023-5634.JPG

1973 CHEVRON B23 / B27S  3-LITER COSWORTH V8

CEBORA

​​

  • A unique and competitive prototype

  • 3 Litre Cosworth V8 engine built by G. Richardson

  • Crack test and valid tank

  • An important historical file

ELIGIBILITY

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

Mark

CHEVRON

Model

B23/B27S

Year

1973

Chassis number

B23 21

Frame

MONOCOQUE ALUMINUM

Body

FIBERGLASS

Motor

COSWORTH V8 DFV - 3.0 LITERS

Power

470 CH. @ 10,000 RPM

Gearbox

HEWLAND FG 400 5-SPEED

Weight

650 KG

In the early 1970s, Lola and Chevron were the two manufacturers fighting a fierce battle in the world of open sports-prototypes (Group 5 and Group 6) with Abarth and Alpine-Renault as referees. The Chevron B23 is a model that bears witness to this era and the constant search for improvement. The model now offered by Ascott Collection has a singular history that is richly documented. An original car, eligible for historic competitions, with excellent potential for victory in Classic Endurance Racing. 

 

The B23, the small sport-prototype that synthesizes the ambitions of Chevron

The Chevron B23, designed for the Group 6 category, appeared in 1973. It was launched the same year as the B26, also intended for sports prototypes, or the Chevron B25, designed for F2 and Formula Atlantic. The origins of the B23 can be found several years back in two models.

 

The B16 Spyder on the one hand (often referred to as the B16S), which had a body inspired by the Porsche 908 Spyder (and which marked the beginning of a long series of sports cars for the 2-litre class, including the B19, B21, B23, B26 and B31). On the other hand the B6 of 1967 for the reinforced steel chassis base, replaced by aluminium in the B19. 

 

On the original B19, the front end was a separate steel frame - for quick repairs - and the suspension consisted of double wishbones at the front, lower wishbones at the rear and upper links. The engine compartment could accommodate a variety of engines depending on customer needs and intended uses. While most buyers chose to install a Cosworth FVC engine, other rare customers preferred a BMW block.

 

The B19 was a customer version of the unique B16 Spyder built at Brian Redman's request to compete with the Lola T210s. The Spyder's design was inspired by the Porsche 908/3 that Redman had driven during the 1970 season. The highly successful B19 was followed by the B21 in 1972 with a late season development that resulted in a new front suspension design, allowing the use of lower profile tyres. Several chassis received these developments, while all new cars produced from 1973 onwards were named... B23. This is the case of the car offered for sale today. Chevron has thus evolved its creations each off-season, with an almost identical design, using Derek Benett's very inspired pencil line on the B16. 

 

Several notable class victories, notably at the Targa Florio, the 1000 km of the Nurburgring and the 1000 km of the Osterreichring, marked the career of the Chevron B23. With 26 cars built, the Chevron B23 is one of the most popular cars of the British manufacturer. It is also one of the most reliable and efficient. 

 

The history of the 73-21 chassis

Chassis 73-21 was sold new to Eris Tondelli, then Chevron importer for all of Italy. The brand's agent had the idea to install a Techno 2000 cc3 flat 8 engine in the prototype. The aim of this association was to enter the car in the European Sports Prototype Championship in 1974. But after tests at the end of 1973, he had to abandon this project. The flat 12 engine from Formula 1, to which 4 cylinders were simply removed, was eventually taken over by Tecno. Ellis Tondelli then decided to go for a Ford DFV V8 engine with 3000 cc. In the meantime, the car received the evolutions planned by Chevron in 1974 and became a B27S, using the bodywork of the B31. 

