alba ar8 imsa gtp for sale4.jpg

1987 ALBA AR8 BUICK

  • An IMSA GTP prototype built around a carbon fiber monocoque

  • Eligible for Group C Racing by Peter Auto, Le Mans Classic and the most prestigious events

ELIGIBILITY

TECHNICAL CHARACTERISTICS

GROUP C RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

GULF CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

Mark

ALBA

Model

AR8

Year

1987

Chassis No.

0001

Chassis

CARBON FIBER MONOCOQUE

Engine

BUICK V6 3 LITER TWIN TURBO - 12 VALVES

Power

700 hp @ 7,200 rpm

Gearbox

HEWLAND 5 SPEED

Weight

900 kg

ALBA an Italian manufacturer at the forefront of carbon fiber construction

The brand new Italian racing car manufacturer Alba started in 1983 with the AR2. It was an important machine because it was the very first racing prototype built around a carbon fiber monocoque chassis. Founded by Giorgio Stirano, a former Osella engineer, the small company Alba achieved this remarkable feat with significant funding from private pilot Martino Finotto. Alba produced a series of endurance prototypes that raced in Europe and the United States. The Albas were powered by a wide variety of engines: Cosworth V8, Carma turbo, Ferrari 308 8, Mazda Rotatif and Buick V6.

 

The ALBA AR8 is a unique model

The Buick Alba AR8 was built in 1986 for the American team Kalagian-Ardisana. This unique model benefited from the best technologies of the time. Indeed, the AR8 was built around a carbon fiber monocoque chassis and integrated titanium mechanical elements. In order to allow for optimal airflow through the ground effect tunnels, the suspension was mounted using front traction rods and rear push rods. Intended to race in the IMSA GTP class, it was powered by a twin-turbocharged Buick V6 engine. This engine developed about 700 horsepower thanks to its twin turbos.

This Alba AR08 Buick made its late debut at the IMSA race at Laguna Seca in May 1987. It was entered for Calvin Fish, who qualified 19th on the grid. Although he did not finish due to driver fatigue, Fish was placed 24th. The AR8 was used three more times in 1987 by the Kalagian Racing team. For each race, a different driver drove the Italian prototype. After only four entries of the Buick-powered Alba, key team members Jim Mullen and John Kalagian fell out. As a result, the unique Alba never raced again. End of its brief racing career.

 

Return to historic racing

The car was retained by one of the team's managers, Jim Mullen. In 1988, it was restored and made running again by Tom Milner Racing, then acquired by an American enthusiast. In 2002, it was restored for historic racing by Michigan-based RM Motorsport. It then competed in the 2012 Monterey Motorsports Reunion before being sold to a European historic racer. He first raced the car at Laguna Seca, then brought it back to Italy where he entered it in the 2018 Imola Classic.

 

Source Ultimatecarpage

CALL US: +33 9 67 33 48 43

ENQUIRE ABOUT THIS CAR

Thank you for your message

alba ar8 imsa gtp for sale4.jpg

1987 ALBA AR8 BUICK

  • Un prototype IMSA GTP fabriqué autour d'une monocoque en fibre de carbone

  • Eligible au Group C Racing by Peter Auto, Le Mans Classic et aux événements les plus prestigieux

ELIGIBILITE

CARACTERISTIQUES TECHNIQUES

GROUP C RACING by PETER AUTO

LE MANS CLASSIC

GULF CLASSIC

MASTERS ENDURANCE LEGENDS USA

DAYTONA CLASSIC 24 HOUR by HSR

ROLEX MONTEREY MOTORSPOSTS REUNION

SEBRING CLASSIC 12 HOUR by HSR

Marque

ALBA

Modèle

AR8

Année

1987

No de châssis

0001

Châssis

MONOCOQUE EN FIBRE DE CARBONE

Moteur

BUICK  V6 3 LITRES BI TURBO - 12 SOUPAPES

Puissance

700 ch.@ 7 200 t/min

Boite de vitesse

HEWLAND 5 VITESSES

Poids

900 kg

ALBA un constructeur Italien à l'avant garde de la construction en fibre de carbone

Le tout nouveau constructeur italien de voitures de compétition Alba s'est lancé dans la compétition de voitures de sport en 1983 avec l'AR2. Il s'agissait d'une machine importante car c'était le tout premier prototype de course construit autour d'un châssis monocoque en fibre de carbone. Fondée par Giorgio Stirano, ancien ingénieur d'Osella, la petite société Alba a réalisé cet exploit remarquable grâce à un financement important du pilote privé Martino Finotto. Alba a produit une série de prototypes d'Endurance qui ont couru en Europe et aux Etats-Unis. Les Alba étaient propulsées par une grande diversité de moteur: Cosworth V8, Carma turbo, Ferrari 308 8, Mazda Rotatif et Buick V6.

L'ALBA AR8 est un modèle unique

L'Alba AR8 Buick a été construite en 1986 pour l'équipe américaine Kalagian-Ardisana. Ce modèle unique a bénéficié des meilleurs technologies de l'époque. en effet, l'AR8 a été construite autour d'un châssis monocoque en fibre de carbone et a intégré des éléments mécaniques en titane. Afin de permettre un flux d'air optimal dans les tunnels à effet de sol, la suspension étaitembarquée, utilisant des bielles de traction à l'avant et des bielles de poussée à l'arrière. Destinée à courir dans la catégorie IMSA GTP, elle était équipée d'un moteur Buick V6 bi turbo. Ce dernier développait environ 700 chevaux grâce à ses deux turbos.

 

Cette Alba AR08 Buick a fait ses débuts tardifs lors de la course IMSA de Laguna Seca en mai 1987. Elle était engagée pour Calvin Fish, qui s'est qualifié en 19e position sur la grille. Bien qu'il n'ait pas terminé en raison de la fatigue du pilote, Fish a été classé 24e. L'AR8 a été utilisé trois fois de plus en 1987 par l'équipe Kalagian Racing. Pour chaque course, un pilote différent était au volant du prototype italien. Après seulement quatre engagements de l'Alba à moteur Buick, les membres clés de l'équipe, Jim Mullen et John Kalagian, se sont brouillés. En conséquence, l'unique Alba n'a plus jamais couru. Fin de sa brève carrière sportive.

Retour dans les courses historiques

Elle a été conservée par l'un des dirigeants de l'équipe, Jim Mullen. En 1988, elle a été restaurée et remise en état de marche par Tom Milner Racing, puis acquise par un passionné américain. En 2002, elle a été restaurée pour les courses historiques par RM Motorsport, spécialiste du Michigan. Elle a ensuite participé à la Monterey Motorsports Reunion 2012 avant d'être vendue à un coureur historique européen. Il a d'abord fait courir la voiture à Laguna Seca, puis l'a rapatriée en Italie où il l'a alignée lors de l'Imola Classic 2018.

Source Ultimatecarpage

APPELEZ-NOUS : +33 9 67 33 48 43

ECRIVEZ-NOUS

Thank you for your message