnet into a giant air-box. But the misfiring continued and a cylinder head gasket blew. These eventful test sessions ended with a 53rd place on the grid.

Electrical problems and prolonged misfiring led to it retiring after just four hours of racing. The story has it that when the drivers got back to their hotel on the Saturday night after the car had retired, they found their room… occupied by other guests!

Back in England, the problems were traced back to parts provided by Lucas. A tiny spring had also broken in one of the Weber carburettors.

The rest of the season brought success, especially in France at Montlhéry, where Roger Nathan finished in 7th position (and 1st in his category) in the Coupe du Salon, and at the 1000 km of Paris 1968 where he finished 20th. However, the car wasn’t approved for the Group 4 category and it was private drivers who would continue to race their Costin-Nathan GTs. In 1970, the British pairing of John Markey and Terry Hunter entered their Costin Nathan GT for the Targa Florio.

The Costin-Nathan GTs driven by private drivers were fitted with a variety of engines: the 1.3-litre Ford Cosworth for the 1,000 km of Nürburgring in 1968 and 1970, and the BMW 2-litre M10 for Jenny Del’s car at Snetterton and Silverstone in 1970.

It should also be noted that the Moynet-Simca XS entered for the 1968 edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans was built on a Costin-Nathan chassis.

A very rare car acquired in 1999 by the current owner

Around ten of these superb GTs were built. The chassis number of the Costin-Nathan GT being offered for sale here (GT2/68/030) indicates that it was assembled in 1968. The ownership records go back to the 1990s.

Our Costin-Nathan GT has competed several times in the Le Mans Classic, for which it is therefore eligible. At its last participation, it was even driven by the President of the ACO, Mr Pierre Fillon. It is now available for sale – a rare opportunity not to be missed!

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2016 Ascott Collection

historic race car for sale historic racing car for sale lmp for sale group c for sale lmp1 for sale race cars direct classic driver endurance racing legends for sale  gt1 for sale gt2 for sale le mans car for sale le mans race cars for sale ascot collection ascott collection cars lmp1 car for sale howmet tx group c cars for sale Le Mans Classic car for sale  lmp2 for sale lola for sale gt1 for sale gt1 à vendre gt2 for sale gt2 a vendre le mans race car for sale le mans racing car for sale historic le mans car for sale voiture eligible le mans classic a vendre ascott cars volvo 240 turbo lister knobbly for sale chevron for sale historic f1 for sale venturi for sale venturi a vendre vendre voiture de collection acheter véhicule de collection lmp car for sale group c race car for sale group c a vendre group c1 a vendre group c2 a vendre porsche 911 a vendre porsche prototype for sale porsche 904 for sale porsche 904 a vendre venturi lm classic porsche for sale classic ferrari for sale lola b98/10 for sale riley & scott for sale peugeot lmp1 for sale nissan r390 gt1 le mans race car for sale lemans race cars for sale voiture le mans à vendre voiture eligible tour auto à vendre voiture eligible peter auto a vendre voiture eligible cer a vendre voiture eligible sixties a vendre voiture eligible htc a vendre véhicule de collection de compétition à vendre tiga c2 for sale sice group c for sale volvo 242 turbo group a cooper for sale cooper a vendre voiture eligible à monaco à vendre car eligible for monaco for sale ascott racing ascott collection xavier micheron

JM7_5387.JPG

1968 COSTIN NATHAN GT

Le design unique de Franck Costin & Roger Nathan

Une GT rare et rapide

Depuis plus de 20 ans dans la collection actuelle 

Régulièrement engagée au Mans Classic

ELIGIBILITE
DEMANDE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

LE MANS CLASSIC

FIA MASTERS SPORTS CARS

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES
PRIX

SUR DEMANDE

Marque

COSTIN NATHAN

Modèle

GT

Année

1968

No de châssis

GT2/68/030

Châssis

MONOCOQUE BOIS

Carrosserie

FIBRE DE VERRE

Moteur

HILMAN IMP 998 cc

Puissance

97 CH. @ 6 700 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

HEWLAND 5 VITESSES

Poids

400 KG

Le nom Costin Nathan ne vous est peut-être pas familier. Il s’agit d’une marque confidentielle, apposée sur une série de voitures de course que Frank Costin a développée avec Roger Nathan. Retour sur une lignée originale, et sur la GT, le modèle emblématique de l’artisan anglais Costin Nathan.

Aux origines de Costin Nathan

Après divers projets de construction de voitures de course, notamment avec Vanwall, Lotus, March, Lister, Maserati ou Jaguar, ou encore après avoir créé avec Jem Marsh la marque Marcos, l'ingénieur aéronautique et aérodynamicien Frank Costin se tourne vers un autre projet en 1965/1966 : la construction d'une voiture de sport de course ultralégère à moteur central. Si c’est Costin qui a conçu le châssis et la carrosserie, c’est Roger Nathan qui s’est chargé de la partie mécanique. Ce dernier s'était fait un nom en pilotant des Lotus Elite avec beaucoup de succès dans les années 60. C’est lui l’initiateur du projet, qui sollicite Frank Costin pour construire la voiture.

 

Une voiture légère et agile

Basées sur une monocoque en contreplaqué, deux voitures de course ouvertes ont été initialement construites, dont l'une a été pilotée avec succès par Roger Nathan. Inspirés par ce succès, les deux hommes développent une version coupée à partir de 1966. Elle est présentée officiellement au London Racing Car Show la même année.