The competition debut was in 1974 in hill-climbing, with a victory in the Garessio San Bernardo (the last edition of the mythical race before a break due to the oil crisis). In addition to the side races, several endurance races are to be noted on the list of achievements of this B23. They are due to Mauro Nesti, the owner of the car from 1974. Sol

In 1982, the B27S was sold to Bernard Tilanus of South Africa minus its engine. Upgraded with b36 bodywork, he fitted a MAZDA 13B rotary engine, a popular unit in South Africa, and racedit in the Kyalami 9 hours partnered with Ian Harrower and graham Duxburry. They finished 12th. The following year, Bernard sold the car to Fred Goddard who raced the car in South Africa until the end of the 80s after which it was placed in dry storage. In 2005, Fred and his son Earl decided to have the car restored as the B27S-DFV but still with ist B36 bodywork. Entrusted to Vin Malkie, the restoration was completed in time for the 2006 Silverstone Classic. This restoration has been very well documented. After Fred passed away in 2009, his son Earl sold the car in 2013 to its present owner.

Racing history

13/06/74 - Garessio-San Bernardo (Italy) - E.Tondelli - winner (n°338)

22/09/74 - Coppa Autodromo Casale (Italie) - Interserie Super Sport - E.Tondelli - 18th

13/10/74 - Vallelunga (Italy) - Campionato Italiano Sport - E.Tondelli - unknown result

16/03/75 - Course de côte Ampus (France) - E.Tondelli - 11th ( 7th GR5/7)

31/03/75 - Varano (Italy) - Italian Championship Group 5 Sport - E.Tondelli - 1st G5

25/07/76 - Ascoli (Italie) - Italian Championship Group 5 Sport - M.nesti - 2nd GR6 (n°776)

15/08/76 - Course de côte Saint Ursanne (France) - M.Nesti - (n°21)

04/09/76 - Malegno-Borno, Italy #389 M.Nesti 1st -.

24/04/77 - 500 kilomètres de Monza (Italie) - Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - M.Nesti / L.Niccolini - DNF15/05/77 - Targa Florio (Italie) - M.Nesti / E.Grimaldi - 4th and 5th place winner of the category (n°1)

06/11/82 - 9 Heures de Kyalami (Afrique du Sud) - B.Tilanus / I.Harrower / G.Duxbury 13th (n°16)

1987 - Capetown 3 Hours, S.Africa #2 F.Goddard 

1987 - Zwartkops, South Africa #2 F.Goddard  

 

Prepared to the highest level and ready to race

The current French owner has returned the car to its 1974 configuration and has entered it regularly in Classic Endurance Racing 2 by Peter Auto. Martin O'Connell has dominated the grid on many occasions and won many races in this unique model. The Chevron has just been completely overhauled. The crack test and the tank are valid. The Cosworth V8 engine has been overhauled by G. Richardson and has only been run for 3 hours since its last overhaul in early 2021. This Chevron with its generous and oversized air intake from Eris Tondelli's Chevron B24 F5000 is a unique 3 litre prototype. With a strong track presence thanks to its recognisable light blue/cyan livery and main sponsor CEBORA, it is ready to win again.

CALL US: +33 9 67 33 48 43

ENQUIRE ABOUT THIS CAR

Thank you for your message

023-5634.JPG

1973 CHEVRON B23 / B27S  3-LITRE COSWORTH V8

CEBORA

  • Un prototype unique et compétitif

  • Moteur Cosworth V8 3 litres préparé par G. Richardson

  • Crack test et réservoir valides

  • Un important dossier historique

ELIGIBILITE

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

CLASSIC ENDURANCE RACING by PETER AUTO

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

Marque

CHEVRON

Modèle

B23/B27S

Année

1973

No de châssis

B23 21

Châssis

MONOCOQUE ALUMINIUM

Carrosserie

FIBRE DE VERRE

Moteur

COSWORTH V8 DFV - 3,0 LITRES

Puissance

470 CH. @ 10 000 T/MIN

Boite de vitesse

HEWLAND FG 400 À 5 VITESSES

Poids

650 KG

Au début des années 70, Lola et Chevron sont les deux constructeurs qui se livrent une bataille féroce dans le monde des sports-prototypes ouverts (Groupe 5 et Groupe 6) avec Abarth et Alpine-Renault en arbitres. La Chevron B23 est un modèle qui témoigne de cette époque et de la recherche constante d’amélioration. Le modèle aujourd’hui proposé par Ascott Collection possède une histoire singulière richement documentée. Une voiture originale, éligible dans les compétitions historiques avec un excellent potentiel qui permet de viser la victoire en Classic Endurance Racing. 

 

La B23, le petit sport-prototype qui synthétise les ambitions de Chevron

La Chevron B23, pensée pour la catégorie Groupe 6, apparaît en 1973. Elle est d’ailleurs lancée la même année que la B26, elle aussi destinée aux sports prototypes, ou encore que la Chevron B25, pensée elle pour la F2 et la Formule Atlantic. Les origines de la B23 sont à trouver plusieurs années en arrière sur deux modèles.

La B16 Spyder d’un côté (souvent désignée B16S), qui reprenait une carrosserie inspirée de la Porsche 908 Spyder (et qui marquait le début d'une longue série de voitures de course sportives pour la catégorie 2 litres, dont les B19, B21, B23, B26 et B31). D’un autre côté la B6 de 1967 pour la base du châssis en acier renforcé, remplacé par de l'aluminium dans la B19. 

Sur la B19 à l’origine de la lignée, l'avant était constitué d'un cadre en acier séparé - pour des réparations rapides - et la suspension était composée de doubles triangles à l'avant, de triangles inférieurs à l'arrière et de bras supérieurs. Le compartiment moteur pouvait accueillir une variété de moteurs en fonction des besoins des clients et des utilisations prévues. Si la plupart des acheteurs choisissaient d’implanter un moteur Cosworth FVC, d’autres rares clients préféraient un bloc BMW.

 

La B19 était une version client de l'unique B16 Spyder construite à la demande de Brian Redman pour se battre avec les Lola T210. Le design du Spyder s'inspirait de la Porsche 908/3 que Redman avait pilotée pendant la saison 1970. Très performante, la B19 a été suivie par la B21 en 1972 avec un développement tardif en fin de saison qui aboutissait à une nouvelle conception de la suspension avant, permettant d'utiliser des pneus à profil plus bas. Plusieurs châssis recevaient ces évolutions, tandis que toutes les nouvelles voitures produites à partir de 1973 étaient nommées… B23. C’est le cas de la voiture aujourd’hui proposée à la vente. Chevron est ainsi évolué à chaque intersaison ses créations, avec un dessin quasiment identique, reprenant le trait de crayon très inspiré de Derek Benett sur la B16. 

 

Plusieurs victoires de catégorie notables, notamment à la Targa Florio, aux 1000 km du Nurburgring et aux 1000 km de l'Osterreichring jalonnent la carrière des Chevron B23. Avec 26 exemplaires construits, la Chevron B23 fait partie des voitures les plus populaires du constructeur anglais. C’est aussi l’une des plus fiables et performantes. 

 

L’histoire du châssis 73-21

Le châssis 73-21 a été vendu neuf à Eris Tondelli, alors importateur Chevron pour toute l’Italie. L’agent de la marque avait l’idée d’installer dans le prototype un moteur Techno 2000 cc3 flat 8. L’objectif de cette association était d’engager ensuite la voiture en Championnat d’Europe des sports-prototypes en 1974. Mais après des essais fin 1973, il du se résoudre à abandonner ce projet. Ce moteur flat 12 issu de la Formule 1 auquel 4 cylindres étaient simplement retirés allait finalement être récupéré par Tecno. Ellis Tondelli décida alors de s’orienter vers un moteur Ford DFV V8 de 3000 cc3. Au passage, la voiture recevait les évolutions prévues par Chevron en 1974 et devenait une B27S, en utilisant la carrosserie de la B31. 

Les débuts en compétition s’effectuèrent en 1974 en course de côte, avec une victoire au Garessio San Bernardo (la dernière édition de la course mythique avant une pause liée à la crise pétrolière). Outre les courses de côté, plusieurs courses d’endurance sont à noter au palmarès de cette B23. On les doit à Mauro Nesti, le propriétaire de la voiture à partir de 1974. Vendue en 1982 en Afrique du Sud sans son moteur, la B23 a évolué en B36 sur le plan carrosserie, adoptant un moteur Mazda 13B rotatif ! Après une longue période de stockage, la voiture a fait l’objet d’une restauration intense et documentée. 

En 1982, la B27S a été vendue à Bernard Tilanus d'Afrique du Sud, sans son moteur. Ce dernier a évolué la voiture avec une carrosserie de B36, et il a installé un moteur rotatif MAZDA 13B, une motorisation populaire en Afrique du Sud. Il a engagé sa Chevron aux 9 heures de Kyalami en partenariat avec Ian Harrower et Graham Duxburry et se sont classés en 12ème position. L'année suivante, Bernard a vendu la voiture à Fred Goddard qui l'a fait courir en Afrique du Sud jusqu'à la fin des années 80, après quoi elle a été stockée au sec. En 2005, Fred et son fils Earl ont décidé de faire restaurer la voiture en tant que B27S-DFV mais toujours avec sa carrosserie B36. Confiée à Vin Malkie, la restauration a été achevée à temps pour Silverstone Classic 2006. Après le décès de Fred en 2009, son fils Earl a vendu la voiture en 2013 à son propriétaire actuel. 

Historique de course

​13/06/74 - Garessio-San Bernardo (Italie) - E.Tondelli – vainqueur (n°338)

22/09/74 - Coppa Autodromo Casale (Italie) - Interserie Super Sport - E.Tondelli – 18e et abandon

13/10/74 - Vallelunga (Italie) - Campionato Italiano Sport - E.Tondelli – résultat inconnu

16/03/75 - Course de côte Ampus (France) - E.Tondelli – 11e (7e GR5/7)

31/03/75 – Varano (Italie) - Campionato Italiano Gruppo 5 Sport - E.Tondelli – 1er G5

25/07/76 – Ascoli (Italie) - Campionato Italiano Gruppo 5 Sport – M.nesti – 2e GR6 (n°776)
15/08/76 - Course de côte Saint Ursanne (France) - M.Nesti – (n°21)

04/09/76 - Malegno-Borno, Italy #389 M.Nesti 1st -

24/04/77 - 500 kilomètres de Monza (Italie) – Championnat du monde des voitures de sport - M.Nesti / L.Niccolini – abandon (n°5)

15/05/77 - Targa Florio (Italie) - M.Nesti / E.Grimaldi - 4e et vainqueur de catégorie (n°1)

06/11/82 - 9 Heures de Kyalami (Afrique du Sud) - B.Tilanus / I.Harrower / G.Duxbury 13e (n°16)

1987 - Capetown 3 Hours, S.Africa #2 F.Goddard 

1987 - Zwartkops, South Africa #2 F.Goddard 

Préparée au plus haut niveau et prête à courir

Le propriétaire Français actuel a remis la voiture dans sa configuration de 1974 et l’a engagée régulièrement en Classic Endurance Racing 2 by Peter Auto. Martin O’Connell a survolé le plateau à de nombreuses occasions et remporté de nombreuses victoire au volant de ce modèle unique. La Chevron vient d’être entièrement révisée. Le crack test ainsi que le réservoir sont valides. Le moteur V8 Cosworth a été révisé par G. Richardson et a roulé seulement 3 heures depuis sa dernière révision début 2021. Cette Chevron dotée d’une prise d’air généreuse et surdimensionnée qui provient de la Chevron B24 F5000 d’Eris Tondelli est un prototype 3 litres unique. Disposant d’une forte présence sur la piste grâce à sa livrée bleu clair/cyan reconnaissable et son sponsor principal CEBORA, elle est prête à gagner à nouveau.

APPELEZ-NOUS : +33 9 67 33 48 43

ECRIVEZ-NOUS

Thank you for your message