Bien que la Costin Nathan GT ne ressemble guère aux précédentes créations de Frank Costin, on peut y retrouver certains éléments qu’il avait déjà employés par le passé. L'utilisation de contreplaqué pour la section centrale du châssis évoque notamment Marcos (comme sur la première création de la marque, la Xylon, ou encore la Luton Gullwing puis la Fastback GT). Aux deux extrémités, un sous-châssis tubulaire était monté pour soutenir la suspension et le moteur monté au milieu. Il s’agit plus précisément de treillis tubulaires construits à partir de tubes en acier léger qui supportent les trains roulants et le moteur.

L'une des principales raisons de l'utilisation intensive du bois était qu'il offrait une construction solide et légère pour un prix très modeste en comparaison avec un châssis en aluminium. Le bois utilisé était du contreplaqué Marine Okoumé du Gabon, que Costin Nathan garantissait pendant 10 ans.

Toutes les Costin-Nathan étaient initialement motorisées par des moteurs Hillman Imp d'une cylindrée de 998 cc (1 litre). Toutes les pièces du moteur ont été renforcées et deux carburateurs Weber installés. Le résultat était assez impressionnant avec une puissance de 97 ch, soit presque 100 ch par litre. Grâce à son petit moteur et à son châssis léger, la Costin-Nathan Imp pesait moins de 400 kg (388 kg dont 77 kg pour l’ensemble moteur), ce qui lui conférait un rapport poids/puissance de près de 250 ch par tonne !

Tout a débuté en 1966. La toute première apparition d’une Costin Nathan est alors à signaler au meeting de Brands Hatch, avec une carrosserie découverte de type Spyder. La voiture participe à six courses en 1966, remportant cinq victoires de catégorie. C’est grâce à leur aérodynamisme et à leur poids très faible que ces petits coupés ont connu un certain succès en compétition (notamment lors de la course de 500 km au Nürburgring en 1967 et 1968).

La Costin Nathan GT, Le Mans en objectif

En 1967, il est décidé de créer une nouvelle carrosserie « coupé », notamment pour pouvoir engager l’auto aux 24 Heures du Mans. C’est ainsi que naît la Costin-Nathan GT. Elle apparaît en Sarthe en étant engagée par la structure Roger Nathan Racing Ltd. Sa conception complète n’est achevée que trois semaines avant la grande course. Une seule séance d’essai est organisée avant les 24 Heures du Mans, à Snetterton. Là-bas, la Costin Nathan GT couvre 75 tours sans rencontrer le moindre problème.

L’équipage est composé de deux pilotes anglais, à savoir Roger Nathan et Mike Beckwith, épaulés par le pilote français Franck Ruata. La voiture passe les vérifications techniques sans le moindre souci. Mais les premiers essais sont marqués par des ratés au niveau du moteur, notamment avec des soucis d’allumage. Des problèmes hydrauliques se font aussi sentir, ce qui amène à des blocages de freins et à un patinage de l’embrayage. Afin de résoudre le problème de mélange, le refroidissement a été « amélioré » en faisant du capot une boîte à air géante. Mais les ratés d'allumage ont continué et un joint de culasse a explosé. Des essais animés donc, avec une 53e place sur la grille à la clé.

Des problèmes électriques et les ratés d’allumage qui se prolongeaient amenèrent à son abandon après seulement quatre heures de course. L’histoire raconte que les pilotes, en retrouvant leur hôtel pour la nuit du samedi lorsque la voiture avait abandonné, ont trouvé leur chambre… occupée par d’autres clients !

De retour en Angleterre, il est apparu que les problèmes venaient des pièces fournies par Lucas. Un minuscule ressort s'était également cassé dans l’un des carburateurs Weber.

Le reste de la saison apporte des succès, notamment en France à Montlhéry où Roger Nathan se classe en 7ème position (1er de sa catégorie) des Coupes du Salon et aux 1000 km de Paris 1968 où il se classa en 20ème position. La voiture n’est toutefois pas homologuée pour la catégorie Groupe 4 et ce sont des pilotes privés qui continueront à courir au volant de leur Costin Nathan GT. En 1970, le duo Britannique composé de John Markey et Terry Hunter engagea leur Costin Nathan GT à la Targa Florio.

Les Costin Nathan GT qui rouleront entre les mains de pilotes privés recevront diverses motorisations : le Ford Cosworth de 1,3 l pour courir au 1000 km du Nürburgring en 1968 et en 1970, ainsi que le BMW 2 litres M10 pour la voiture de Jenny Del à Snetterton et à Silverstone en 1970.

A noter que la Moynet-Simca XS engagée au 24 heures du Mans 1968 était construite sur la base d’un châssis Costin Nathan.

Une voiture rare acquise en 1999 par son propriétaire

Une dizaine d’exemplaires de cette superbe GT seront assemblés. Le numéro de châssis de la Costin Nathan GT ici proposée à la vente (GT2/68/030) indique qu’il s’agit d’un exemplaire assemblé en 1968. Les titres de propriétés remontent aux années 90.

Notre Costin Nathan GT a été acquise en 1999 par son propriétaire actuel et elle a participé plusieurs fois au Mans Classic où c'est une voiture qui fait sensation. Lors de sa dernière participation elle était d’ailleurs pilotée par le Président de l’ACO, Monsieur Pierre Fillon. Elle est désormais disponible à la vente. Une opportunité rare à ne pas manquer !

ascott collection

Phone: +33 9 67 33 48 43

Mobile: +33 6 17 49 42 50

France

© Ascott Collection 2021

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon